Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-09-18

Shitload of B-day Pics

"Time for you and time for me, And time yet for a hundred indecisions, And time for a hundred visions and revisions, Before the taking of a toast and tea." -- T.S. Eliot

But this is MORE than just a quote! This quote happens to be carved into the frame of the very special birthday present my love gave to me! It's a painting by Heather Neill, called "Writer's Block." When I arrived home yesterday, after a morning of mannies and peddies with all of my sisters (the four of us together can be overwhelming for others), I saw that my office door was closed. On the handle, hanging by a red ribbon, was a red heart. On one side, in white, it read, "Happy Birthday my Sunshine... Welcome to your 30s!" and on the other, "with all my love, David." I opened the door to find the painting I'd coveted when we were on Martha's Vineyard months ago hung in my office, an office which had been cleaned while I was away. Now it hangs to my left, and is huge at five feet by 2.5 feet. I LOVE IT!

Oh, and I have a LOT of pictures for you today, this entry might break my record of picture-posting. This weekend was wonderful. Saturday night I was down at Mom's with the family, and all the laughter and hilarity that is inherent in our blood. I have pictures, but I need to clear them with my sisters before posting.

However, pictures of my little gathering last night are free game! My little shindig, for which I selected a cross-section of people near and dear to me, was a blast. It began with an invitation that David helped to create (by "helped," I mean he created it).

The invite itself was affixed to the sandstone statue, therefore it was both gift and invitation:

The location was 30-Two Bar and Lounge, next to and part of the restaurant, Rama, downtown. Here's a glance at the bar, and there's a blurry Tom in the foreground, prepping Thai mojitos and Buddha lemon drops:

As things got started, people sipped cocktails and nibbled on appetizers. Here are a few shots that the busy birthday girl took to prove it:

We had the whole place to ourselves, and a DJ spun down-tempo while people chatted, sipped, and ate. Here I am in front of the shrine with Derek, who shows off his intense stare:

And now, sandwiched between two lovelies at the bar:

Things got a little wacky and my aim was off, but fun was had trying to take these two shots:

I have some funny pictures of my Amys (three Amys were in attendance!) doing their little Amy sign, like YMCA only their hands made AMY. I still have a lot to sift through.

I got a little tipsy and today I'm hurting (we don't bounce back like we used to, eh?) but it's a nostalgic kind of hangover, reminiscent of the good ol' days.

Finally, here's a group shot towards the end of the evening:

Fun, fun, and more fun!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Shitload of B-day Pics 2006-09-18 4:44 p.m. "Time for you and time for me, And time yet for a hundred indecisions, And time for a hundred visions and revisions, Before the taking of a toast and tea." -- T.S. Eliot

But this is MORE than just a quote! This quote happens to be carved into the frame of the very special birthday present my love gave to me! It's a painting by Heather Neill, called "Writer's Block." When I arrived home yesterday, after a morning of mannies and peddies with all of my sisters (the four of us together can be overwhelming for others), I saw that my office door was closed. On the handle, hanging by a red ribbon, was a red heart. On one side, in white, it read, "Happy Birthday my Sunshine... Welcome to your 30s!" and on the other, "with all my love, David." I opened the door to find the painting I'd coveted when we were on Martha's Vineyard months ago hung in my office, an office which had been cleaned while I was away. Now it hangs to my left, and is huge at five feet by 2.5 feet. I LOVE IT!

Oh, and I have a LOT of pictures for you today, this entry might break my record of picture-posting. This weekend was wonderful. Saturday night I was down at Mom's with the family, and all the laughter and hilarity that is inherent in our blood. I have pictures, but I need to clear them with my sisters before posting.

However, pictures of my little gathering last night are free game! My little shindig, for which I selected a cross-section of people near and dear to me, was a blast. It began with an invitation that David helped to create (by "helped," I mean he created it).

The invite itself was affixed to the sandstone statue, therefore it was both gift and invitation:

The location was 30-Two Bar and Lounge, next to and part of the restaurant, Rama, downtown. Here's a glance at the bar, and there's a blurry Tom in the foreground, prepping Thai mojitos and Buddha lemon drops:

As things got started, people sipped cocktails and nibbled on appetizers. Here are a few shots that the busy birthday girl took to prove it:

We had the whole place to ourselves, and a DJ spun down-tempo while people chatted, sipped, and ate. Here I am in front of the shrine with Derek, who shows off his intense stare:

And now, sandwiched between two lovelies at the bar:

Things got a little wacky and my aim was off, but fun was had trying to take these two shots:

I have some funny pictures of my Amys (three Amys were in attendance!) doing their little Amy sign, like YMCA only their hands made AMY. I still have a lot to sift through.

I got a little tipsy and today I'm hurting (we don't bounce back like we used to, eh?) but it's a nostalgic kind of hangover, reminiscent of the good ol' days.

Finally, here's a group shot towards the end of the evening:

Fun, fun, and more fun!