Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-04-11

Fuckin' People

You'd think I'd be used to it by now, how fucking DUMB people can be. How oblivious, how shallow, how hollow. But no, it continues to amaze me. I am amazed. I am baffled. I am, more than ever, confident in my decision to move on and eliminate such people from my life.

We have the luxury, the leisure, to fuck ourselves up mentally and emotionally. As M.s. just said, when people were too busy toiling away on farms to put food on their tables, they didn't have the time to bitch and moan about "unresolved issues." Sometimes, we take ourselves too seriously, we allow the expectations of others and our own need for approval to drive us. Fuck approval.

Fuck the hundreds of new "disorders", like OCD (of which I supposedly have a mild case), ADD (which I believe is a symptom of the times, not a mis-wiring of the mind), Bipolar (read: moody, and again, I've been told I'm manic-depressive, but somehow, I manage), and so many others. AHEM, I just saw THIS story after posting, so I'm adding it now to help illustrate my point.

Jesus, people. JESUS! We spend too much time trying to find a name and a reason for every little fucking aspect of human behavior, as if by naming it, we give ourselves an excuse to continue being shits. "I can't help it, I have such-and-such." You poor thing. I had no idea. I guess that makes it okay that you just freaked out on me.

Wait, no it doesn't. And that's my point.

Life is hard if YOU make it hard. I know people, wonderful people, with serious life-threatening illnesses who don't have half as many "issues" as most of the healthy and well-off people I know. It's called perspective. I work hard to maintain it, with the help of those people I mentioned. People with REAL problems.

Whew! I went from tears to vitriol in two days. I promise, I'll have some brighter things to say soon. After all, it's a beautiful day, my cousins from New York will be here before the end of the week, and I have my health. Sure, I could find some things that could be better in my life, but as Dad says, "Those things on which you choose to focus your attention are what will increase in your life."

So I say to myself, "Don't be stupid, Barb. Focus on the positive." And I'll do my best to obey.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Fuckin' People 2006-04-11 10:11 a.m. You'd think I'd be used to it by now, how fucking DUMB people can be. How oblivious, how shallow, how hollow. But no, it continues to amaze me. I am amazed. I am baffled. I am, more than ever, confident in my decision to move on and eliminate such people from my life.

We have the luxury, the leisure, to fuck ourselves up mentally and emotionally. As M.s. just said, when people were too busy toiling away on farms to put food on their tables, they didn't have the time to bitch and moan about "unresolved issues." Sometimes, we take ourselves too seriously, we allow the expectations of others and our own need for approval to drive us. Fuck approval.

Fuck the hundreds of new "disorders", like OCD (of which I supposedly have a mild case), ADD (which I believe is a symptom of the times, not a mis-wiring of the mind), Bipolar (read: moody, and again, I've been told I'm manic-depressive, but somehow, I manage), and so many others. AHEM, I just saw THIS story after posting, so I'm adding it now to help illustrate my point.

Jesus, people. JESUS! We spend too much time trying to find a name and a reason for every little fucking aspect of human behavior, as if by naming it, we give ourselves an excuse to continue being shits. "I can't help it, I have such-and-such." You poor thing. I had no idea. I guess that makes it okay that you just freaked out on me.

Wait, no it doesn't. And that's my point.

Life is hard if YOU make it hard. I know people, wonderful people, with serious life-threatening illnesses who don't have half as many "issues" as most of the healthy and well-off people I know. It's called perspective. I work hard to maintain it, with the help of those people I mentioned. People with REAL problems.

Whew! I went from tears to vitriol in two days. I promise, I'll have some brighter things to say soon. After all, it's a beautiful day, my cousins from New York will be here before the end of the week, and I have my health. Sure, I could find some things that could be better in my life, but as Dad says, "Those things on which you choose to focus your attention are what will increase in your life."

So I say to myself, "Don't be stupid, Barb. Focus on the positive." And I'll do my best to obey.