Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-06-11

Everything and Nothing... and Stress

I'm trying not to freak out. I keep telling myself, Take a deep breath, Barb, you'll get everything finished in time, you'll be ready to leave Tuesday morning at the butt-crack of dawn, I promise!

But I'm not believing myself. How is it possible to get everything done today and tomorrow when I have done almost NOTHING so far?

At least last night was a pleasant distraction from my worries. We had a few friends over, treated them to a smorgasbord of wine, cheese, fruit, and other accoutrements, liked chocolate and candied nuts. Needless to write (though watch me do it anyway), I had a tummy ache when all was said and done. Funny how you can train your body with good health to react poorly to sugars and fats. Mine no likey the sugar no more. Which is breaking my heart, because my mind and tongue still enjoy it immensely, but the rest of my body wins in the end, every time. I actually get sugar hangovers now, as my body fights to expunge it. Wacky.

This morning! Oh, and yes, I need to take pictures of my hair, I'm kind of a redhead now, a variegated rose, if you will, with dark violets, some old brown, copper, and red. Surprisingly, it's pretty toned down, much more than I had anticipated, but I like it fine. But I digress...

Soon I will leave to pick up my sister Jane and whisk her off to Estancia, where we will have breakfast at the Adobe restaurant for which our brother-in-law is the executive chef and then stroll over to the spa for some pampering. No, this is not helping me get any of that shit done that I need to get done, but this was my present to Jane for her birthday, which was in MARCH, and she deserves to cash in. She's going to some other country in the Caribbean and I'm going, well, you know, so we thought it was the perfect time for some beautification prepping.

When I get home, it's work time. And more freak out time. Two columns in two days, packing, planning, setting up online accounts so I don't miss any bill payments, and fuck, you know, I have ONE MORE Valium left... I might just need to take it. First, I'll see if hanging out with my psycho sister can alleviate some of my stress. Laughter, you know, is stress's cryptonite.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Everything and Nothing... and Stress 2006-06-11 7:06 a.m. I'm trying not to freak out. I keep telling myself, Take a deep breath, Barb, you'll get everything finished in time, you'll be ready to leave Tuesday morning at the butt-crack of dawn, I promise!

But I'm not believing myself. How is it possible to get everything done today and tomorrow when I have done almost NOTHING so far?

At least last night was a pleasant distraction from my worries. We had a few friends over, treated them to a smorgasbord of wine, cheese, fruit, and other accoutrements, liked chocolate and candied nuts. Needless to write (though watch me do it anyway), I had a tummy ache when all was said and done. Funny how you can train your body with good health to react poorly to sugars and fats. Mine no likey the sugar no more. Which is breaking my heart, because my mind and tongue still enjoy it immensely, but the rest of my body wins in the end, every time. I actually get sugar hangovers now, as my body fights to expunge it. Wacky.

This morning! Oh, and yes, I need to take pictures of my hair, I'm kind of a redhead now, a variegated rose, if you will, with dark violets, some old brown, copper, and red. Surprisingly, it's pretty toned down, much more than I had anticipated, but I like it fine. But I digress...

Soon I will leave to pick up my sister Jane and whisk her off to Estancia, where we will have breakfast at the Adobe restaurant for which our brother-in-law is the executive chef and then stroll over to the spa for some pampering. No, this is not helping me get any of that shit done that I need to get done, but this was my present to Jane for her birthday, which was in MARCH, and she deserves to cash in. She's going to some other country in the Caribbean and I'm going, well, you know, so we thought it was the perfect time for some beautification prepping.

When I get home, it's work time. And more freak out time. Two columns in two days, packing, planning, setting up online accounts so I don't miss any bill payments, and fuck, you know, I have ONE MORE Valium left... I might just need to take it. First, I'll see if hanging out with my psycho sister can alleviate some of my stress. Laughter, you know, is stress's cryptonite.