Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-04-23

Shared meals, Artful Approach

�Home is not where you live but where they understand you.� - Christion Morgenstern Hallelujah, Christion. My life is one big quest to be understood, to understand myself.

Lunch with the Rev was wonderful yesterday! We walked from his office to a local Chinese restaurant in Hillcrest. He ate with chopsticks and I used a fork. We sat in the sun and then moved to the shade. We laughed. We reminisced about the days we first met, about eight years ago, when he was my boss and I was a 19-year-old trainer, even then enjoying my weekly spotlight teaching 20 new faces the ins and outs of new products and sales techniques. He�ll try to come to our LAST gallery opening this weekend, and I�ll try to make Sunday morning services next Sunday (the weekend my face is revealed to the city).

Last night we took our visiting friends and artists to our local sushi spot , Hayama in Mission Valley. Much sake! Much laughter! Much sushi! But of course, my chicken was cooked. I�ve tried it, on occasion, that nasty raw fish flesh, but it just ain�t my dig, baby. I�m all about the chicken katsu. After dinner and questionable service (it�s always better to sit at the sushi bar rather than in a booth), we gave a little tour to the artists� feminine side, while Mr. Masculine dozed happily in the back seat.

I�m wearing new earrings today! Because I had to PEE, and I was seriously considering the sidewalk as a urine receptacle, I pulled over in front of the Gargoyle in Little Italy and ran inside to see my friend, the owner, and use her facilities. Thank God she was there! Whew! Close call, too much soda and sake. Before I left, though, I got some fabulous earrings with little fishies on them, long and red. They reach my shoulders, I feel so circa 1987! I guess they�re expanding the restaurant portion of their place and getting rid of the little store! So I want to hit it up at Art Walk this weekend and walk away with more jewelry. Mmmm, jewelry.

Plans - too much to do. Tomorrow is our opening, and I will be there with feathers on. Sunday I want to hit up Art Walk, because there are many friends and artists I would love to see, and plus, the people-watching is fantastic during this event. I just want to camp out somewhere in the shade and watch the show! It�s Earth Day celebrations at Balboa Park, I think, but we�re gonna miss that. So much to do, not enough time, and I haven�t even mentioned my homework. Yikes.

May your weekend be filled with color, art, and wonder! Just like mine.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Shared meals, Artful Approach 2004-04-23 8:55 a.m. �Home is not where you live but where they understand you.� - Christion Morgenstern Hallelujah, Christion. My life is one big quest to be understood, to understand myself.

Lunch with the Rev was wonderful yesterday! We walked from his office to a local Chinese restaurant in Hillcrest. He ate with chopsticks and I used a fork. We sat in the sun and then moved to the shade. We laughed. We reminisced about the days we first met, about eight years ago, when he was my boss and I was a 19-year-old trainer, even then enjoying my weekly spotlight teaching 20 new faces the ins and outs of new products and sales techniques. He�ll try to come to our LAST gallery opening this weekend, and I�ll try to make Sunday morning services next Sunday (the weekend my face is revealed to the city).

Last night we took our visiting friends and artists to our local sushi spot , Hayama in Mission Valley. Much sake! Much laughter! Much sushi! But of course, my chicken was cooked. I�ve tried it, on occasion, that nasty raw fish flesh, but it just ain�t my dig, baby. I�m all about the chicken katsu. After dinner and questionable service (it�s always better to sit at the sushi bar rather than in a booth), we gave a little tour to the artists� feminine side, while Mr. Masculine dozed happily in the back seat.

I�m wearing new earrings today! Because I had to PEE, and I was seriously considering the sidewalk as a urine receptacle, I pulled over in front of the Gargoyle in Little Italy and ran inside to see my friend, the owner, and use her facilities. Thank God she was there! Whew! Close call, too much soda and sake. Before I left, though, I got some fabulous earrings with little fishies on them, long and red. They reach my shoulders, I feel so circa 1987! I guess they�re expanding the restaurant portion of their place and getting rid of the little store! So I want to hit it up at Art Walk this weekend and walk away with more jewelry. Mmmm, jewelry.

Plans - too much to do. Tomorrow is our opening, and I will be there with feathers on. Sunday I want to hit up Art Walk, because there are many friends and artists I would love to see, and plus, the people-watching is fantastic during this event. I just want to camp out somewhere in the shade and watch the show! It�s Earth Day celebrations at Balboa Park, I think, but we�re gonna miss that. So much to do, not enough time, and I haven�t even mentioned my homework. Yikes.

May your weekend be filled with color, art, and wonder! Just like mine.