Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-08-13

Rainy, Runny Update

Boston makes me sniffly. Okay, maybe it's the adorable itty bitty kitty causing my sinus blockage. Either way, I'm like one walking allergic reaction. Sneezing turned to hiccups, which turned to sniffling, back to sneezing, and the sound I make when I'm trying to internally scratch my itching throat with the stem of my tongue ain't pretty. Otherwise, we're having a fabulous time, as always.

Last night I had the place to myself while everyone went out to see Varekai. I rented Hell Boy, and surrounded myself with an Orson Scott Card novel, my laptop, and some icewater -- despite the rain falling in sheets against the windows and skylights, it was hot as Hell Boy's filed horns in the living room last night. Stifling, humid, looking out at the rain, the last thing I wanted was tea or cocoa. I stuck to the icewater, and frequently pressed the cool glass against my warm face.

When the movie was over, I could have gone up to our room, which is air-conditioned, but the cat was still outside, and I worried that it would appear at the door, begging to be let in, as soon as I left the room. So I stayed, and sure enough, that little black thing showed at the door, mewing pathetically. I let her in, and chuckled to myself as she tried to dry herself off. Who knew that a cat dried off by licking itself? I so rarely see wet cats, I expected her to come in and give her body a shake, like a dog would under these circumstances.

Tonight there are supposed to be thunderstorms. It's been raining off and on, but I haven't seen the lightning or heard the rumbles yet. I'm looking forward to it! We're having people over to play games. They know not how competitive I am. Maybe I should spare the lot and act as some kind of mediator, rather than another player. I'm worse than Grace (of Will & Grace) when it comes to competitive board games. If I don't win, everybody suffers. Am I proud of this? No. But recognizing our flaws is the first step to overcoming them. Do I want to overcome this? No. But the quote is true, regardless.

You know what I'm doing right now? Aside from updating my loved ones with my latest happenings and thoughts? I'm procrastinating. That's right. I need only add one paragraph to this column I'm working on before sending it out. Before having it done, off my plate, onto the next. But I'm not. I'm reading, I'm picking at my nails, I'm staring out the window, I'm typing this. So I'm gonna get to it.

I'm so bad, so very, very bad. Back to work! I hope you're enjoying this week's piece about how I cheated on my hairstylist! Scandalous.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Rainy, Runny Update 2004-08-13 12:23 p.m. Boston makes me sniffly. Okay, maybe it's the adorable itty bitty kitty causing my sinus blockage. Either way, I'm like one walking allergic reaction. Sneezing turned to hiccups, which turned to sniffling, back to sneezing, and the sound I make when I'm trying to internally scratch my itching throat with the stem of my tongue ain't pretty. Otherwise, we're having a fabulous time, as always.

Last night I had the place to myself while everyone went out to see Varekai. I rented Hell Boy, and surrounded myself with an Orson Scott Card novel, my laptop, and some icewater -- despite the rain falling in sheets against the windows and skylights, it was hot as Hell Boy's filed horns in the living room last night. Stifling, humid, looking out at the rain, the last thing I wanted was tea or cocoa. I stuck to the icewater, and frequently pressed the cool glass against my warm face.

When the movie was over, I could have gone up to our room, which is air-conditioned, but the cat was still outside, and I worried that it would appear at the door, begging to be let in, as soon as I left the room. So I stayed, and sure enough, that little black thing showed at the door, mewing pathetically. I let her in, and chuckled to myself as she tried to dry herself off. Who knew that a cat dried off by licking itself? I so rarely see wet cats, I expected her to come in and give her body a shake, like a dog would under these circumstances.

Tonight there are supposed to be thunderstorms. It's been raining off and on, but I haven't seen the lightning or heard the rumbles yet. I'm looking forward to it! We're having people over to play games. They know not how competitive I am. Maybe I should spare the lot and act as some kind of mediator, rather than another player. I'm worse than Grace (of Will & Grace) when it comes to competitive board games. If I don't win, everybody suffers. Am I proud of this? No. But recognizing our flaws is the first step to overcoming them. Do I want to overcome this? No. But the quote is true, regardless.

You know what I'm doing right now? Aside from updating my loved ones with my latest happenings and thoughts? I'm procrastinating. That's right. I need only add one paragraph to this column I'm working on before sending it out. Before having it done, off my plate, onto the next. But I'm not. I'm reading, I'm picking at my nails, I'm staring out the window, I'm typing this. So I'm gonna get to it.

I'm so bad, so very, very bad. Back to work! I hope you're enjoying this week's piece about how I cheated on my hairstylist! Scandalous.