Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-01-06

Battling Bacteria

I am battling bacteria in a SERIOUS way. At this time, I�m trying to starve the damn thing, whatever it is, however it got into me. Not even water and bread for you, miserable microbe! I play back everything I ingested yesterday, slowly � dim sum brunch with a wonderful crew, shrimp items� sugary stuff� a pretzel at the movies, Adaptation was such a good movie, but I�m digressing, Greek food for dinner as I watched 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time� the Greek food. It had to be, it was the last thing, wait, there was that coffee earlier, or was that the same day? Shit. Whatever it is, it got past the checkpoints and into my digestive system, and is now wreaking havoc throughout my body� I need to take it down. Let the battle continue.

In the meantime, I�m back at work! That�s right, early as usual, and then I had a little jaunt home to let my father into the building (if he locks himself out one more time, I�m going to think this is some kind of subconscious attention-getting mechanism, hee hee). You know what happened when I walked into my office this morning? After a day of stressing over the many things that would accumulate here without me, after my obsessing about the tasks I�d forgotten to take care of that would inevitably be discovered by coworkers in my absence, after gnashing my teeth in the night and aiding and abetting bacteria in its fight against me with my worries? Nothing. My office is clean, no fires to put out -- of course, there are tasks to accomplish, but aren�t there always?

Absolutely nothing. I have to remember, that is usually what happens when I worry. Nothing. How we love to live in an imagined future when things are disastrous and catastrophic. But here I am. Back in the now. And all is fine. All is quiet, except for my iPod, singing to me softly with Enya�s voice. Sigh. Out of my head! Out! Me, not you.

Okay, weekend update. Mellow, for the most part, as were my last 5 days without work. Relaxing, reading, cleaning, writing (I finally gave some attention to my journal at home), replenishing, I got to do all the things I wanted to get done, and I got to do them slowly and languorously. How refreshing! Saturday night, I met up with some friends at the Red Fox Room, same old lady on the piano for God only knows how many years, musicians in the background, some good friends, and M.s. That was nice. Sunday, well, we know ALL about Sunday, don�t we. The day my body was invaded by something I couldn�t even get off on. Posh!

But how nice it was, the morning with Spider Monkey, O.H. and M.s.. The afternoon with Ollie at the movies, after playing Hoopla! with M.s. What a FUN game! The laughter was wonderful. Early evening with Dad, catching up with stimulating conversation. Late evening with M.s., dinner and a movie. And here I am. In my office. A thousand things to do while my body struggles against its foe.

The best thing about all of this? I KNOW I will win. I always do in the end. Happy Monday!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Battling Bacteria 2003-01-06 9:45 a.m. I am battling bacteria in a SERIOUS way. At this time, I�m trying to starve the damn thing, whatever it is, however it got into me. Not even water and bread for you, miserable microbe! I play back everything I ingested yesterday, slowly � dim sum brunch with a wonderful crew, shrimp items� sugary stuff� a pretzel at the movies, Adaptation was such a good movie, but I�m digressing, Greek food for dinner as I watched 2001: A Space Odyssey for the first time� the Greek food. It had to be, it was the last thing, wait, there was that coffee earlier, or was that the same day? Shit. Whatever it is, it got past the checkpoints and into my digestive system, and is now wreaking havoc throughout my body� I need to take it down. Let the battle continue.

In the meantime, I�m back at work! That�s right, early as usual, and then I had a little jaunt home to let my father into the building (if he locks himself out one more time, I�m going to think this is some kind of subconscious attention-getting mechanism, hee hee). You know what happened when I walked into my office this morning? After a day of stressing over the many things that would accumulate here without me, after my obsessing about the tasks I�d forgotten to take care of that would inevitably be discovered by coworkers in my absence, after gnashing my teeth in the night and aiding and abetting bacteria in its fight against me with my worries? Nothing. My office is clean, no fires to put out -- of course, there are tasks to accomplish, but aren�t there always?

Absolutely nothing. I have to remember, that is usually what happens when I worry. Nothing. How we love to live in an imagined future when things are disastrous and catastrophic. But here I am. Back in the now. And all is fine. All is quiet, except for my iPod, singing to me softly with Enya�s voice. Sigh. Out of my head! Out! Me, not you.

Okay, weekend update. Mellow, for the most part, as were my last 5 days without work. Relaxing, reading, cleaning, writing (I finally gave some attention to my journal at home), replenishing, I got to do all the things I wanted to get done, and I got to do them slowly and languorously. How refreshing! Saturday night, I met up with some friends at the Red Fox Room, same old lady on the piano for God only knows how many years, musicians in the background, some good friends, and M.s. That was nice. Sunday, well, we know ALL about Sunday, don�t we. The day my body was invaded by something I couldn�t even get off on. Posh!

But how nice it was, the morning with Spider Monkey, O.H. and M.s.. The afternoon with Ollie at the movies, after playing Hoopla! with M.s. What a FUN game! The laughter was wonderful. Early evening with Dad, catching up with stimulating conversation. Late evening with M.s., dinner and a movie. And here I am. In my office. A thousand things to do while my body struggles against its foe.

The best thing about all of this? I KNOW I will win. I always do in the end. Happy Monday!