Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-06-09

Time with Dad & Routine Making

Gee, I keep forgetting what day it is. It�s a good thing I have little calendars all around me (cell phone, palm pilot, laptop, dayplanner), else I would be asking everyone I encounter. There are a LOT of fun things in the lineup for this week! Tomorrow night I�m going to an adult web-conference concert thingy, courtesy Johnny Boy . It promises to be interesting, in the least, and a good time out with friends at the most.

Yesterday I helped my father pick out a NEW pair of glasses! We had to work through the pricing thing � remember, he hasn�t had to buy a pair in a VERY LONG time. I chose stylish half-rims, brownish titanium, simple, elegant. I can�t wait to see him wearing them! We had a great time, picked out the glasses, I read him a draft of my column (good thing I did, I found 3 errors!), hit up the commissary, and then went to eat at the City Wok. While we were on a �new things� roll, I convinced Dad to try edamame (the man does not try anything he hasn�t eaten before, which seriously limits his diet), and he seemed to enjoy it! Chalk one up for the adventurous!

We talked about how wonderful life is. How easy life is supposed to be. How some of us just seem to want to complicate what should be simple. M.s. and I are getting used to this both-working-from-home thing. I think we�re finding our groove. He�s eager to help me succeed (a true sign of a good mate), and I think that distracts him from his own beautiful art. Once I get in a routine, I�m sure we�ll both know when to give and when to get. I just have to work on the �giving� thing a little bit.

We�ve befriended our local Subway manager, as part of our routine seems to be a six-inch a day. I�m discovering more about this little neighborhood of Kensington. For instance, I had no IDEA there was a salon ACROSS THE STREET from us! I�ve been driving all over town for pedicures and girlish upkeep, and then the other day, we walked that way, and what? Tucked behind Kensington Coffee, there it was. I�m going to attempt some beautification this afternoon, while M.s. is meeting with MOPA folks to discuss his impending museum show. I can feel the fresh paint on my toes already! Now where are my sandals�

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Time with Dad & Routine Making 2004-06-09 9:56 a.m. Gee, I keep forgetting what day it is. It�s a good thing I have little calendars all around me (cell phone, palm pilot, laptop, dayplanner), else I would be asking everyone I encounter. There are a LOT of fun things in the lineup for this week! Tomorrow night I�m going to an adult web-conference concert thingy, courtesy Johnny Boy . It promises to be interesting, in the least, and a good time out with friends at the most.

Yesterday I helped my father pick out a NEW pair of glasses! We had to work through the pricing thing � remember, he hasn�t had to buy a pair in a VERY LONG time. I chose stylish half-rims, brownish titanium, simple, elegant. I can�t wait to see him wearing them! We had a great time, picked out the glasses, I read him a draft of my column (good thing I did, I found 3 errors!), hit up the commissary, and then went to eat at the City Wok. While we were on a �new things� roll, I convinced Dad to try edamame (the man does not try anything he hasn�t eaten before, which seriously limits his diet), and he seemed to enjoy it! Chalk one up for the adventurous!

We talked about how wonderful life is. How easy life is supposed to be. How some of us just seem to want to complicate what should be simple. M.s. and I are getting used to this both-working-from-home thing. I think we�re finding our groove. He�s eager to help me succeed (a true sign of a good mate), and I think that distracts him from his own beautiful art. Once I get in a routine, I�m sure we�ll both know when to give and when to get. I just have to work on the �giving� thing a little bit.

We�ve befriended our local Subway manager, as part of our routine seems to be a six-inch a day. I�m discovering more about this little neighborhood of Kensington. For instance, I had no IDEA there was a salon ACROSS THE STREET from us! I�ve been driving all over town for pedicures and girlish upkeep, and then the other day, we walked that way, and what? Tucked behind Kensington Coffee, there it was. I�m going to attempt some beautification this afternoon, while M.s. is meeting with MOPA folks to discuss his impending museum show. I can feel the fresh paint on my toes already! Now where are my sandals�