Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-03-17

Green, Plans, Friends, and Kids

Today we honor the color green. I am sad for my Irish father, who for the third year (is it three years or four years now, Daddy?) is spending his peoples' holiday in Korea, a land that has no shamrocks, no leprechauns, and certainly, no green beer. Dad made several attempts to celebrate the holiday before he left, but alas, all were foiled. The Blarney Stone was randomly closed when he tried to go because the mall was being renovated. The St. Patrick's Day Parade scheduled for last Saturday was rained out. And so on.

Though I will be avoiding all the holiday partiers (akin to Sunday drivers) out tonight, I will be thinking green and will also do my best to speak with a bad Irish accent and demand that people kiss me because I am, in fact, half Irish.

Tomorrow night, there is a lot going on! Berkley Hart has been working hard on a new CD and they are going to perform songs from this CD at their CD Release Show/Party tomorrow night. The info is as follows:

CD Release Show for "Pocket Change"
Saturday, March 18, 2006
8 pm, doors at 7:30 pm
Seaside Church
Encinitas, California
$15 advance tickets available at www.berkleyhart.com
$20 tickets available at the door on show night

At least two of the Johnson girls will be there, we're still trying to figure out which ones. Because it turns out that two of my editors will be performing at the Alibi as part of the band, The Johnson Account. But that's later. Is it possible to think I can make both? We'll see how shit falls into place.

Fizgig and Nina are in town! I saw them briefly last night, but we get them all to ourselves (me and the man) on Tuesday night at our place. I'm really looking forward to hanging out with them and a shout out to Grace who convinced them to extend their visit. Hoo yah.

Ah, and another thing, while I'm here -- Bella was a doll. She's a little out there, but not even 3 yet and saying, Thank you, and Oh, I'm sorry, when she accidentally brushed my leg as she passed by on important matters, like eating chips off the floor in the manner of a dog or looking for available wall space on which to color with the new pencil she found in the driveway.

Don't get me wrong. This doesn't mean I like hanging out with kids, because I don't. But I do like spending time with my niece. As my mother says, "Blood is thicker than water." Therefore, though I hope the best for every child, it is only these little freaks that have sprung from my sisters' loins whose presence I will tolerate for an extended period of time.

On a side note, I was lovingly referring to Bella as "My Little Freak" when I was over there yesterday and at one point, she repeated me -- "Freak." If she says it in front of Mommy and Daddy, let's pretend she learned it from Grandpere.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Green, Plans, Friends, and Kids 2006-03-17 6:33 a.m. Today we honor the color green. I am sad for my Irish father, who for the third year (is it three years or four years now, Daddy?) is spending his peoples' holiday in Korea, a land that has no shamrocks, no leprechauns, and certainly, no green beer. Dad made several attempts to celebrate the holiday before he left, but alas, all were foiled. The Blarney Stone was randomly closed when he tried to go because the mall was being renovated. The St. Patrick's Day Parade scheduled for last Saturday was rained out. And so on.

Though I will be avoiding all the holiday partiers (akin to Sunday drivers) out tonight, I will be thinking green and will also do my best to speak with a bad Irish accent and demand that people kiss me because I am, in fact, half Irish.

Tomorrow night, there is a lot going on! Berkley Hart has been working hard on a new CD and they are going to perform songs from this CD at their CD Release Show/Party tomorrow night. The info is as follows:

CD Release Show for "Pocket Change"
Saturday, March 18, 2006
8 pm, doors at 7:30 pm
Seaside Church
Encinitas, California
$15 advance tickets available at www.berkleyhart.com
$20 tickets available at the door on show night

At least two of the Johnson girls will be there, we're still trying to figure out which ones. Because it turns out that two of my editors will be performing at the Alibi as part of the band, The Johnson Account. But that's later. Is it possible to think I can make both? We'll see how shit falls into place.

Fizgig and Nina are in town! I saw them briefly last night, but we get them all to ourselves (me and the man) on Tuesday night at our place. I'm really looking forward to hanging out with them and a shout out to Grace who convinced them to extend their visit. Hoo yah.

Ah, and another thing, while I'm here -- Bella was a doll. She's a little out there, but not even 3 yet and saying, Thank you, and Oh, I'm sorry, when she accidentally brushed my leg as she passed by on important matters, like eating chips off the floor in the manner of a dog or looking for available wall space on which to color with the new pencil she found in the driveway.

Don't get me wrong. This doesn't mean I like hanging out with kids, because I don't. But I do like spending time with my niece. As my mother says, "Blood is thicker than water." Therefore, though I hope the best for every child, it is only these little freaks that have sprung from my sisters' loins whose presence I will tolerate for an extended period of time.

On a side note, I was lovingly referring to Bella as "My Little Freak" when I was over there yesterday and at one point, she repeated me -- "Freak." If she says it in front of Mommy and Daddy, let's pretend she learned it from Grandpere.