Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-08-30

Codependence

I've been busy and preoccuppied with a lot of shit. The unfortunate thing is, it's a lot of shit I can't really talk about, at least not now. The loss of a loved one, betrayal and broken trusts, and research for upcoming stories.

But hey, I have a new desk! And it's perfect in every way. I have a good book to read, I have things to do, I have a lover who wakes me with a kiss, and I have my health. Things aren't all that bad. They're just annoying. Frustrating, to be more accurate. Some things are frustrating.

You can't control people, you know. You can't will them to do what you think is best for them. All you can do is step back and let them make their own decisions, even if those decisions are detrimental. If you can't bear to watch them fumble and trip, then don't. Turn the other way. But it's not that easy to turn the other way when you care this much. When you'd rather cut yourself than watch someone you love suffer the pain.

But one day, they will have to learn to carry their own burdens. And if you have been carrying for them, their arms are weak and unprepared, they will be crushed beneath the weight. If you have never allowed them to be cut, their skin is soft and fragile, and the smallest cut, which on your calloused, rough, and experienced hands would be minor, could, on the soft and fragile hand, cripple someone for years to come.

The mother bird that does not allow her chick to risk a fall will, in the end, only produce a bird that cannot fly.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Codependence 2005-08-30 8:29 a.m. I've been busy and preoccuppied with a lot of shit. The unfortunate thing is, it's a lot of shit I can't really talk about, at least not now. The loss of a loved one, betrayal and broken trusts, and research for upcoming stories.

But hey, I have a new desk! And it's perfect in every way. I have a good book to read, I have things to do, I have a lover who wakes me with a kiss, and I have my health. Things aren't all that bad. They're just annoying. Frustrating, to be more accurate. Some things are frustrating.

You can't control people, you know. You can't will them to do what you think is best for them. All you can do is step back and let them make their own decisions, even if those decisions are detrimental. If you can't bear to watch them fumble and trip, then don't. Turn the other way. But it's not that easy to turn the other way when you care this much. When you'd rather cut yourself than watch someone you love suffer the pain.

But one day, they will have to learn to carry their own burdens. And if you have been carrying for them, their arms are weak and unprepared, they will be crushed beneath the weight. If you have never allowed them to be cut, their skin is soft and fragile, and the smallest cut, which on your calloused, rough, and experienced hands would be minor, could, on the soft and fragile hand, cripple someone for years to come.

The mother bird that does not allow her chick to risk a fall will, in the end, only produce a bird that cannot fly.

Lucy - 2005-09-01 17:42:25
Sigh....It's so true, mama bird, so true. All we can do sometimes is hold our breath, close our eyes, and hope for the best result when we finally look to where they've landed.
-------------------------------