Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-09-20

Lightning Display!

"The greatest compliment that was ever paid me was when one asked me what I thought, and attended to my answer." -- Henry David Thoreau


WOWSER! Did anyone else see the AWESOME lightning storm last night? I noticed the intermittent streaks on the horizon before going to bed, but then we were woken by thunder in the middle of the night. The entire sky kept lighting up with HUGE, CLEAR bolts! M.s. ran to fetch his view camera and set it up on the terrace to try to catch some of the beauty.

It was all over the place! South, west, and north, everywhere I looked I saw lightning bolts, soon followed by the loud claps of thunder. Eventually, I crawled back into bed, the bright light still flashing through my closed eyelids, the thunder becoming a rhythmic noise by which I was lulled back to sleep. We never get weather like that in San Diego. I loved it!

Book update -- Middlesex ranged from a scale of very disappointing to mildly disappointing in my group. Amy liked it best of all, and for good reason -- it was well written. Lizzie liked it least of all, also for good reason -- it kind of dragged on, and there were very few lovable characters.

I'm excited about our next two reads: Four Souls by Louise Erdrich and Little Children by Tom Perrotta (the guy who wrote Election). Read along if you like!

My weekend was busy, filled with family and friends. The Irish wake was lovely. Sad. Uplifting. The book club meeting was wonderful. And last night, I was elected president of my homeowner's association.

I'm feeling strong, both physically and mentally. I'm feeling grateful, for all that I have, all whom I meet, and all that is yet to come. I'm feeling the wind on my face as I fly through life, laughing and loving as much as I possibly can. I'm feeling loved. And that, I'm sure, is the feeling responsible for all of the above.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Lightning Display! 2005-09-20 6:52 a.m. "The greatest compliment that was ever paid me was when one asked me what I thought, and attended to my answer." -- Henry David Thoreau


WOWSER! Did anyone else see the AWESOME lightning storm last night? I noticed the intermittent streaks on the horizon before going to bed, but then we were woken by thunder in the middle of the night. The entire sky kept lighting up with HUGE, CLEAR bolts! M.s. ran to fetch his view camera and set it up on the terrace to try to catch some of the beauty.

It was all over the place! South, west, and north, everywhere I looked I saw lightning bolts, soon followed by the loud claps of thunder. Eventually, I crawled back into bed, the bright light still flashing through my closed eyelids, the thunder becoming a rhythmic noise by which I was lulled back to sleep. We never get weather like that in San Diego. I loved it!

Book update -- Middlesex ranged from a scale of very disappointing to mildly disappointing in my group. Amy liked it best of all, and for good reason -- it was well written. Lizzie liked it least of all, also for good reason -- it kind of dragged on, and there were very few lovable characters.

I'm excited about our next two reads: Four Souls by Louise Erdrich and Little Children by Tom Perrotta (the guy who wrote Election). Read along if you like!

My weekend was busy, filled with family and friends. The Irish wake was lovely. Sad. Uplifting. The book club meeting was wonderful. And last night, I was elected president of my homeowner's association.

I'm feeling strong, both physically and mentally. I'm feeling grateful, for all that I have, all whom I meet, and all that is yet to come. I'm feeling the wind on my face as I fly through life, laughing and loving as much as I possibly can. I'm feeling loved. And that, I'm sure, is the feeling responsible for all of the above. Jason - 2005-09-20 12:38:08
Amazing views of the lightning at ~1:30 this morning from OB (up the hill).
-------------------------------
Barbarella - 2005-09-20 13:37:00
If I close my eyes, I can still see it. So cool. If David got a good shot, I'll call you over for a view of the negative!
-------------------------------
Amy K - 2005-09-20 18:48:08
Whoo-hoo! Congratulations on a successful campaign Ms. President!
-------------------------------