Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-05-22

Social Awakening

Yesterday was highly productive for me, on many levels. After finishing a few projects I�ve been working on, I decided to don my fabulous feathers and check out the very new, very cool, off-the-beaten-path club down the street. I loathe the evenings downtown (for all the reasons you might imagine, including but not limited to traffic, idiots, fuckheads, and losers), so a new, hip venue for my friends to inhabit is most welcome right now. Reminiscent of downtown�s old Green Circle (before my time, but I hear it was legendary fun, pre-ballpark and yuppie trash), there is a built-in pit lined with fur-covered couches and soft carpeting.

But I�m getting ahead of myself. The gallery opening at Ronaldo�s was just what I needed to transition from busy-mode to my more comfortable and rewarding social-diva persona. I was happy to spend some time with my father at the gallery, and glad to introduce J&G (those two lovely ladies who are taking over No. 4 ) to some locals. Ready to check out this new place that isn�t even finished yet (by the way, they�re calling it Air Conditioned, and yes, there is a story behind the name), I grabbed Johnny , we grabbed M.s., and we all headed back over to the club.

I was impressed to hear that all of the furniture in the place was made by the ever-impressive Sweet Pea, and our friend Alice did the plumbing. From floor to ceiling, someone I know had a hand in creating this new space, which makes spending time there all the sweeter. Plus, Fizgig and Curious G will be playing the music every Saturday! Not since the wine bar have I had ground upon which I am so eager to stomp. I insured my drink (the Barbarella, if you remember, a raspberry-chocolate martini) would be known to all bartenders by explaining to Anthony (the gregarious, lovable, and disarming promoter) that it�s a must-have.

Surrounded by friends, comfortable on fur, listening to a DJ turn tunes inside-out and upside-down in the most stimulating way possible, I sighed with delight. This will be fun.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Social Awakening 2004-05-22 5:50 p.m. Yesterday was highly productive for me, on many levels. After finishing a few projects I�ve been working on, I decided to don my fabulous feathers and check out the very new, very cool, off-the-beaten-path club down the street. I loathe the evenings downtown (for all the reasons you might imagine, including but not limited to traffic, idiots, fuckheads, and losers), so a new, hip venue for my friends to inhabit is most welcome right now. Reminiscent of downtown�s old Green Circle (before my time, but I hear it was legendary fun, pre-ballpark and yuppie trash), there is a built-in pit lined with fur-covered couches and soft carpeting.

But I�m getting ahead of myself. The gallery opening at Ronaldo�s was just what I needed to transition from busy-mode to my more comfortable and rewarding social-diva persona. I was happy to spend some time with my father at the gallery, and glad to introduce J&G (those two lovely ladies who are taking over No. 4 ) to some locals. Ready to check out this new place that isn�t even finished yet (by the way, they�re calling it Air Conditioned, and yes, there is a story behind the name), I grabbed Johnny , we grabbed M.s., and we all headed back over to the club.

I was impressed to hear that all of the furniture in the place was made by the ever-impressive Sweet Pea, and our friend Alice did the plumbing. From floor to ceiling, someone I know had a hand in creating this new space, which makes spending time there all the sweeter. Plus, Fizgig and Curious G will be playing the music every Saturday! Not since the wine bar have I had ground upon which I am so eager to stomp. I insured my drink (the Barbarella, if you remember, a raspberry-chocolate martini) would be known to all bartenders by explaining to Anthony (the gregarious, lovable, and disarming promoter) that it�s a must-have.

Surrounded by friends, comfortable on fur, listening to a DJ turn tunes inside-out and upside-down in the most stimulating way possible, I sighed with delight. This will be fun.