Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-06-03

Loyalty and Manhouses

"It's impossible to be loyal to your family, your friends, your country, and your principles, all at the same time. -- Mignon McLaughlin

I struggle with this idea on ocassion, especially when I realize that though certain subjects might make a great column, they might offend someone I care about. And vice versa, choosing not to write about an event or person, can equally offend, at least in the case of my mother.

This is when hindsight teaches me that I should have used a fake name, changed the names in print, and that way I could write about whomever and whatever I choose. But even that would catch up with me, because the only people I wouldn't want to offend would be the same few people who would know, because they are close to me, about the fake name. That leaves fiction.

Speaking of fiction, I haven't spoken with my uncle all week. I'll have to call him when I get back from my interview this morning. We've things to discuss! Work to get done! Milestones to reach!

On a note not related to work, unless I choose to write about it in the paper, which I might, M.s. and I had a great time last night with the boys at the Ken House. A lightbulb just went on in my head, names of houses I've hung out at all over southern california, each of them containing a group of guys. I see a pattern here. I'm going to ruminate on this for a while as I ready myself for my meeting this morning.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Loyalty and Manhouses 2005-06-03 8:40 a.m. "It's impossible to be loyal to your family, your friends, your country, and your principles, all at the same time. -- Mignon McLaughlin

I struggle with this idea on ocassion, especially when I realize that though certain subjects might make a great column, they might offend someone I care about. And vice versa, choosing not to write about an event or person, can equally offend, at least in the case of my mother.

This is when hindsight teaches me that I should have used a fake name, changed the names in print, and that way I could write about whomever and whatever I choose. But even that would catch up with me, because the only people I wouldn't want to offend would be the same few people who would know, because they are close to me, about the fake name. That leaves fiction.

Speaking of fiction, I haven't spoken with my uncle all week. I'll have to call him when I get back from my interview this morning. We've things to discuss! Work to get done! Milestones to reach!

On a note not related to work, unless I choose to write about it in the paper, which I might, M.s. and I had a great time last night with the boys at the Ken House. A lightbulb just went on in my head, names of houses I've hung out at all over southern california, each of them containing a group of guys. I see a pattern here. I'm going to ruminate on this for a while as I ready myself for my meeting this morning.