Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-04-01

Friends, News interviews, and LONG weekends

Whew! What a weekend! And it ended with a BANG! and an OHMYGOD, YES! this morning. But let me tell you about the GOOD stuff.

Friday, off early, I went home and passed out (a long week left me in need of a nap). I awoke with a start and headed over to Ronaldo�s , to bring food to my sister and friends, hang out, have dinner, and get my hair done. And did I EVER. Ron did me Donna-style for the evening�s events, and my hair was a hit. Blue-black and streaked with a dark red, sigh, my colors. The party was fabulous, old friends, happy faces, I even ran into a guy I met at Burning Man in 2000. I never would have recognized him without that blue Mohawk, it�s a good thing he remembered me.

A birthday, a friend in town for the weekend, drinks, food, festivities� I had a wonderful time, and I was sober. Who�dathunkit? Spider Monkey, O.H., Dlove, Cabana Boy, Sunshine & Sailor, and so many more! A fulfilling social event, after which I went home with M.s. to watch a movie and sleep yet again.

Saturday, Hamburger Mary�s and HONEY! How wonderful it was to lunch with my old friend, Honey, whom I haven�t seen in over a year! She met M.s., we laughed and caught up, I got a tad bit buzzed and oh so warm and fuzzy, and it was just wonderful. I love rekindling communication lines with those people I never want to lose touch with. We had a grand ol� time, and I�m already trying to plan the next meeting. After lunch, I was still too buzzed to drive (according to some slave), so we went window-shopping and man, I want a Vespa . Ms. Christina called to me from the shop and I sat on a few. Red, pink, even a pearly white. Something else to work toward, I guess.

Saturday night! The Fox Talbot exhibit at MOPA, opening reception for members, and yes, my dears, I will be on TV again! That�s right, local media is drawn to me like addicts to crack. I was microphoned (what, I can�t use that as a verb?) and interviewed, and I�ll let you know when it airs on the San Diego Insider. But I digress. The exhibit was amazing, and I had no idea a friend of M.s.�s is mostly responsible for designing those exhibits. I was VERY impressed, as the last few have been spectacular enough to elicit endless comments of praise from us. I met a wonderful woman, Ms. Cohen , a photographer and all-around warm energy-giver, and chatted with some very interesting people (including her, obviously).

Sunday, we brunched with Spider Monkey and O.H. at Caf� 222 and window shopped downtown for a bit. Sunday night, dinner and Quiz night at the Shakespeare�s Pub with my father, Ollie, Ronaldo, M.s. and friends! We came nowhere CLOSE to winning, but the sport of it, the company, was all I was looking for, and I got it. Oh, yes I did. I bid my father adieu, as he left for another month, and headed back to M.s.�s for some sweet sleep.

Yesterday, as you may know, I did not work. Thank you, Caesar Chavez!! I read, I read, I met with a group from school, I read, I dined with M.s., I relaxed, I fell asleep to the sound of squeaking and at some point, nixed the noise and passed out with a smile. And as I�ve already told you, my morning was fabulous. So now, to work! And a quote to inspire me for this week:

"I'm not afraid of storms, for I'm learning to sail my ship." - Louisa May Alcott

That's my girl.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Friends, News interviews, and LONG weekends 2003-04-01 9:15 a.m. Whew! What a weekend! And it ended with a BANG! and an OHMYGOD, YES! this morning. But let me tell you about the GOOD stuff.

Friday, off early, I went home and passed out (a long week left me in need of a nap). I awoke with a start and headed over to Ronaldo�s , to bring food to my sister and friends, hang out, have dinner, and get my hair done. And did I EVER. Ron did me Donna-style for the evening�s events, and my hair was a hit. Blue-black and streaked with a dark red, sigh, my colors. The party was fabulous, old friends, happy faces, I even ran into a guy I met at Burning Man in 2000. I never would have recognized him without that blue Mohawk, it�s a good thing he remembered me.

A birthday, a friend in town for the weekend, drinks, food, festivities� I had a wonderful time, and I was sober. Who�dathunkit? Spider Monkey, O.H., Dlove, Cabana Boy, Sunshine & Sailor, and so many more! A fulfilling social event, after which I went home with M.s. to watch a movie and sleep yet again.

Saturday, Hamburger Mary�s and HONEY! How wonderful it was to lunch with my old friend, Honey, whom I haven�t seen in over a year! She met M.s., we laughed and caught up, I got a tad bit buzzed and oh so warm and fuzzy, and it was just wonderful. I love rekindling communication lines with those people I never want to lose touch with. We had a grand ol� time, and I�m already trying to plan the next meeting. After lunch, I was still too buzzed to drive (according to some slave), so we went window-shopping and man, I want a Vespa . Ms. Christina called to me from the shop and I sat on a few. Red, pink, even a pearly white. Something else to work toward, I guess.

Saturday night! The Fox Talbot exhibit at MOPA, opening reception for members, and yes, my dears, I will be on TV again! That�s right, local media is drawn to me like addicts to crack. I was microphoned (what, I can�t use that as a verb?) and interviewed, and I�ll let you know when it airs on the San Diego Insider. But I digress. The exhibit was amazing, and I had no idea a friend of M.s.�s is mostly responsible for designing those exhibits. I was VERY impressed, as the last few have been spectacular enough to elicit endless comments of praise from us. I met a wonderful woman, Ms. Cohen , a photographer and all-around warm energy-giver, and chatted with some very interesting people (including her, obviously).

Sunday, we brunched with Spider Monkey and O.H. at Caf� 222 and window shopped downtown for a bit. Sunday night, dinner and Quiz night at the Shakespeare�s Pub with my father, Ollie, Ronaldo, M.s. and friends! We came nowhere CLOSE to winning, but the sport of it, the company, was all I was looking for, and I got it. Oh, yes I did. I bid my father adieu, as he left for another month, and headed back to M.s.�s for some sweet sleep.

Yesterday, as you may know, I did not work. Thank you, Caesar Chavez!! I read, I read, I met with a group from school, I read, I dined with M.s., I relaxed, I fell asleep to the sound of squeaking and at some point, nixed the noise and passed out with a smile. And as I�ve already told you, my morning was fabulous. So now, to work! And a quote to inspire me for this week:

"I'm not afraid of storms, for I'm learning to sail my ship." - Louisa May Alcott

That's my girl.