Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2000-10-31

First entry

So technology has finally hit me, of all the books I've filled, cover to cover, with my messy, chicken-scratch handwriting, to jump to another extreme of expression. Clear, legible, not locked. Not that any of my other leather-bound books had locks on them, but they did have little strappy-things that held them closed. And they're hidden away, not posted on-line. So this will definitely be interesting.

How much am I willing to share? Who am I willing to hurt with blatant honesty? How vulnerable will I allow myself to be, and how much of this will reveal my true perceptions of the world, my friends, my family, my coworkers, that I never realized I wasn't communicating directly to them?

I am just another voice, now. Thoreau used to write about wanting to know another man's thoughts. Any man. What he does, and what he thinks about his actions, how he lives his life. I guess this is a good example of that. He wasn't alone. The reason these personal sites are so popular is because all of us want to know the thoughts of others. Because to know someone is to know yourself. How you react, how you differ, we are all each other's measuring sticks for how we are socially, professionally, morally.

So here I go. Back from Hollywood, where I got to know myself through strangers, sex, and drugs. Now in San Diego to test my own consistency, and see for once, how well I really know myself.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
First entry 2000-10-31 15:48:25 So technology has finally hit me, of all the books I've filled, cover to cover, with my messy, chicken-scratch handwriting, to jump to another extreme of expression. Clear, legible, not locked. Not that any of my other leather-bound books had locks on them, but they did have little strappy-things that held them closed. And they're hidden away, not posted on-line. So this will definitely be interesting.

How much am I willing to share? Who am I willing to hurt with blatant honesty? How vulnerable will I allow myself to be, and how much of this will reveal my true perceptions of the world, my friends, my family, my coworkers, that I never realized I wasn't communicating directly to them?

I am just another voice, now. Thoreau used to write about wanting to know another man's thoughts. Any man. What he does, and what he thinks about his actions, how he lives his life. I guess this is a good example of that. He wasn't alone. The reason these personal sites are so popular is because all of us want to know the thoughts of others. Because to know someone is to know yourself. How you react, how you differ, we are all each other's measuring sticks for how we are socially, professionally, morally.

So here I go. Back from Hollywood, where I got to know myself through strangers, sex, and drugs. Now in San Diego to test my own consistency, and see for once, how well I really know myself.