Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-04-26

Weekend of Art & Artists

Our artists worked their skinny little asses off all day Friday, while I was toiling away in the office. After sculptures and mosaics were hung with precision, we headed across the street to the Kensington Grille, more for the full bar than the delicious food, though we thoroughly enjoyed each.

We broke our fast downstairs Saturday morning at the appropriately named Just Fabulous . Well, the artists and I had breakfast, and M.s. was out and about running errands and racing around trying to get everything in place for the evening�s big event. Tension was high throughout the day, time pressures and stress and personalities clashing like swords... it was palpable. I kept up my spirits despite my annoyance with the unspoken persistence by everyone else to remain tense until the opening. I realize, however, that this was easy for me to do, as it was not my work, or my money, or my anything, so I had less invested and therefore less to lose if things were not perfect. Understood. But still , can it really hurt to smile and be nice to each other under pressure? Hmm? No. So I�m right after all.

The opening was a great success, and poor M.s. continued to run around for the rest of the night creating price lists and hors d�oeuvres for the constant flow of people. I enjoyed myself, of course, how could I not with so many people to interact with? I wore red and black, feathers and such, oh how I love feathers. Apparently, a few guests (some Superior Court Judges among them) went to dinner after the show and my red feather ring was the subject of much discussion. Gotta love it.

Sunday morning I threw a tantrum. This is what stress does to me, it cuts me down to a sniveling child, a whining, pouting twit. It�s a good thing I get over it quickly, as I did when M.s. and I went to get a sandwich and talk excitedly about the coming week (THIS week). Oh, it�s a big one! I�m excited! Just thinking about it makes me digress and forget what I was typing in the first place! But we�ll come back to that. We hit up Art Walk in the afternoon and ran into John and his father (also a superior court judge, my Dog, they�re everywhere!) There�s not a lot of art that caught my attention this year. Maybe 5 of the hundred or so artists� work caught my eye. My crew, consisting of three artists in addition to myself, had the same experience. Oh, but it was a beautiful day, and the people were just as interesting to watch as I knew they would be.

We ended the weekend with take-out Chinese (something our artists can�t get on the Vineyard, that must suck), and a French movie. Before dinner, Steve and I came close to perfecting the Barbarella drink - Framboise, Godiva chocolate liquor, and vodka. We drizzled the glass with Mistress Ellen�s gift to me, a raspberry-chocolate pinot-noir sauce. Yummy. I think I'll have one tonight!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Weekend of Art & Artists 2004-04-26 11:38 a.m. Our artists worked their skinny little asses off all day Friday, while I was toiling away in the office. After sculptures and mosaics were hung with precision, we headed across the street to the Kensington Grille, more for the full bar than the delicious food, though we thoroughly enjoyed each.

We broke our fast downstairs Saturday morning at the appropriately named Just Fabulous . Well, the artists and I had breakfast, and M.s. was out and about running errands and racing around trying to get everything in place for the evening�s big event. Tension was high throughout the day, time pressures and stress and personalities clashing like swords... it was palpable. I kept up my spirits despite my annoyance with the unspoken persistence by everyone else to remain tense until the opening. I realize, however, that this was easy for me to do, as it was not my work, or my money, or my anything, so I had less invested and therefore less to lose if things were not perfect. Understood. But still , can it really hurt to smile and be nice to each other under pressure? Hmm? No. So I�m right after all.

The opening was a great success, and poor M.s. continued to run around for the rest of the night creating price lists and hors d�oeuvres for the constant flow of people. I enjoyed myself, of course, how could I not with so many people to interact with? I wore red and black, feathers and such, oh how I love feathers. Apparently, a few guests (some Superior Court Judges among them) went to dinner after the show and my red feather ring was the subject of much discussion. Gotta love it.

Sunday morning I threw a tantrum. This is what stress does to me, it cuts me down to a sniveling child, a whining, pouting twit. It�s a good thing I get over it quickly, as I did when M.s. and I went to get a sandwich and talk excitedly about the coming week (THIS week). Oh, it�s a big one! I�m excited! Just thinking about it makes me digress and forget what I was typing in the first place! But we�ll come back to that. We hit up Art Walk in the afternoon and ran into John and his father (also a superior court judge, my Dog, they�re everywhere!) There�s not a lot of art that caught my attention this year. Maybe 5 of the hundred or so artists� work caught my eye. My crew, consisting of three artists in addition to myself, had the same experience. Oh, but it was a beautiful day, and the people were just as interesting to watch as I knew they would be.

We ended the weekend with take-out Chinese (something our artists can�t get on the Vineyard, that must suck), and a French movie. Before dinner, Steve and I came close to perfecting the Barbarella drink - Framboise, Godiva chocolate liquor, and vodka. We drizzled the glass with Mistress Ellen�s gift to me, a raspberry-chocolate pinot-noir sauce. Yummy. I think I'll have one tonight!