Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-11-28

Web Egos

Here's an interesting and funny article about personal web sites and egotism and solipsism:

CLICK HERE TO READ IT.

I know a few people, including myself, who actually think that other people actually give a shit about what we're up to. The problem is, not all of us know not to take ourselves and our little doings so seriously. Once you start to think that what you're doing here, what you're reporting here, has some impact on the greater world (outside of your circle of friends or occasional voyeurs and appreciators), you are entering the land of delusion.

I love to write and I seek to entertain, hence my columns and stories. But this, this blog, aside from being a wonderful tool for automatic writing, is an exhibitionistic, presumptuous venue for me to make public my thoughts in hopes that once they are read, I, in some small way, matter in this world. Presumptuous, because I am presuming that others care that I'm at David's parents house on Martha's Vineyard right now with a cup of hot cocoa to my left and a cup of hot coffee to my right.

But ask any Buddhist and he will tell you -- I don't matter, not in the way I think I do or in the way I my small-minded ego would like me to.

Sometimes it's nice to get out of our little worlds, to awaken to the realization that we are not as special as we want to be and therefore we might as well start spending our time making others feel special, because that is much more rewarding and less socially retarding than mentally masturbating onto our keyboards.

Consider this my dose of social retardation. Now I need to finish my work and get back to the room of wonderful people in the flesh, whose faces upon which I can help to place smiles, and whose warm bodies I can embrace. Which is a lot more than I can say for my laptop, as much as I happen to love the inanimate object.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Web Egos 2006-11-28 8:34 a.m. Here's an interesting and funny article about personal web sites and egotism and solipsism:

CLICK HERE TO READ IT.

I know a few people, including myself, who actually think that other people actually give a shit about what we're up to. The problem is, not all of us know not to take ourselves and our little doings so seriously. Once you start to think that what you're doing here, what you're reporting here, has some impact on the greater world (outside of your circle of friends or occasional voyeurs and appreciators), you are entering the land of delusion.

I love to write and I seek to entertain, hence my columns and stories. But this, this blog, aside from being a wonderful tool for automatic writing, is an exhibitionistic, presumptuous venue for me to make public my thoughts in hopes that once they are read, I, in some small way, matter in this world. Presumptuous, because I am presuming that others care that I'm at David's parents house on Martha's Vineyard right now with a cup of hot cocoa to my left and a cup of hot coffee to my right.

But ask any Buddhist and he will tell you -- I don't matter, not in the way I think I do or in the way I my small-minded ego would like me to.

Sometimes it's nice to get out of our little worlds, to awaken to the realization that we are not as special as we want to be and therefore we might as well start spending our time making others feel special, because that is much more rewarding and less socially retarding than mentally masturbating onto our keyboards.

Consider this my dose of social retardation. Now I need to finish my work and get back to the room of wonderful people in the flesh, whose faces upon which I can help to place smiles, and whose warm bodies I can embrace. Which is a lot more than I can say for my laptop, as much as I happen to love the inanimate object.