Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-10-11

Busy = Good

"Lower your voice and strengthen your argument." -- Lebanese proverb

Mmm, Tuesday! My first meeting as HOA president went pretty well, though I was disappointed to see such a weak turnout of homeowners. My thoughts? You don't show, you can't complain. Cabana Boy ROCKS for allowing us to use his awesome space, and for showing up early to let us in.

Lots to do, lots to do. This weekend was fun! Two parties, lots of laughs, tons of inspiration. Thanks to Ollie and Kip for making fun of me, it helped me come up with the idea for the column I wrote on Sunday. Friends are handy like that.

Tomorrow night I have special plans with M.s.! I'm not sure what we're doing, it's a surprise, part of my birthday present. Whatever it is, I'll be with him, and therefore it will be fabulous. Last night we spent some time relaxing and talking (after Amy and I WHIPPED M.s.'s and Nathan's ass in a game of Scrabble... whipped).

It's a busy week. But I feel great. On top of my game, as they say. Stronger than I've ever felt before, physically, mentally, emotionally, all of it. Totally in control and completely capable. Just where a neurotic/control freak/Virgo like me likes to be.

Now I must go on a tour with the building engineer and then come back and write this article for the calendar event of the week before I meet up with an old friend for tea this evening. Like I said -- busy.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Busy = Good 2005-10-11 10:21 a.m. "Lower your voice and strengthen your argument." -- Lebanese proverb

Mmm, Tuesday! My first meeting as HOA president went pretty well, though I was disappointed to see such a weak turnout of homeowners. My thoughts? You don't show, you can't complain. Cabana Boy ROCKS for allowing us to use his awesome space, and for showing up early to let us in.

Lots to do, lots to do. This weekend was fun! Two parties, lots of laughs, tons of inspiration. Thanks to Ollie and Kip for making fun of me, it helped me come up with the idea for the column I wrote on Sunday. Friends are handy like that.

Tomorrow night I have special plans with M.s.! I'm not sure what we're doing, it's a surprise, part of my birthday present. Whatever it is, I'll be with him, and therefore it will be fabulous. Last night we spent some time relaxing and talking (after Amy and I WHIPPED M.s.'s and Nathan's ass in a game of Scrabble... whipped).

It's a busy week. But I feel great. On top of my game, as they say. Stronger than I've ever felt before, physically, mentally, emotionally, all of it. Totally in control and completely capable. Just where a neurotic/control freak/Virgo like me likes to be.

Now I must go on a tour with the building engineer and then come back and write this article for the calendar event of the week before I meet up with an old friend for tea this evening. Like I said -- busy. Egyptian Res - 2005-10-12 02:25:30
If the meetings are scheduled after traditional work hours (maybe 6pm), I bet there would be a better showing... A lot of cars are missing from the garage by 8am--I imagine they are in the same boat I am. I know I would have been there if I could have. But I'm sure you are doing a great job on our behalf nonetheless--thanks for taking the job!
-------------------------------
Barbarella - 2005-10-12 09:33:07
I see what you mean. I suggested a weekend meeting, but was outvoted. At the next meeting, November 11, I will push for a time change. If the majority of my fellow Egyptianites are unable to adjust their schedules for meetings, the schedule will adjust for them. The problem is, there weren't enough people at THIS meeting to make it known to the entire board that changing the time is a serious wish of homeowners. At the next one, if enough people are present and make themselves heard, we might have more of a say as to the following meeting time. I had to reschedule an appointment to be there on a Tuesday, just as I have to reschedule another morning meeting to make myself available for our next meeting on a Friday. Wednesdays are really the only days that I have off, but luckily, I am able to juggle my schedule more easily than others. Still, in every office job I have ever worked, from law firm to headhunter, an occasional appointment in the morning was not difficult to arrange. If it is, then I ask that you arrange ONE such appointment, show up at the meeting, and voice your concerns so everyone can hear. If your job is such that this is still impossible, put it in writing for us and it HAS to be addressed. I want every Egyptianite to be happy, content, and most importantly, heard. Help me help you. Thank you!!!
-------------------------------