Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-02-10

Emerson and the Inevitability of Stone

�Finish every day and be done with it. You have done what you could; Some blunders and absurdities crept in; Forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.� - Ralph Waldo Emerson

In times of stress and anxiety, I should have known that Emerson would appear in one way or another with elegant words of wisdom. I�ve been a bit of a nutcase lately, obsessing about work deadlines, stressing out and feeling overwhelmed. I have to remind myself that there is only so much I can do, and I will never do anything unless I move on to the next. Unless I stop lamenting over projects gone bad and concentrate on how to make current and future projects succeed. That�s what learning really is, right? The ability to apply your lesson and improve upon your current state? Yeah, I think so.

Mistress E is back in Boston, she left yesterday morning. Oh, I can�t wait to see those cards! I�ll be linking them as soon as they�re out, because I�m sure you�ll all want to buy them.

M.s. is totally stressed, there is just so much to get done! I know we can do it, though. It�s so easy for me to sit in front of the mountain and consider it, allow it to intimidate me. So easy to contemplate its immensity, its massive presence. But while I sit and consider, others are climbing their own mountains. By the time I gather the courage to step up, they are already at the top. What I�m saying is, I�m realizing more and more how important it is to do things rather than think about them. That�s what got me back in school... I considered going back for years. The money, the time, it didn�t seem worth it. I could have been done now if I didn�t weigh my options for so long. Interesting, how we limit ourselves when we think we know what is best for us.

But these are random thoughts, and I really do not have the time to organize them into any message. All I can say to tie this together, is: I�m okay. I�m more okay than I think I am, and I�m a lot better than I give myself credit for. I�m going to hold on to that thought today, and begin to climb this massive rock on my desk.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Emerson and the Inevitability of Stone 2004-02-10 8:37 a.m. �Finish every day and be done with it. You have done what you could; Some blunders and absurdities crept in; Forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.� - Ralph Waldo Emerson

In times of stress and anxiety, I should have known that Emerson would appear in one way or another with elegant words of wisdom. I�ve been a bit of a nutcase lately, obsessing about work deadlines, stressing out and feeling overwhelmed. I have to remind myself that there is only so much I can do, and I will never do anything unless I move on to the next. Unless I stop lamenting over projects gone bad and concentrate on how to make current and future projects succeed. That�s what learning really is, right? The ability to apply your lesson and improve upon your current state? Yeah, I think so.

Mistress E is back in Boston, she left yesterday morning. Oh, I can�t wait to see those cards! I�ll be linking them as soon as they�re out, because I�m sure you�ll all want to buy them.

M.s. is totally stressed, there is just so much to get done! I know we can do it, though. It�s so easy for me to sit in front of the mountain and consider it, allow it to intimidate me. So easy to contemplate its immensity, its massive presence. But while I sit and consider, others are climbing their own mountains. By the time I gather the courage to step up, they are already at the top. What I�m saying is, I�m realizing more and more how important it is to do things rather than think about them. That�s what got me back in school... I considered going back for years. The money, the time, it didn�t seem worth it. I could have been done now if I didn�t weigh my options for so long. Interesting, how we limit ourselves when we think we know what is best for us.

But these are random thoughts, and I really do not have the time to organize them into any message. All I can say to tie this together, is: I�m okay. I�m more okay than I think I am, and I�m a lot better than I give myself credit for. I�m going to hold on to that thought today, and begin to climb this massive rock on my desk.