Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-08-25

Letter and Links!

"We find comfort among those who agree with us, growth among those who don't." -- Frank A. Clark

Thank you, Glen, for your well-written letter to the editor this week. I both appreciate the positive feedback and the fact that somebody, meaning you, "gets it." So the rest of you don't have to click and scroll, here's what Glen had to say:

I am writing in response to Dave's letter, published in this week's Reader (August 17), regarding Barbarella's column titled "One Life to Lead" ("Diary of a Diva," August 3).

I fear that Dave has exactly missed the point of Barbarella's insightful article. In his letter he thinks Barbarella is "ridiculous," and quite probably selfish or even mean, for not wanting to sign a get-well card for a coworker she detests. Dave goes on to suggest how much such a card might be appreciated when one is sick and lonely in the hospital. If I were in the hospital, the last thing I would want to receive would be the hollow, insincere "well wishes" of a coworker who clearly dislikes me. I am not so desperate for "friends" that I will gladly embrace and cherish such fake sentimentality. If I want that, I can pay someone to send me get-well cards. On the contrary, rather than making me feel better, it casts suspicion upon the other office get-well-card signatories. Are they being insincere too? How do I know which ones are genuine and heartfelt and which ones are just mocking me?

It is clear to me that Dave is trapped -- living a life shrouded in obligation. Is it really nicer when someone smiles and pretends to be your friend to your face while hurling invective and vitriol about you behind your back? Is this world really a better place when everyone is ever fearful of being the victim of a guilt-based obligation to attend an event which they would rather not? Would it not be better, and oh so much easier, if everyone could just act and feel as they really do, say what they really mean (assuming one does so in a well-mannered way, of course), choosing, without guilt, to whom one would like to extend an invitation and to be at liberty to politely decline invitations without the fear that one is walking into an emotional minefield?

With her "One Life to Lead" essay, Barbarella has once again bravely articulated, in a thoughtful, nonhysterical way, what so many of us only dare to think. Her courage continues to inspire me to be a better person. Brava, Barbarella!
Glen Daniels
via e-mail

I'm kinda bitchy this week in My COLUMN, but they can't all be thoughtful. Next week's is about the whole drama with my shoulder and my first ever visit to a chiropractor who "may or may not" have tried to kill me. Hee hee.

So tonight! One show, three amazing artists, three genres of medium. With my love, who has 7 pieces of his own work hanging in the space, I will celebrate the opening of a little show at WOOD FX, along with Joey (the artist and impeccable crafstman who designs and creates wooden sculptures and furniture, and Kouta (the Japanese master ceramicist). I'm looking forward to an evening of art, great conversation, and simply being oot and aboot.

The week has been good to me, lost a couple of more pounds, but I'm only marking the big ones (like every 10). I am now a red-head. Very red. Maybe I'll take some pictures tonight so you can see what I mean.

On to the weekend! Enjoy yours. I know I'll be enjoying mine.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Letter and Links! 2006-08-25 6:49 a.m. "We find comfort among those who agree with us, growth among those who don't." -- Frank A. Clark

Thank you, Glen, for your well-written letter to the editor this week. I both appreciate the positive feedback and the fact that somebody, meaning you, "gets it." So the rest of you don't have to click and scroll, here's what Glen had to say:

I am writing in response to Dave's letter, published in this week's Reader (August 17), regarding Barbarella's column titled "One Life to Lead" ("Diary of a Diva," August 3).

I fear that Dave has exactly missed the point of Barbarella's insightful article. In his letter he thinks Barbarella is "ridiculous," and quite probably selfish or even mean, for not wanting to sign a get-well card for a coworker she detests. Dave goes on to suggest how much such a card might be appreciated when one is sick and lonely in the hospital. If I were in the hospital, the last thing I would want to receive would be the hollow, insincere "well wishes" of a coworker who clearly dislikes me. I am not so desperate for "friends" that I will gladly embrace and cherish such fake sentimentality. If I want that, I can pay someone to send me get-well cards. On the contrary, rather than making me feel better, it casts suspicion upon the other office get-well-card signatories. Are they being insincere too? How do I know which ones are genuine and heartfelt and which ones are just mocking me?

It is clear to me that Dave is trapped -- living a life shrouded in obligation. Is it really nicer when someone smiles and pretends to be your friend to your face while hurling invective and vitriol about you behind your back? Is this world really a better place when everyone is ever fearful of being the victim of a guilt-based obligation to attend an event which they would rather not? Would it not be better, and oh so much easier, if everyone could just act and feel as they really do, say what they really mean (assuming one does so in a well-mannered way, of course), choosing, without guilt, to whom one would like to extend an invitation and to be at liberty to politely decline invitations without the fear that one is walking into an emotional minefield?

With her "One Life to Lead" essay, Barbarella has once again bravely articulated, in a thoughtful, nonhysterical way, what so many of us only dare to think. Her courage continues to inspire me to be a better person. Brava, Barbarella!
Glen Daniels
via e-mail

I'm kinda bitchy this week in My COLUMN, but they can't all be thoughtful. Next week's is about the whole drama with my shoulder and my first ever visit to a chiropractor who "may or may not" have tried to kill me. Hee hee.

So tonight! One show, three amazing artists, three genres of medium. With my love, who has 7 pieces of his own work hanging in the space, I will celebrate the opening of a little show at WOOD FX, along with Joey (the artist and impeccable crafstman who designs and creates wooden sculptures and furniture, and Kouta (the Japanese master ceramicist). I'm looking forward to an evening of art, great conversation, and simply being oot and aboot.

The week has been good to me, lost a couple of more pounds, but I'm only marking the big ones (like every 10). I am now a red-head. Very red. Maybe I'll take some pictures tonight so you can see what I mean.

On to the weekend! Enjoy yours. I know I'll be enjoying mine.