Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-01-13

Los Angeles Art & Fun Extravaganza!

What a FABULOUS weekend! But before I get to my eventful and wonderful update, I should let you know what happened at the Dentist on Friday, and I can do this in one word: cavities. Okay, I�ll elaborate just a bit: a LOT of cavities. I even need to get my wisdom teeth pulled, because of the cavities they harbor. I have a cracked tooth that needs a crown. A GOLD crown. That�s right, baby, solid. Almost as many cavities as I have teeth, you know. I go again this Wednesday to get two of them filled. Hey, it�s a start! God help me. I better be DRUGGED when they go in next time, because just getting that cleaning made me tense up so much that my neck stayed stiff for the rest of the day. Mmm, drugged.

Okay, enough dental drama, I�ve got plenty more of that on the horizon. On to my update!! Friday night, a surprise party for O.H., thrown by the beautiful Spider Monkey. Thirty years old, the little scamp! It was a great gathering of friends, food and drink, laughter and a handful of people who really annoyed me (thank God I made it to the chair in the corner). After a long, emotional week, I was drained of my usual social abilities, and kept dodging people and small talk until I found a comfy spot surrounded by good friends at a table, to laugh at silly things. Sometimes, I just need to not think, and watching the Stantons, in their matching orange Sparks shirts, make a structure to hold big candles using only taquitos, cheese balls, and toothpicks, was EXACTLY what I DID need right then. Perfect!

Saturday! Oh, Saturday, what FUN you were! (not AS fun as Sunday, but we�re not there yet) Early rise with M.s. and Ollie, up to LA to hang the show at the new gallery location. We checked into a fancy Hotel , and walked across the street to grab some late lunch at a Persian Restaurant. A surprising wonderful experience to break the day, we happened upon a baby shower party at the restaurant. The owner greeted us, welcomed us, and shared his specialty with us, ice cream like none I�ve tasted before, seeming to have been flavored by fresh roses.

We went back to the room, got ready (I donned my great and fabulously outrageous, yet somehow classy, attention getter of a hat � white & black feathers on a wide rim), and headed to the gallery. A gallery on gallery row, across the street from the LACMA, an evening for all to show their exhibits to the open public. Crowds of people, art everywhere, M.s. the belle of the ball, accepting compliments and accolades by the dozen (deservedly so, the man IS talented). Friends drove up from San Diego to attend and congratulate, prior clients and new potentials, all great appreciators, were there. I got to meet a local celebrity (I�m a big fan) and discovered that he is good friends with a close friend of my family (Lizzie!), among a handful of other people in my life. Crazy small world!

After the opening, after a few glasses of wine, and watching over a hundred people flow in and around the galleries, we went to dinner at an Indian Restaurant in the area. Bee&Gee, Ollie, Blove, M.s.�s cousins, and the gallery owner�s group. Delicious food (again), a wonderful time! Back at the hotel, I got to experience a soaking tub for the first time. Wow. I need to get one of those. Sunday morning, up early so that M.s. could look at art he wishes to purchase, and then we went to Roscoe�s Chicken & Waffle, to finish off our L.A. trip the RIGHT way. Mm, mm, good!

Oh, look! Not enough room to tell you about Sunday. Let�s sum it up with some descriptive words: bondage, torture, laughter, love, orgasmS, dinner, movie, sweet, sweet sleep. This morning, my skin looks and feels translucent and smooth � signs of health and happiness for me. Tonight, I complete my enrollment process for school. Damn, I feel good.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Los Angeles Art & Fun Extravaganza! 2003-01-13 9:53 a.m. What a FABULOUS weekend! But before I get to my eventful and wonderful update, I should let you know what happened at the Dentist on Friday, and I can do this in one word: cavities. Okay, I�ll elaborate just a bit: a LOT of cavities. I even need to get my wisdom teeth pulled, because of the cavities they harbor. I have a cracked tooth that needs a crown. A GOLD crown. That�s right, baby, solid. Almost as many cavities as I have teeth, you know. I go again this Wednesday to get two of them filled. Hey, it�s a start! God help me. I better be DRUGGED when they go in next time, because just getting that cleaning made me tense up so much that my neck stayed stiff for the rest of the day. Mmm, drugged.

Okay, enough dental drama, I�ve got plenty more of that on the horizon. On to my update!! Friday night, a surprise party for O.H., thrown by the beautiful Spider Monkey. Thirty years old, the little scamp! It was a great gathering of friends, food and drink, laughter and a handful of people who really annoyed me (thank God I made it to the chair in the corner). After a long, emotional week, I was drained of my usual social abilities, and kept dodging people and small talk until I found a comfy spot surrounded by good friends at a table, to laugh at silly things. Sometimes, I just need to not think, and watching the Stantons, in their matching orange Sparks shirts, make a structure to hold big candles using only taquitos, cheese balls, and toothpicks, was EXACTLY what I DID need right then. Perfect!

Saturday! Oh, Saturday, what FUN you were! (not AS fun as Sunday, but we�re not there yet) Early rise with M.s. and Ollie, up to LA to hang the show at the new gallery location. We checked into a fancy Hotel , and walked across the street to grab some late lunch at a Persian Restaurant. A surprising wonderful experience to break the day, we happened upon a baby shower party at the restaurant. The owner greeted us, welcomed us, and shared his specialty with us, ice cream like none I�ve tasted before, seeming to have been flavored by fresh roses.

We went back to the room, got ready (I donned my great and fabulously outrageous, yet somehow classy, attention getter of a hat � white & black feathers on a wide rim), and headed to the gallery. A gallery on gallery row, across the street from the LACMA, an evening for all to show their exhibits to the open public. Crowds of people, art everywhere, M.s. the belle of the ball, accepting compliments and accolades by the dozen (deservedly so, the man IS talented). Friends drove up from San Diego to attend and congratulate, prior clients and new potentials, all great appreciators, were there. I got to meet a local celebrity (I�m a big fan) and discovered that he is good friends with a close friend of my family (Lizzie!), among a handful of other people in my life. Crazy small world!

After the opening, after a few glasses of wine, and watching over a hundred people flow in and around the galleries, we went to dinner at an Indian Restaurant in the area. Bee&Gee, Ollie, Blove, M.s.�s cousins, and the gallery owner�s group. Delicious food (again), a wonderful time! Back at the hotel, I got to experience a soaking tub for the first time. Wow. I need to get one of those. Sunday morning, up early so that M.s. could look at art he wishes to purchase, and then we went to Roscoe�s Chicken & Waffle, to finish off our L.A. trip the RIGHT way. Mm, mm, good!

Oh, look! Not enough room to tell you about Sunday. Let�s sum it up with some descriptive words: bondage, torture, laughter, love, orgasmS, dinner, movie, sweet, sweet sleep. This morning, my skin looks and feels translucent and smooth � signs of health and happiness for me. Tonight, I complete my enrollment process for school. Damn, I feel good.