Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2004-10-29

political rant

"It is inaccurate to say I hate everything. I am strongly in favor of common sense, common honesty, and common decency. This makes me forever ineligible for public office." -- H.L. Mencken

If Warren Beatty were running for public office, I would vote for him based solely on the movie he wrote, directed, and starred in, Bulworth. I watched it for a second time last night (the first being years ago), and it's amazing what he says, and how he depicts our government, which I think is obviously frighteningly accurate.

I'm not looking forward to next week, when the nation is divided and modern technology proves again to be second best to human error margins. Already, they're fucking things up in other states. I'll be going to Fizgig's for an election evening party, and I plan on writing about the opinions and reactions of my friends as the count gets closer to completion.

I will be voting, but you know what? I won't be devastated or excited over who wins. Because as far as I'm concerned, they're both politicians, and therefore, they are both liars, both swindlers, and both cheats. I'm looking forward to a president that hasn't had any experience in politics, only in community or social volunteer work. I don't know what the answer is, because our two-party system should keep things in check, but only to the point before both parties sell-out to large corporations.

I honestly don't know enough about how it all works from the inside to be offering suggestions. I do suggest, however, as mentioned by M.s., that everyone read 1984, if not for the first time, then for a refresher. Safety my ass, we need to make sure our rights are protected. I'm going to start by supporting the ACLU.

I don't believe in my leaders. Where's the movie for that? When the kid stops believing in Santa Claus, does he not appear with a lesson? I'm looking for someone in a position of power to do something good, and if it's already happened, I'm looking for someone to bring it to my attention. In the meantime, I'm going to go about my day, have lunch with a good friend, go listen to music tonight, and enjoy my weekend.

Freedom of speech is being censored, rights are being removed in the name of national security, and soldiers are going to miss another holiday. But I'm still proud to be an American, and I don't say that sarcastically. Because I have the luxury to go about my day.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
political rant 2004-10-29 9:37 a.m. "It is inaccurate to say I hate everything. I am strongly in favor of common sense, common honesty, and common decency. This makes me forever ineligible for public office." -- H.L. Mencken

If Warren Beatty were running for public office, I would vote for him based solely on the movie he wrote, directed, and starred in, Bulworth. I watched it for a second time last night (the first being years ago), and it's amazing what he says, and how he depicts our government, which I think is obviously frighteningly accurate.

I'm not looking forward to next week, when the nation is divided and modern technology proves again to be second best to human error margins. Already, they're fucking things up in other states. I'll be going to Fizgig's for an election evening party, and I plan on writing about the opinions and reactions of my friends as the count gets closer to completion.

I will be voting, but you know what? I won't be devastated or excited over who wins. Because as far as I'm concerned, they're both politicians, and therefore, they are both liars, both swindlers, and both cheats. I'm looking forward to a president that hasn't had any experience in politics, only in community or social volunteer work. I don't know what the answer is, because our two-party system should keep things in check, but only to the point before both parties sell-out to large corporations.

I honestly don't know enough about how it all works from the inside to be offering suggestions. I do suggest, however, as mentioned by M.s., that everyone read 1984, if not for the first time, then for a refresher. Safety my ass, we need to make sure our rights are protected. I'm going to start by supporting the ACLU.

I don't believe in my leaders. Where's the movie for that? When the kid stops believing in Santa Claus, does he not appear with a lesson? I'm looking for someone in a position of power to do something good, and if it's already happened, I'm looking for someone to bring it to my attention. In the meantime, I'm going to go about my day, have lunch with a good friend, go listen to music tonight, and enjoy my weekend.

Freedom of speech is being censored, rights are being removed in the name of national security, and soldiers are going to miss another holiday. But I'm still proud to be an American, and I don't say that sarcastically. Because I have the luxury to go about my day. Aunt Diane - 2004-10-30 15:20:30
Here is a future president who meets your standards.... http://www.newyorker.com/fact/content/?040531fa_fact1
-------------------------------
Slutbunny - 2004-10-30 18:01:24
Hmmm, why is the choice for President always either a turd sandwich or douche bag?
-------------------------------