Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-07-15

Noticed, admonished, and some other news

Today, as I was walking across the street in Hillcrest to dine alone with my laptop, a young woman, heading in the opposite direction on the same cross-walk, shouted, �you are SO WRONG ABOUT KIDS! SO WRONG!� Huh. Interesting, seeing as my column was written not about children, but about how annoying it is for people to assign their values to me and assume they know better than I about the choices I make in my life. The blinking hand indicated I didn�t have enough time to stop and chat with her about the meaning of my words (which would probably take a very long time, seeing as despite my clearly stated stance, she still didn't "get it"), so I just called after her a happy, �THANK YOU!� Her, "You're Welcome," sounded sincere, but I don't trust opinionated randoms.

Thanks for reading, I thought. Thanks for proving me right. I wondered if she was a new mother, insecure about her own decisions, hence threatened by my conviction with mine. Anyway, the way I see it, I was recognized again! Woo hoo!

Check out The NEW SD Reader Web Site !! This week's cover story is on there! I have no idea why my first cover story, my diva columns, and my music articles aren't up there, but all in due time.

Right now, I'm off to happy hour with Todd & Lucy. Wish me a happy margarita!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Noticed, admonished, and some other news 2004-07-15 3:56 p.m. Today, as I was walking across the street in Hillcrest to dine alone with my laptop, a young woman, heading in the opposite direction on the same cross-walk, shouted, �you are SO WRONG ABOUT KIDS! SO WRONG!� Huh. Interesting, seeing as my column was written not about children, but about how annoying it is for people to assign their values to me and assume they know better than I about the choices I make in my life. The blinking hand indicated I didn�t have enough time to stop and chat with her about the meaning of my words (which would probably take a very long time, seeing as despite my clearly stated stance, she still didn't "get it"), so I just called after her a happy, �THANK YOU!� Her, "You're Welcome," sounded sincere, but I don't trust opinionated randoms.

Thanks for reading, I thought. Thanks for proving me right. I wondered if she was a new mother, insecure about her own decisions, hence threatened by my conviction with mine. Anyway, the way I see it, I was recognized again! Woo hoo!

Check out The NEW SD Reader Web Site !! This week's cover story is on there! I have no idea why my first cover story, my diva columns, and my music articles aren't up there, but all in due time.

Right now, I'm off to happy hour with Todd & Lucy. Wish me a happy margarita!