Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-03-28

Who's a dork? It's ME!~ It's ME!!!

Whew! Feeling much better. I guess I just really needed a day in bed. I actually had a pretty cool day at home. I went through a bunch of old home movies, looking through them for the good stuff, and found some interesting tidbits that I usually miss by fast-forwarding. I had forgotten how many little hobbies I�d been through, how many various interests in my search for self. Okay, I�ll just get right to it. I watched myself as a child, Christmas 1987, ecstatic over a present I was opening. �Oh my God, Mom, I can�t believe it! This is perfect! A magnifying glass for my stamp collection!� What? Why don�t I remember having a stamp collection?

And then it all came flooding back. The meetings, the club, the factory tours... the stamps. I used to TOTALLY be INTO stamps. It was a thing, alright? The four of us, upon opening each and every present, exclaimed, �RAD!� It must have been the only word we knew. My father, always the voice behind the camera, was making hysterical comments throughout the tape, with us oblivious. Things like, �anyone get a thesaurus from Santa?� �Do you girls know ANY adjectives other than �rad�, �gnarley�, and �awesome�?� Too funny. We had JUST arrived on the West Coast, and you can tell we were trying VERY hard to acclimate ourselves.

Skip to the end of the tape, me performing a piano recital and winning all kinds of awards. I forgot how well I picked up the piano. It�s been years since I�ve hit a key, I�d like to take it up again. The recital included my older sister, Heather. We both performed, and then I was awarded with certificates and ribbons for accomplishments I can�t remember. Who knew?

Anyway, enough of my nostalgia. I relaxed, read, watched home movies, talked J.D. through a traumatic bank-mission, and hung out with some family. A good day and evening, if you ask me. And like I always say, if you�re reading, you�re asking.

The weekend brings some life-choices for me. Options that may define my priorities. Oh, shit, what to do. We will see. Yes, we definitely will.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Who's a dork? It's ME!~ It's ME!!! 2002-03-28 10:29 a.m. Whew! Feeling much better. I guess I just really needed a day in bed. I actually had a pretty cool day at home. I went through a bunch of old home movies, looking through them for the good stuff, and found some interesting tidbits that I usually miss by fast-forwarding. I had forgotten how many little hobbies I�d been through, how many various interests in my search for self. Okay, I�ll just get right to it. I watched myself as a child, Christmas 1987, ecstatic over a present I was opening. �Oh my God, Mom, I can�t believe it! This is perfect! A magnifying glass for my stamp collection!� What? Why don�t I remember having a stamp collection?

And then it all came flooding back. The meetings, the club, the factory tours... the stamps. I used to TOTALLY be INTO stamps. It was a thing, alright? The four of us, upon opening each and every present, exclaimed, �RAD!� It must have been the only word we knew. My father, always the voice behind the camera, was making hysterical comments throughout the tape, with us oblivious. Things like, �anyone get a thesaurus from Santa?� �Do you girls know ANY adjectives other than �rad�, �gnarley�, and �awesome�?� Too funny. We had JUST arrived on the West Coast, and you can tell we were trying VERY hard to acclimate ourselves.

Skip to the end of the tape, me performing a piano recital and winning all kinds of awards. I forgot how well I picked up the piano. It�s been years since I�ve hit a key, I�d like to take it up again. The recital included my older sister, Heather. We both performed, and then I was awarded with certificates and ribbons for accomplishments I can�t remember. Who knew?

Anyway, enough of my nostalgia. I relaxed, read, watched home movies, talked J.D. through a traumatic bank-mission, and hung out with some family. A good day and evening, if you ask me. And like I always say, if you�re reading, you�re asking.

The weekend brings some life-choices for me. Options that may define my priorities. Oh, shit, what to do. We will see. Yes, we definitely will.