Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-01-16

Rise & Shine

�Fall down seven times, stand up eight.� - Japanese Proverb

Today I run my world. Today, I made people smile. I�m looking forward to the weekend, busy as I am. Things are okay. My choices are good. My life is good.

This morning, one of my sisters asked me, �Barb, you�re so busy! What are you doing for yourself ??� I replied, �Jane, don�t you get it? This IS for me! I�m going to school for ME. I�m working hard for ME. This hard work should not be mistaken for something that is harmful to me. The only person benefitting from my lack of free time is ME, for now, and in the long-term. So don�t worry, sis, because I�m doing fine. Every time I learn something I feel better about myself. Every time I accomplish something at work, I feel my sense of self-worth strengthen. These are good things.�

Then, of course, I reminded her that I just had a wonderful vacation with the man I love, which was a dreamy escape from my usual monotony. I�m doing more for myself than I think I ever have before. That�s what self-love can do for a person.

Tonight I�m going to Ronaldo�s for a bit, and I will be seeing the birthday girl, Spider Monkey! Good, I can give her the present I have for her, as I probably won�t make it to the party tomorrow night. Tomorrow, it�s breakfast with M.s.�s cousin, meeting up with his director friend at Photo L.A., along with a publisher (we�re GOING to get this book done for you, baby!), among other people and contacts. Then, we�ll meeting up with J&S - he, a producer, she, a hairstylist to the stars, and both of them, long-time dear friends of my family who are excited to meet My man.

Sunday, the editor from the Union Tribune�s Night & Day is supposed to come to the gallery to do a story on us (I�m REALLY working those connections!), and sometime after that I�ll write a paper for school. Yup, I�ve got my work cut out for me.

And I will rise to the occasion. And I will shine.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Rise & Shine 2004-01-16 4:03 p.m. �Fall down seven times, stand up eight.� - Japanese Proverb

Today I run my world. Today, I made people smile. I�m looking forward to the weekend, busy as I am. Things are okay. My choices are good. My life is good.

This morning, one of my sisters asked me, �Barb, you�re so busy! What are you doing for yourself ??� I replied, �Jane, don�t you get it? This IS for me! I�m going to school for ME. I�m working hard for ME. This hard work should not be mistaken for something that is harmful to me. The only person benefitting from my lack of free time is ME, for now, and in the long-term. So don�t worry, sis, because I�m doing fine. Every time I learn something I feel better about myself. Every time I accomplish something at work, I feel my sense of self-worth strengthen. These are good things.�

Then, of course, I reminded her that I just had a wonderful vacation with the man I love, which was a dreamy escape from my usual monotony. I�m doing more for myself than I think I ever have before. That�s what self-love can do for a person.

Tonight I�m going to Ronaldo�s for a bit, and I will be seeing the birthday girl, Spider Monkey! Good, I can give her the present I have for her, as I probably won�t make it to the party tomorrow night. Tomorrow, it�s breakfast with M.s.�s cousin, meeting up with his director friend at Photo L.A., along with a publisher (we�re GOING to get this book done for you, baby!), among other people and contacts. Then, we�ll meeting up with J&S - he, a producer, she, a hairstylist to the stars, and both of them, long-time dear friends of my family who are excited to meet My man.

Sunday, the editor from the Union Tribune�s Night & Day is supposed to come to the gallery to do a story on us (I�m REALLY working those connections!), and sometime after that I�ll write a paper for school. Yup, I�ve got my work cut out for me.

And I will rise to the occasion. And I will shine.