Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-03-09

Actively living

�The penalty that good men pay for not being interested in politics is to be governed by men worse than themselves.� - Plato

It is only this year that I registered to vote with the intention of actually voting. Until recently, I would think, �why bother?� But as I�ve stayed current with the news, with the law, with life, I realize just how important it is to have a say and to be involved. If you don�t try and change society, society might change you, and chances are it won�t be for the better. The recent tests of the constitution involving blatant discrimination against homosexuals is one example of a small percentage of people trying to change society for the better - tolerance, in my view, is ALWAYS better than intolerance. Love is always better than hate. Acceptance is better than persecution for beliefs, lifestyles... just about anything (baby-killing obviously excluded, among other agreed-upon taboos, like incest and child molestation).

Tuesday. New class tonight (same deal every five weeks), my orchid is blooming again in the same season (see, Johnny, I don�t kill ALL plants I touch!) I have had some sort of attitude adjustment in regard to my office (I think that Valium yesterday was a peek at how life would be if I wasn�t such a fucking stress-case, so I�m going to try and tap that feeling without the aid of a little, yellow helper). I feel okay. I just finished my paper for class tonight (ah, the silence of the office before people straggle in). I feel good.

M.s. was adorable last night, creating an ambitious contraption for us to experiment with. I can�t say my life isn�t exciting and fun! Speaking of exciting, I will announce to the public (or the few people who check out my thoughts on a regular basis) that M.s. and I are in the process of finding a home together. We�re into the urban lifestyle, so right now this one is at the top of our list. We�ll see how things develop (literally, as the building is just beginning to go up). It�s so exciting to plan and think about different things we can do with a new place of our own. Talk about something to look forward to! I�ll keep you updated.

Alright, well I�m in the office... I might as well do some work. Sweet life, I hear you calling to me, and I promise, I�m working my way to you, one homework assignment and one day at a time. One smile, one laugh, one hug. On second thought, I�m already here with you. I just forget sometimes.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Actively living 2004-03-09 8:53 a.m. �The penalty that good men pay for not being interested in politics is to be governed by men worse than themselves.� - Plato

It is only this year that I registered to vote with the intention of actually voting. Until recently, I would think, �why bother?� But as I�ve stayed current with the news, with the law, with life, I realize just how important it is to have a say and to be involved. If you don�t try and change society, society might change you, and chances are it won�t be for the better. The recent tests of the constitution involving blatant discrimination against homosexuals is one example of a small percentage of people trying to change society for the better - tolerance, in my view, is ALWAYS better than intolerance. Love is always better than hate. Acceptance is better than persecution for beliefs, lifestyles... just about anything (baby-killing obviously excluded, among other agreed-upon taboos, like incest and child molestation).

Tuesday. New class tonight (same deal every five weeks), my orchid is blooming again in the same season (see, Johnny, I don�t kill ALL plants I touch!) I have had some sort of attitude adjustment in regard to my office (I think that Valium yesterday was a peek at how life would be if I wasn�t such a fucking stress-case, so I�m going to try and tap that feeling without the aid of a little, yellow helper). I feel okay. I just finished my paper for class tonight (ah, the silence of the office before people straggle in). I feel good.

M.s. was adorable last night, creating an ambitious contraption for us to experiment with. I can�t say my life isn�t exciting and fun! Speaking of exciting, I will announce to the public (or the few people who check out my thoughts on a regular basis) that M.s. and I are in the process of finding a home together. We�re into the urban lifestyle, so right now this one is at the top of our list. We�ll see how things develop (literally, as the building is just beginning to go up). It�s so exciting to plan and think about different things we can do with a new place of our own. Talk about something to look forward to! I�ll keep you updated.

Alright, well I�m in the office... I might as well do some work. Sweet life, I hear you calling to me, and I promise, I�m working my way to you, one homework assignment and one day at a time. One smile, one laugh, one hug. On second thought, I�m already here with you. I just forget sometimes.