Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-10-09

Weekend Synopsis and Forecast

"Be civil to all, sociable to many, familiar with few, friend to one, enemy to none." -- Benjamin Franklin

My weekend was busy. Aside from the tedious and endlessly irritating tasks of doing my civic local duty to serve on the board of my homeowner's association, I had a spectacular weekend!

Saturday began in the afternoon, after a heated game of Scrabble. We headed out with Josue and Rosa to a Spanish wine tasting in Ocean Beach. We sipped, we took notes, we enjoyed, we tossed, we bought!

After learning, warm from drink, we went to Saigon in Hillcrest for a late lunch/early dinner type deal. Great conversation, yummy food, and because of the odd hour, we had the entire place to ourselves. After "linner," we came back to the building and popped in on a party our downstairs neighbors were having to showcase their new floor.

Then we headed out for a friend's thesis art show at San Diego State, where we found tons of amazing art! Josue and Rosa acquired a cool set of metal-work ring things and I purchased a piece that is beyond description, that will complete my art collection of word-art (and monkey) for my office. Because this piece defies description, I will take a photo of it when I pick it up later this week and explain what's going on in the photo when you have the visiual in front of you. It's amazing, provocative, meaningful, and to top it all off, it simply looks cool.

Sunday, Sunday. I went to church with my Dad yesterday, always a pleasure to spend time with Dad. We enjoyed the morning and went to the brunch after church, dragging out our time together before he went off to Balboa Park to watch Flamenco dancers and I returned home to get some work done.

But this weekend was just a warm-up for next weekend, when we'll be out Friday, Saturday, AND Sunday. Dinner with friends, friends over and then out clubbing, and a three-hour tour in a yacht or something out of Newport Beach, all expenses paid and open bar. It's a good thing I'm not driving.

But I'm getting ahead of myself. If you haven't already, read On Beauty by Zadie Smith. Now THAT'S writing.

And have a very happy Monday!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Weekend Synopsis and Forecast 2006-10-09 9:28 a.m. "Be civil to all, sociable to many, familiar with few, friend to one, enemy to none." -- Benjamin Franklin

My weekend was busy. Aside from the tedious and endlessly irritating tasks of doing my civic local duty to serve on the board of my homeowner's association, I had a spectacular weekend!

Saturday began in the afternoon, after a heated game of Scrabble. We headed out with Josue and Rosa to a Spanish wine tasting in Ocean Beach. We sipped, we took notes, we enjoyed, we tossed, we bought!

After learning, warm from drink, we went to Saigon in Hillcrest for a late lunch/early dinner type deal. Great conversation, yummy food, and because of the odd hour, we had the entire place to ourselves. After "linner," we came back to the building and popped in on a party our downstairs neighbors were having to showcase their new floor.

Then we headed out for a friend's thesis art show at San Diego State, where we found tons of amazing art! Josue and Rosa acquired a cool set of metal-work ring things and I purchased a piece that is beyond description, that will complete my art collection of word-art (and monkey) for my office. Because this piece defies description, I will take a photo of it when I pick it up later this week and explain what's going on in the photo when you have the visiual in front of you. It's amazing, provocative, meaningful, and to top it all off, it simply looks cool.

Sunday, Sunday. I went to church with my Dad yesterday, always a pleasure to spend time with Dad. We enjoyed the morning and went to the brunch after church, dragging out our time together before he went off to Balboa Park to watch Flamenco dancers and I returned home to get some work done.

But this weekend was just a warm-up for next weekend, when we'll be out Friday, Saturday, AND Sunday. Dinner with friends, friends over and then out clubbing, and a three-hour tour in a yacht or something out of Newport Beach, all expenses paid and open bar. It's a good thing I'm not driving.

But I'm getting ahead of myself. If you haven't already, read On Beauty by Zadie Smith. Now THAT'S writing.

And have a very happy Monday!