Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2007-02-24

Snow, Iraq, New York, Boston, and Britain

"As to conforming outwardly and living your own life inwardly, I do not think much of that." -- Henry David Thoreau

I have a weird feeling that I JUST posted that quote, but now that I'm on this updating screen, it's too much of a hassle to check. Well, if so, I'll just say it bore repeating.

It snowed out here! It was crazy beautiful. We're on the tail end of our trip now, heading home in four-or-so days. There was a very interesting and informative article about Jalal Talabani in last week's issue of the New Yorker. I highly recommend you read it. So fascinating and well-written was that article and nearly every other article in the paper, that I signed up for a subscription. It had been YEARS since I'd seen a New Yorker, and the last time I picked one up the only literature I was interested in was historical romance (a.k.a. very descriptive smut).

I'm expanding my horizons, trying to get all smart and shit. So far it hasn't worked, but that won't stop me from trying.

My sister Jane is dilated! I know, I know, EW, GRAPHIC, WHY'D YOU HAVE TO SAY THAT? I have an answer for you -- because she's about to pop out a kid, and that is exciting. A new niece or nephew! And I don't know which, but in like a week or so I will.

Though I'm enjoying what Tom Robbins refers to as "the cozy factor" out here on the glittering snow-covered island of Martha's Vineyard, I'm looking forward to heading into Boston on Monday to hang with good friends. And get pissed. That's right, I'm British now, just like Madonna, only not half as flexible. But I'm working on that too.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Snow, Iraq, New York, Boston, and Britain 2007-02-24 12:38 p.m. "As to conforming outwardly and living your own life inwardly, I do not think much of that." -- Henry David Thoreau

I have a weird feeling that I JUST posted that quote, but now that I'm on this updating screen, it's too much of a hassle to check. Well, if so, I'll just say it bore repeating.

It snowed out here! It was crazy beautiful. We're on the tail end of our trip now, heading home in four-or-so days. There was a very interesting and informative article about Jalal Talabani in last week's issue of the New Yorker. I highly recommend you read it. So fascinating and well-written was that article and nearly every other article in the paper, that I signed up for a subscription. It had been YEARS since I'd seen a New Yorker, and the last time I picked one up the only literature I was interested in was historical romance (a.k.a. very descriptive smut).

I'm expanding my horizons, trying to get all smart and shit. So far it hasn't worked, but that won't stop me from trying.

My sister Jane is dilated! I know, I know, EW, GRAPHIC, WHY'D YOU HAVE TO SAY THAT? I have an answer for you -- because she's about to pop out a kid, and that is exciting. A new niece or nephew! And I don't know which, but in like a week or so I will.

Though I'm enjoying what Tom Robbins refers to as "the cozy factor" out here on the glittering snow-covered island of Martha's Vineyard, I'm looking forward to heading into Boston on Monday to hang with good friends. And get pissed. That's right, I'm British now, just like Madonna, only not half as flexible. But I'm working on that too.