Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-10-01

Mysteries and Impressions

"A mature person is one who does not think only in absolutes, who is able to be objective even when deeply stirred emotionally, who has learned that there is both good and bad in all people and in all things, and who walks humbly and deals charitably with the circumstances of life, knowing that in this world no one is all knowing and therefore all of us need both love and charity." -- Eleanor Roosevelt

Have you ever been working on your computer and pressed a couple of keys and then had something crazy and unexpected happen? Like, say you think you're pressing Apple + i to make italics, but when your fingers touch down, two windows disappear and a new program launches? What the hell did I actually touch? A mystery for the ages.

I had the urge to say "Dude" today, and ended up saying "Duodenum." So, from now on, I think I'll replace the word "dude" with "duodenum." Like, "Duodenum, you' won't believe what happened to my computer when I tried to go italic." You know, like that.

Now for an actual update: Last night, my sister Jenny called me. I had referred her to Bandar, a nice restaurant downtown, because she'd been craving Persian food. It was 9:30 p.m. when she called, and this is how our conversation went:

"Did you like the food?"
"Oh yeah, and we have tons of leftovers," said Jenny.
"Great!"
"What are you doing?"
"Well, we just finished watching Oliver, the 1968 musical about Oliver Twist, and right now we're listening to an interview on NPR with Thomas Lynch, the guy who inspired the show, Six Feet Under. After this, we'll probably go to bed."
"Barb. I'm going to hang up soon. But first, I need to say something... You're ONLY 30 you're ONLY 30 you're ONLY 30! Love you, bye."

I hope she calls me a few Saturdays from now, so that when she asks me what I'm doing, I can honestly answer, "Well, right now we're having wine and cheese with a couple of friends, one of which is a hot, professional dominatrix. After we're done nibbling and chatting, we're walking over to a lesbian bar for fetish night, where we'll be dancing with others in leather and latex."

And she would reply, "Now THAT'S the sister I know."

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Mysteries and Impressions 2006-10-01 9:46 a.m. "A mature person is one who does not think only in absolutes, who is able to be objective even when deeply stirred emotionally, who has learned that there is both good and bad in all people and in all things, and who walks humbly and deals charitably with the circumstances of life, knowing that in this world no one is all knowing and therefore all of us need both love and charity." -- Eleanor Roosevelt

Have you ever been working on your computer and pressed a couple of keys and then had something crazy and unexpected happen? Like, say you think you're pressing Apple + i to make italics, but when your fingers touch down, two windows disappear and a new program launches? What the hell did I actually touch? A mystery for the ages.

I had the urge to say "Dude" today, and ended up saying "Duodenum." So, from now on, I think I'll replace the word "dude" with "duodenum." Like, "Duodenum, you' won't believe what happened to my computer when I tried to go italic." You know, like that.

Now for an actual update: Last night, my sister Jenny called me. I had referred her to Bandar, a nice restaurant downtown, because she'd been craving Persian food. It was 9:30 p.m. when she called, and this is how our conversation went:

"Did you like the food?"
"Oh yeah, and we have tons of leftovers," said Jenny.
"Great!"
"What are you doing?"
"Well, we just finished watching Oliver, the 1968 musical about Oliver Twist, and right now we're listening to an interview on NPR with Thomas Lynch, the guy who inspired the show, Six Feet Under. After this, we'll probably go to bed."
"Barb. I'm going to hang up soon. But first, I need to say something... You're ONLY 30 you're ONLY 30 you're ONLY 30! Love you, bye."

I hope she calls me a few Saturdays from now, so that when she asks me what I'm doing, I can honestly answer, "Well, right now we're having wine and cheese with a couple of friends, one of which is a hot, professional dominatrix. After we're done nibbling and chatting, we're walking over to a lesbian bar for fetish night, where we'll be dancing with others in leather and latex."

And she would reply, "Now THAT'S the sister I know."