Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-05-08

Blasphemy, Sea World, and Good Times Ahead!

�If an opinion contrary to your own makes you angry, that is a sign that you are subconsciously aware of having no good reason for thinking as you do. Whenever you find yourself getting angry about a difference of opinion, be on your guard; you will probably find, on examination, that your belief is going beyond what the evidence warrants.� � Bertrand Russell, as taken from �An Outlaw of Intellectual Rubbish.�

�Rubbish� is a word I would like to bring back to my daily vocabulary, seeing as I seem to encounter it daily, in one form or another. This brings me back yet again to Day 5 in the Course in Miracles � the reason you think you are angry, is not the real reason you are angry. Surprised the hell out of me to see that the Reader reached a �God-fearing� and most likely very elderly lady in Santee. According to her letter (and damned if I couldn�t find any Fels-whatever soap for my dirty little mouth), she was most angry. I�m a sinner, baby, that�s for sure, however, please know that it is not JUST Christianity I abhor, but all organized religion. Stop being so selfish with your gods. There are plenty more out there I could be speaking about. Know when the time is right to defend one. I�ll give you a perfect example, as this reminds me of something Fizgig said last night at the dinner party I attended at a local Ethiopian restaurant. In response to someone�s accusation that Nina, due to her distaste for rabbits, must hate Easter, Fizgig said, �Yes, she wishes that Jesus would have just stayed dead.�

But enough about bible-thumpers and Christian myths. My father and I had a wonderful time at Sea World yesterday! Because we got there early enough on a Friday, we were able to beat most of the confused Midwesterners to all of the attractions we were interested in (with the exception of the two that were not open, namely the dolphin show and Cirque de la Mer). The penguins were my personal favorite. Such personality! As the moving floor took us slowly by the enclosure, we did our best to personify each interesting looking penguin by imagining what they were thinking and/or �saying� to each other. I think it was Mr. Larson who helped me to appreciate the plight of penguins . They just REALLY look like little angry men. Hee hee.

The Shamu show was fun, as my father and I delighted in all the �idiots� who sat in the first few rows who looked surprised when they got drenched. It�s fun to watch people with my father. There are no rules, and anything said is acceptable as humor, with a few exceptions � we�re not cruel, you know.

Dinner was fun, more friends, more interesting food. Tonight we�ll bar-b-cue for Jen�s birthday, and I�m looking forward to spending an evening with the family. Tomorrow morning, breakfast with Mom and sisters, and then I hit the road with Ronaldo. If you remember our Vegas trip , you remember that Ron and I travel well together. I�m looking forward to our little adventure! So you might not hear from me until Tuesday, my dears. In the meantime, I hope you have a fabulous weekend, as I surely will!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Blasphemy, Sea World, and Good Times Ahead! 2004-05-08 10:57 a.m. �If an opinion contrary to your own makes you angry, that is a sign that you are subconsciously aware of having no good reason for thinking as you do. Whenever you find yourself getting angry about a difference of opinion, be on your guard; you will probably find, on examination, that your belief is going beyond what the evidence warrants.� � Bertrand Russell, as taken from �An Outlaw of Intellectual Rubbish.�

�Rubbish� is a word I would like to bring back to my daily vocabulary, seeing as I seem to encounter it daily, in one form or another. This brings me back yet again to Day 5 in the Course in Miracles � the reason you think you are angry, is not the real reason you are angry. Surprised the hell out of me to see that the Reader reached a �God-fearing� and most likely very elderly lady in Santee. According to her letter (and damned if I couldn�t find any Fels-whatever soap for my dirty little mouth), she was most angry. I�m a sinner, baby, that�s for sure, however, please know that it is not JUST Christianity I abhor, but all organized religion. Stop being so selfish with your gods. There are plenty more out there I could be speaking about. Know when the time is right to defend one. I�ll give you a perfect example, as this reminds me of something Fizgig said last night at the dinner party I attended at a local Ethiopian restaurant. In response to someone�s accusation that Nina, due to her distaste for rabbits, must hate Easter, Fizgig said, �Yes, she wishes that Jesus would have just stayed dead.�

But enough about bible-thumpers and Christian myths. My father and I had a wonderful time at Sea World yesterday! Because we got there early enough on a Friday, we were able to beat most of the confused Midwesterners to all of the attractions we were interested in (with the exception of the two that were not open, namely the dolphin show and Cirque de la Mer). The penguins were my personal favorite. Such personality! As the moving floor took us slowly by the enclosure, we did our best to personify each interesting looking penguin by imagining what they were thinking and/or �saying� to each other. I think it was Mr. Larson who helped me to appreciate the plight of penguins . They just REALLY look like little angry men. Hee hee.

The Shamu show was fun, as my father and I delighted in all the �idiots� who sat in the first few rows who looked surprised when they got drenched. It�s fun to watch people with my father. There are no rules, and anything said is acceptable as humor, with a few exceptions � we�re not cruel, you know.

Dinner was fun, more friends, more interesting food. Tonight we�ll bar-b-cue for Jen�s birthday, and I�m looking forward to spending an evening with the family. Tomorrow morning, breakfast with Mom and sisters, and then I hit the road with Ronaldo. If you remember our Vegas trip , you remember that Ron and I travel well together. I�m looking forward to our little adventure! So you might not hear from me until Tuesday, my dears. In the meantime, I hope you have a fabulous weekend, as I surely will!