Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-04-05

Appearances & Plans

"I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may -- light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful." -- John Constable

A good quote to bear in mind for those who put much too much stock into how they feel they must look, should look, have to look in order to be worth something in this world. I had a good friend who was obsessed with his appearance, so consumed even he wasn't completely aware of it. I used to wish his face or body would spontaneously disfigure itself, that maybe this would teach him what was truly important -- that it's not your features, your skin, or your hair, but what you can offer those around you that matters.

A reminder from my father this morning, as I hung out with him before taking him to the airport. He was sharing the same kind of story -- someone he knows is too concerned with appearances, and Dad was telling me how sad he thinks life must be for the person as the man's image of what he thinks is "himself" (i.e., his looks) fades with time. What will be left? A shell of a man, I said. My father agreed, with pity.

He's been traveling a lot lately. As a matter of fact, we'll both be frequenting the airport in the coming months (though I doubt I'll go as far as Korea any time soon).

Tomorrow, after my piano lesson, I'm having lunch with Lucy! And I'm looking forward to catching up with her. The rest of my week and weekend is packed with work (research and writing). I need to get ahead before heading out of town in a few weeks. I'm creating a tight itinerary for New York. There are lots of people to see and things to do.

As I finger through the calendar on my Treo, I take a moment to thank the stars above (or the clever stroke of fate) that I am able to have so much fucking fun with my life right now. And now, to turn to my love, an insanely gorgeous man -- and I'd think so even if he were to sprout an elephant's trunk from his chin tomorrow -- it would only add to his adorable charisma, and more importantly, he would not allow such a trifling thing as a random mutation to effect his self-esteem and good nature.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Appearances & Plans 2005-04-05 10:25 p.m. "I never saw an ugly thing in my life: for let the form of an object be what it may -- light, shade, and perspective will always make it beautiful." -- John Constable

A good quote to bear in mind for those who put much too much stock into how they feel they must look, should look, have to look in order to be worth something in this world. I had a good friend who was obsessed with his appearance, so consumed even he wasn't completely aware of it. I used to wish his face or body would spontaneously disfigure itself, that maybe this would teach him what was truly important -- that it's not your features, your skin, or your hair, but what you can offer those around you that matters.

A reminder from my father this morning, as I hung out with him before taking him to the airport. He was sharing the same kind of story -- someone he knows is too concerned with appearances, and Dad was telling me how sad he thinks life must be for the person as the man's image of what he thinks is "himself" (i.e., his looks) fades with time. What will be left? A shell of a man, I said. My father agreed, with pity.

He's been traveling a lot lately. As a matter of fact, we'll both be frequenting the airport in the coming months (though I doubt I'll go as far as Korea any time soon).

Tomorrow, after my piano lesson, I'm having lunch with Lucy! And I'm looking forward to catching up with her. The rest of my week and weekend is packed with work (research and writing). I need to get ahead before heading out of town in a few weeks. I'm creating a tight itinerary for New York. There are lots of people to see and things to do.

As I finger through the calendar on my Treo, I take a moment to thank the stars above (or the clever stroke of fate) that I am able to have so much fucking fun with my life right now. And now, to turn to my love, an insanely gorgeous man -- and I'd think so even if he were to sprout an elephant's trunk from his chin tomorrow -- it would only add to his adorable charisma, and more importantly, he would not allow such a trifling thing as a random mutation to effect his self-esteem and good nature.