Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-04-02

Stimulating Conversation, Stimulating Thoughts

There�s a word for it! There�s a word for that �pleasant smell that accompanies the first rain after a dry spell,� and that word is �petrichor.� Now I am complete.

Last night I fell asleep to the sound of rain on the sky light. So relaxing to me, the sound of rain. There is nothing I�d rather do when it�s raining than be warm, comfortable, with a good book in my hands.

Speaking of good books, last night�s dinner conversation was stimulating! We asked each other questions, we told our stories, and we analyzed a book we each enjoyed reading. Now I understand that whole �book club� thing. Though I doubt I could ever belong to a book club. Too many people, too many ideas I don�t care to hear. I�m too much of an elitist. This worked because we all happened to read the same book around the same time. It would have seemed like a chore if we had assigned the book ahead of time with the intent of reviewing it together. I prefer it when things happen organically. Or at least when OTHER people THINK it�s happening organically, and I�m really controlling everything. Whichever works for you, of course.

M.s. came home late from his own evening of stimulating conversation. Little groups of thinkers and speakers are sprouting up all over San Diego! And I�m part of at least a few of them. I should just start a bunch and watch them flourish. San Diegans are hungry for this, they ache for intelligent discourse and cultural examination. I want to be in an environment where we can have all of that, without the stuffy pretentiousness associated with any Masters program. Just another project to work on, but one I can see enjoying as much as I enjoy my writing projects, as much as I enjoy throwing a good party.

It�s Friday. After my long week in the office, I still have butt-loads of work to do. Three papers on Organizational Behavior, a presentation to give, and a final exam to take. I�m not exactly looking forward to all of this work, but you know what? I�m looking forward to getting it DONE. So that�s what I�ll concentrate on. That, and M.s.�s nipples. Yes, I did have to go there.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Stimulating Conversation, Stimulating Thoughts 2004-04-02 9:19 a.m. There�s a word for it! There�s a word for that �pleasant smell that accompanies the first rain after a dry spell,� and that word is �petrichor.� Now I am complete.

Last night I fell asleep to the sound of rain on the sky light. So relaxing to me, the sound of rain. There is nothing I�d rather do when it�s raining than be warm, comfortable, with a good book in my hands.

Speaking of good books, last night�s dinner conversation was stimulating! We asked each other questions, we told our stories, and we analyzed a book we each enjoyed reading. Now I understand that whole �book club� thing. Though I doubt I could ever belong to a book club. Too many people, too many ideas I don�t care to hear. I�m too much of an elitist. This worked because we all happened to read the same book around the same time. It would have seemed like a chore if we had assigned the book ahead of time with the intent of reviewing it together. I prefer it when things happen organically. Or at least when OTHER people THINK it�s happening organically, and I�m really controlling everything. Whichever works for you, of course.

M.s. came home late from his own evening of stimulating conversation. Little groups of thinkers and speakers are sprouting up all over San Diego! And I�m part of at least a few of them. I should just start a bunch and watch them flourish. San Diegans are hungry for this, they ache for intelligent discourse and cultural examination. I want to be in an environment where we can have all of that, without the stuffy pretentiousness associated with any Masters program. Just another project to work on, but one I can see enjoying as much as I enjoy my writing projects, as much as I enjoy throwing a good party.

It�s Friday. After my long week in the office, I still have butt-loads of work to do. Three papers on Organizational Behavior, a presentation to give, and a final exam to take. I�m not exactly looking forward to all of this work, but you know what? I�m looking forward to getting it DONE. So that�s what I�ll concentrate on. That, and M.s.�s nipples. Yes, I did have to go there.