Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-07-20

Boxes of What?

True religion is the life we lead, not the creed we profess. -- Louis Nizer

It's starting to look like we're moving around here. Downstairs, boxes are lined up by the windows, proof of our packing productivity yesterday. Now most of my office is in those boxes, taped in and stacked up, including the wire that connects my Elph to my iBook. Which means I can't post any of these pics from my camera until I unpack and settle in to my new home. C'est la vie.

But to see things clear out is very exciting, and for the first time, the concept that we will no longer be living here, but in our new home, is tangible and real. We have offloaded a portion of the furniture to friends, and today I'll be taking stock of the garage (eeeek!) to decide which pieces we will keep from there, and make a game-plan for getting rid of all the rest.

I can't wait for the fun part -- getting new furniture together! M.s. and I promised each other we could each take a chair -- his was made in the 60s, a sleek modern wing-back chair, and mine is more rococo, dark wood and velvet brocade. Hey, it's all about compromise.

Now I'm just waiting for this insurance guy to call me so I can discuss policies. Homeowner's insurance? Insurance for our fine art collection? And of course, that bondage gear "collection" -- leather ain't cheap, my friends. I feel like a grown-up. I think I'll just call it all "personal articles" fo' the man. Because gee, I'd hate to make him blush by listing, exactly, the contents of ten of those boxes sitting downstairs.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Boxes of What? 2005-07-20 8:35 a.m. True religion is the life we lead, not the creed we profess. -- Louis Nizer

It's starting to look like we're moving around here. Downstairs, boxes are lined up by the windows, proof of our packing productivity yesterday. Now most of my office is in those boxes, taped in and stacked up, including the wire that connects my Elph to my iBook. Which means I can't post any of these pics from my camera until I unpack and settle in to my new home. C'est la vie.

But to see things clear out is very exciting, and for the first time, the concept that we will no longer be living here, but in our new home, is tangible and real. We have offloaded a portion of the furniture to friends, and today I'll be taking stock of the garage (eeeek!) to decide which pieces we will keep from there, and make a game-plan for getting rid of all the rest.

I can't wait for the fun part -- getting new furniture together! M.s. and I promised each other we could each take a chair -- his was made in the 60s, a sleek modern wing-back chair, and mine is more rococo, dark wood and velvet brocade. Hey, it's all about compromise.

Now I'm just waiting for this insurance guy to call me so I can discuss policies. Homeowner's insurance? Insurance for our fine art collection? And of course, that bondage gear "collection" -- leather ain't cheap, my friends. I feel like a grown-up. I think I'll just call it all "personal articles" fo' the man. Because gee, I'd hate to make him blush by listing, exactly, the contents of ten of those boxes sitting downstairs.