Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-07-19

Weekend with Friends

Mmmm, good weekend. Friday night we attended the gallery opening at Ron's, with the beautiful Stephanie's work on display. Giclee prints of original paintings. Did you know that "Giclee" was the French word dubbed to Iris Printing, that amazing technique that "spurts" color onto canvas? What you might not know, is that "giclee" not only translates to "spurt" in French, but is also common slang for "ejaculation." This is why I love going into fancy, uptight galleries and listen to old ladies and pompous men use the French word. I think, you're being naughty and you don't even know it! On more than one occasion, after listening to esoteric chatting on the subject, I have sidled up to a group and explained the slang interpretation with a smile.

But I digress. After the opening, we popped into Air Conditioned to say hello to friends and then collected our friends from the airport. Saturday, we brunched at the Mission. It's been so long, I had no idea they were no longer calling names of waiting parties in the gallery next door! We waited in the little lobby, escaping from the heat with a cluster of hungry patrons.

That evening, we went to a gallery opening held at someone's house. Very cool, but it is way too early for me to try to describe it. After that, we brought our friends to Antico Tuscano's for a tasty meal.

But there's MORE! After the meal, we spent the rest of the night in the fur pit of AC, joined by Dlove & Ronaldo. Still going...

Sunday morning we dim summed (that's right, baby, I used that shit as a verb) with a crew, and then M.s. and I worked while our friends tooled around Balboa Park. Then we met up at Hamburger Mary's to support Cabana Boy's mission, and also for kick-ass margaritas, frozen raspberry cosmos, and scrumdiddilyumptious burgers. We spent hours there, and then came back to watch Mystery Men on DVD.

Whew! Okay, that's it. Today, I must begin preparations for our jaunt to the party in the East. This means a new outfit, some manicures, pedicures, the works. Plus, I need to finish a few articles I'm working on. But first, let me add that I was recognized several times this weekend while I was out and about. And it feels as good as I thought it would. People are really nice (most of them, I have had some negative responses, but the way I see it, is people are responding!)

It's going to be a busy fucking week. Thursday morning we fly out! AAAAHHHH! I have so much to do!!! Better get to it.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Weekend with Friends 2004-07-19 8:22 a.m. Mmmm, good weekend. Friday night we attended the gallery opening at Ron's, with the beautiful Stephanie's work on display. Giclee prints of original paintings. Did you know that "Giclee" was the French word dubbed to Iris Printing, that amazing technique that "spurts" color onto canvas? What you might not know, is that "giclee" not only translates to "spurt" in French, but is also common slang for "ejaculation." This is why I love going into fancy, uptight galleries and listen to old ladies and pompous men use the French word. I think, you're being naughty and you don't even know it! On more than one occasion, after listening to esoteric chatting on the subject, I have sidled up to a group and explained the slang interpretation with a smile.

But I digress. After the opening, we popped into Air Conditioned to say hello to friends and then collected our friends from the airport. Saturday, we brunched at the Mission. It's been so long, I had no idea they were no longer calling names of waiting parties in the gallery next door! We waited in the little lobby, escaping from the heat with a cluster of hungry patrons.

That evening, we went to a gallery opening held at someone's house. Very cool, but it is way too early for me to try to describe it. After that, we brought our friends to Antico Tuscano's for a tasty meal.

But there's MORE! After the meal, we spent the rest of the night in the fur pit of AC, joined by Dlove & Ronaldo. Still going...

Sunday morning we dim summed (that's right, baby, I used that shit as a verb) with a crew, and then M.s. and I worked while our friends tooled around Balboa Park. Then we met up at Hamburger Mary's to support Cabana Boy's mission, and also for kick-ass margaritas, frozen raspberry cosmos, and scrumdiddilyumptious burgers. We spent hours there, and then came back to watch Mystery Men on DVD.

Whew! Okay, that's it. Today, I must begin preparations for our jaunt to the party in the East. This means a new outfit, some manicures, pedicures, the works. Plus, I need to finish a few articles I'm working on. But first, let me add that I was recognized several times this weekend while I was out and about. And it feels as good as I thought it would. People are really nice (most of them, I have had some negative responses, but the way I see it, is people are responding!)

It's going to be a busy fucking week. Thursday morning we fly out! AAAAHHHH! I have so much to do!!! Better get to it.