Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-03-05

A Minute of Fame, and My usual ramble

So did everyone see me on the news last night? Great. I know we don�t usually watch the WB, but it was worth it for me to hear my name THAT many times. Let me tell you how it happened�

I was on my way to lunch with a coworker, when we encountered a newswoman and her cameraman on the street corner. Jill, the news lady, asked if we would mind being taped as we answered some questions. Then, she said, �Actually, it would be great if we could interview you in the car, as you�re driving around the neighborhood.� I said, �Hop in.� What a fun and different way (I mean, surprising and delightful) to begin my lunch, having a reporter in the backseat and a cameraman in the front. She told me halfway through our ten-minute ride that I was doing great and helping her immensely, and thanked me for allowing them to tape in the car.

It didn�t seem out of the ordinary for me to have them in my car, to be taped, all of it was well within my nearly limitless comfort zone. Too bad I didn�t have my new glasses for that ride, but guess what??? I HAVE my GLASSES!

That�s right, I skipped out of work early as soon as I heard that my babies had arrived, and I�m wearing them now! And I love them.

In an hour, I take my father to the airport. I�m not happy about him going where he�s going, but I trust that he�ll get himself back here without a hitch. I start a new class tonight at school, so much going on!

And on a side note: how do you tell someone who�s unreasonably selfish, unreliable, and not trustworthy, that he/she is all of those things without pushing him/her away forever? You can�t. Today, my father leaves the country, and will be in a dangerous situation for at least two weeks. Three of his daughters wished him well. The other one ended a conversation angrily when he refused to give her his keys while he is away. No �love you, Dad,� no �be safe,� no, �congratulations on getting the condo.� Just, �You won�t give ME your keys? Fine. Bye.� Unreasonably selfish, and I�ll tell the world until she realizes that she is the ONLY person who doesn�t see how wrong she is, and what her selfishness is doing to those she loves.

I honestly can�t remember the last time she was nice to either of our parents �just because.� It seems as if some people are only nice when they want something, and once they realize that they are not going to get it, they punish everyone around them with a tantrum. That kind of thing doesn�t work in the real world. And that is the word of the Barb. Enough venting, as this is a situation that I see getting MUCH worse, before it ever gets better.

Now, I need to go show off my new glasses to people who are just getting into the office.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
A Minute of Fame, and My usual ramble 2003-03-05 8:56 a.m. So did everyone see me on the news last night? Great. I know we don�t usually watch the WB, but it was worth it for me to hear my name THAT many times. Let me tell you how it happened�

I was on my way to lunch with a coworker, when we encountered a newswoman and her cameraman on the street corner. Jill, the news lady, asked if we would mind being taped as we answered some questions. Then, she said, �Actually, it would be great if we could interview you in the car, as you�re driving around the neighborhood.� I said, �Hop in.� What a fun and different way (I mean, surprising and delightful) to begin my lunch, having a reporter in the backseat and a cameraman in the front. She told me halfway through our ten-minute ride that I was doing great and helping her immensely, and thanked me for allowing them to tape in the car.

It didn�t seem out of the ordinary for me to have them in my car, to be taped, all of it was well within my nearly limitless comfort zone. Too bad I didn�t have my new glasses for that ride, but guess what??? I HAVE my GLASSES!

That�s right, I skipped out of work early as soon as I heard that my babies had arrived, and I�m wearing them now! And I love them.

In an hour, I take my father to the airport. I�m not happy about him going where he�s going, but I trust that he�ll get himself back here without a hitch. I start a new class tonight at school, so much going on!

And on a side note: how do you tell someone who�s unreasonably selfish, unreliable, and not trustworthy, that he/she is all of those things without pushing him/her away forever? You can�t. Today, my father leaves the country, and will be in a dangerous situation for at least two weeks. Three of his daughters wished him well. The other one ended a conversation angrily when he refused to give her his keys while he is away. No �love you, Dad,� no �be safe,� no, �congratulations on getting the condo.� Just, �You won�t give ME your keys? Fine. Bye.� Unreasonably selfish, and I�ll tell the world until she realizes that she is the ONLY person who doesn�t see how wrong she is, and what her selfishness is doing to those she loves.

I honestly can�t remember the last time she was nice to either of our parents �just because.� It seems as if some people are only nice when they want something, and once they realize that they are not going to get it, they punish everyone around them with a tantrum. That kind of thing doesn�t work in the real world. And that is the word of the Barb. Enough venting, as this is a situation that I see getting MUCH worse, before it ever gets better.

Now, I need to go show off my new glasses to people who are just getting into the office.