Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-09-29

Butt-talk, Travel Talk, and MORE!

"The radical novelty of modern science lies precisely in the rejection of the belief...that the forces which move the stars and atoms are contingent upon the preferences of the human heart." -- Walter Lippman

Duh.

Speaking of science, I really shouldn't have looked. Here I was, imagining a tiny stitch, maybe two, no more than a centimeter long, but NO. What I have is bruising and 3 inches of stitches across my upper right cheek. No wonder I'm so sore. I have to sit weird, too. I keep forgetting I can't lean back on the couch, or in my reading chair as I usually do. Nope. Sitting forward is best, or lying on my left side. Standing up trumps all of the above. I've been doing a lot of standing around.

Yesterday my dad had three inches across cut out of his forearm. We suffer together.

Tomorrow is Bonita Fest, that street fair down in Bonita, where I went to junior high and high school. I haven't been to the fest in years (wow, has it been over 10?) but I'm thinking of checking it out. If only because it's a way to keep me off of my ass, but it's still low-impact enough that I won't compromise a stitch. And nostalgia. For that alone, I should go, even though I hated high school and just about everything associated with it. This is to be expected of a unique bitch like me -- we don't assimilate well.

My love and I are breaking out the Japanese books yet again. (Did I not tell you that we'd set them down in laziness a few months ago?) Because in January, we are GOING TO JAPAN. That's right. Two hours a day of intense studying is what we'll do until then, so we'll be speaking the language (and reading it) by the time we get there.

We have so much travel coming up in the next year that I'm both excited and overwhelmed by the idea. I mean, so much traveling, but we also have so much work to do! Writing, the art project... I must master the art of balance, and soon.

So far, tentative destinations within the next 12 months include, but are not limited to: Martha's Vineyard, Boston, Hawaii, Sweden, Italy, France, Japan, Seattle, northern Cali, and does L.A. count? Probably not. But still. We've got no trip planned for New York, but we tend to make it to the city about twice a year, so I'll count that in.

Now I've got some work to do. I'm meeting up with the Kids (Rosa has dubbed us the Algonquin Kids Table) to get some writing done. I wonder if the hard benches in the cafe will be comfortable enough for my sore spot. Well, guess I'll find out soon enough.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Butt-talk, Travel Talk, and MORE! 2006-09-29 8:53 a.m. "The radical novelty of modern science lies precisely in the rejection of the belief...that the forces which move the stars and atoms are contingent upon the preferences of the human heart." -- Walter Lippman

Duh.

Speaking of science, I really shouldn't have looked. Here I was, imagining a tiny stitch, maybe two, no more than a centimeter long, but NO. What I have is bruising and 3 inches of stitches across my upper right cheek. No wonder I'm so sore. I have to sit weird, too. I keep forgetting I can't lean back on the couch, or in my reading chair as I usually do. Nope. Sitting forward is best, or lying on my left side. Standing up trumps all of the above. I've been doing a lot of standing around.

Yesterday my dad had three inches across cut out of his forearm. We suffer together.

Tomorrow is Bonita Fest, that street fair down in Bonita, where I went to junior high and high school. I haven't been to the fest in years (wow, has it been over 10?) but I'm thinking of checking it out. If only because it's a way to keep me off of my ass, but it's still low-impact enough that I won't compromise a stitch. And nostalgia. For that alone, I should go, even though I hated high school and just about everything associated with it. This is to be expected of a unique bitch like me -- we don't assimilate well.

My love and I are breaking out the Japanese books yet again. (Did I not tell you that we'd set them down in laziness a few months ago?) Because in January, we are GOING TO JAPAN. That's right. Two hours a day of intense studying is what we'll do until then, so we'll be speaking the language (and reading it) by the time we get there.

We have so much travel coming up in the next year that I'm both excited and overwhelmed by the idea. I mean, so much traveling, but we also have so much work to do! Writing, the art project... I must master the art of balance, and soon.

So far, tentative destinations within the next 12 months include, but are not limited to: Martha's Vineyard, Boston, Hawaii, Sweden, Italy, France, Japan, Seattle, northern Cali, and does L.A. count? Probably not. But still. We've got no trip planned for New York, but we tend to make it to the city about twice a year, so I'll count that in.

Now I've got some work to do. I'm meeting up with the Kids (Rosa has dubbed us the Algonquin Kids Table) to get some writing done. I wonder if the hard benches in the cafe will be comfortable enough for my sore spot. Well, guess I'll find out soon enough.