Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-07-31

Party Like an Egyptian

An interaction at the end of the night made it clear that our new home is the new epicenter of gay social life.

When we returned from dinner last night (we do not move in until Wednesday, but had a gathering to show off the space), there were two women and a young man punching buttons like crazy on the keypad. I lifted my FOB and waved it over the square on the side of the door, which opened the entrance for me.

"Can I help you?" I asked them. Jose, the security guard, was standing between me and the trio. The young man said, "we're here for the penthouse party", and gave OUR unit number. I said, "That's our unit, but that party ended hours ago and we haven't even moved in yet. Who are you? Who told you to come?"

Two names were given, two names I do not know, and I am fucking great at remembering names. Looking disappointed that they missed the "party", they invited us to the Flame, perhaps hoping to be invited back for the after party, but I told them we had to get going.

Then, while in the hallway, we were invited by two of our new neighbors into their hopping ground-floor party, a space with 14-foot ceilings that has already been decorated, though they only moved in a week ago. This party was one of many going on, and though it was Pride, I don't think this will be an anomoly.

When strangers off the street are told by strangers about a happenin' party in the Egyptian penthouse, people start lining up as if it were the hippest rooftop bar in New York or L.A. Which, by the way, is how we plan to decorate our terrace.

It's definitely something we're going to have to get used to, moving from quiet Kensington and all. I'll just have to be more careful when I'm spreading the word about our next party. Or, I could always send out golden tickets.

Of course this has nothing to do with us, these people don't even know us -- just imagine if they knew we like to be in bed by 10! It's all about the building and the hype surrounding it, and the many other fabulous partiees that people are throwing behind the lobby doors. Next time, I'll just direct the randoms to a party where they won't be disappointed.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Party Like an Egyptian 2005-07-31 9:38 a.m. An interaction at the end of the night made it clear that our new home is the new epicenter of gay social life.

When we returned from dinner last night (we do not move in until Wednesday, but had a gathering to show off the space), there were two women and a young man punching buttons like crazy on the keypad. I lifted my FOB and waved it over the square on the side of the door, which opened the entrance for me.

"Can I help you?" I asked them. Jose, the security guard, was standing between me and the trio. The young man said, "we're here for the penthouse party", and gave OUR unit number. I said, "That's our unit, but that party ended hours ago and we haven't even moved in yet. Who are you? Who told you to come?"

Two names were given, two names I do not know, and I am fucking great at remembering names. Looking disappointed that they missed the "party", they invited us to the Flame, perhaps hoping to be invited back for the after party, but I told them we had to get going.

Then, while in the hallway, we were invited by two of our new neighbors into their hopping ground-floor party, a space with 14-foot ceilings that has already been decorated, though they only moved in a week ago. This party was one of many going on, and though it was Pride, I don't think this will be an anomoly.

When strangers off the street are told by strangers about a happenin' party in the Egyptian penthouse, people start lining up as if it were the hippest rooftop bar in New York or L.A. Which, by the way, is how we plan to decorate our terrace.

It's definitely something we're going to have to get used to, moving from quiet Kensington and all. I'll just have to be more careful when I'm spreading the word about our next party. Or, I could always send out golden tickets.

Of course this has nothing to do with us, these people don't even know us -- just imagine if they knew we like to be in bed by 10! It's all about the building and the hype surrounding it, and the many other fabulous partiees that people are throwing behind the lobby doors. Next time, I'll just direct the randoms to a party where they won't be disappointed.