Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-04-25

NERVE RACKING, and Mental Cures

The definition of �nerve racking,� as defined by situations occurring this morning � when a lawyer walks into the office late and says, �Look through these files! I have a hearing that I have to leave for in 15 minutes and though I poured over these files ALL night, I can�t find what I need!� It�s your job to keep the files organized. Everything should be in its place, but its possible that something could have been removed and not replaced. You say, �I�ll find it!� and begin searching furiously through the files. The lawyer says, �Do you REMEMBER having seen it? I can�t work like this! Why isn�t everything in its place! I can�t ask the judge for dates when they should be in my own file! How could this happen? If you took it out of the file, why wouldn�t you make a copy and keep the original IN the file???�

You are frazzled, your heart is beating fast, pounding with the strength of indignation and the energy of fear� did you see it? You say, �I can�t recall. I just don�t know,� because if you say that you did see it, you�re responsible for where it is. If you say that you didn�t see it, when it�s found, you�re fucked. Lawyer makes a call� looks like they never sent it. All this drama for nothing.

TWO MINUTES later, call from another lawyer� judge kicked a case out, do this, do that, write this, call this person, then prepare this paper, email this, call this court, send this out, oh, and while you�re doing all of that, could you stand on your head and hum the soundtrack to The Firm. Great.

AT THE SAME FUCKING TIME that you�re on the phone with this second lawyer, your call is interrupted by the local court � why isn�t a lawyer there? Opposing counsel is there� someone in the office (or a handful of people, it doesn�t matter now), made a clerical error and no one is left to cover a hearing. You get off the phone, you run around, you find the file, you call lawyers on their cell phones, you find one to take care of it, they�re just ready to leave and then� the guy on the phone says, �you know, don�t worry about it, we�ll continue this until the 9th.� Big, heavy sigh.

THAT�S nerve racking. I feel traumatized.

In better news, I had a wonderful time last night, dancing and drinking and catching up with old friends, hugging the birthday boy and taking pictures of people in the lovely club with my camera phone, laughing, listening to great music played by talented friends.

Tonight, a secret. My father is excited, and I can�t wait until he finds out where we�re going. He won�t know until we get there, and you won�t know until I tell you about it next week. Dinner, and FUN! This morning, he said, �I�m just happy that you reserved a Friday night to hang out with me.� I feel good.

So, when all the lawyers arrive at the same time this afternoon with even more drama and bullshit, I�ll think to myself, �in just a few hours, my weekend begins,� and I will feel MUCH better.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
NERVE RACKING, and Mental Cures 2003-04-25 11:08 a.m. The definition of �nerve racking,� as defined by situations occurring this morning � when a lawyer walks into the office late and says, �Look through these files! I have a hearing that I have to leave for in 15 minutes and though I poured over these files ALL night, I can�t find what I need!� It�s your job to keep the files organized. Everything should be in its place, but its possible that something could have been removed and not replaced. You say, �I�ll find it!� and begin searching furiously through the files. The lawyer says, �Do you REMEMBER having seen it? I can�t work like this! Why isn�t everything in its place! I can�t ask the judge for dates when they should be in my own file! How could this happen? If you took it out of the file, why wouldn�t you make a copy and keep the original IN the file???�

You are frazzled, your heart is beating fast, pounding with the strength of indignation and the energy of fear� did you see it? You say, �I can�t recall. I just don�t know,� because if you say that you did see it, you�re responsible for where it is. If you say that you didn�t see it, when it�s found, you�re fucked. Lawyer makes a call� looks like they never sent it. All this drama for nothing.

TWO MINUTES later, call from another lawyer� judge kicked a case out, do this, do that, write this, call this person, then prepare this paper, email this, call this court, send this out, oh, and while you�re doing all of that, could you stand on your head and hum the soundtrack to The Firm. Great.

AT THE SAME FUCKING TIME that you�re on the phone with this second lawyer, your call is interrupted by the local court � why isn�t a lawyer there? Opposing counsel is there� someone in the office (or a handful of people, it doesn�t matter now), made a clerical error and no one is left to cover a hearing. You get off the phone, you run around, you find the file, you call lawyers on their cell phones, you find one to take care of it, they�re just ready to leave and then� the guy on the phone says, �you know, don�t worry about it, we�ll continue this until the 9th.� Big, heavy sigh.

THAT�S nerve racking. I feel traumatized.

In better news, I had a wonderful time last night, dancing and drinking and catching up with old friends, hugging the birthday boy and taking pictures of people in the lovely club with my camera phone, laughing, listening to great music played by talented friends.

Tonight, a secret. My father is excited, and I can�t wait until he finds out where we�re going. He won�t know until we get there, and you won�t know until I tell you about it next week. Dinner, and FUN! This morning, he said, �I�m just happy that you reserved a Friday night to hang out with me.� I feel good.

So, when all the lawyers arrive at the same time this afternoon with even more drama and bullshit, I�ll think to myself, �in just a few hours, my weekend begins,� and I will feel MUCH better.