Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-04-03

Passive Whimsies

�The happiest is the person who suffers the least pain; the most miserable who enjoys the least pleasure.� -Jean-Jacques Rousseau, philosopher and author (1712-1778)

I�m very concerned about someone I love. It�s so difficult to sit by and watch someone bring misery upon misery into her life. Every little thing that happens is a catastrophe, an attack against her person, deliberately imposed by earth, wind, water, or fire. How do you fix that attitude for someone else? That�s rhetorical, there, I know it�s impossible. But dammit, I don�t want it to be!

Someone I love is angry all the time. Indignant, unhappy, self-hating, and full of rage. I want to help her. But every time I try, the attack is turned on me, the onslaught of angry words and rants about life in general drain me of my energy, and I lose interest in helping and gain interest in slapping her into silence. I never do raise my hand. But I do turn away.

And I�ve never felt so helpless as I do when her words fall on a deaf ear, when that ear is mine � because my ear should never be deaf to that kind of pain.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Passive Whimsies 2002-04-03 3:36 p.m. �The happiest is the person who suffers the least pain; the most miserable who enjoys the least pleasure.� -Jean-Jacques Rousseau, philosopher and author (1712-1778)

I�m very concerned about someone I love. It�s so difficult to sit by and watch someone bring misery upon misery into her life. Every little thing that happens is a catastrophe, an attack against her person, deliberately imposed by earth, wind, water, or fire. How do you fix that attitude for someone else? That�s rhetorical, there, I know it�s impossible. But dammit, I don�t want it to be!

Someone I love is angry all the time. Indignant, unhappy, self-hating, and full of rage. I want to help her. But every time I try, the attack is turned on me, the onslaught of angry words and rants about life in general drain me of my energy, and I lose interest in helping and gain interest in slapping her into silence. I never do raise my hand. But I do turn away.

And I�ve never felt so helpless as I do when her words fall on a deaf ear, when that ear is mine � because my ear should never be deaf to that kind of pain.