Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2000-11-22

Fuckin' people

There should be no work the day before Thanksgiving. Everyone's gone, either physically or mentally. I'm actually getting paid to sit here at work and dick around. We're even going to watch a movie. Oh well, I guess it's not my loss, I AM getting paid for this. I take it back. This is great! I'm getting paid to sit at work and dick around! I'm EVEN going to watch a movie! Ah, much better.

Have you ever been simply unable to tolerate someone? What do you do, what do you say? There are a few people I know right now that I find it very difficult to tolerate. I can be polite, but it gets to a point where I just want to snap something out curtly and sharply, like "Go away!" Or "Shut the fuck up, you bother me!" But that's not very loving, is it.

There is a woman helping out with the phones in my office during this "busy" time when no one is calling. She was just standing at my computer, so close to me that I felt her exhalation on my head. She has been annoying me for days now, and my patience is wearing thin. She'll start talking to me while I'm typing... Hello, I'm typing! That means my attention is focused on Typing! (had to minimize for a moment, she came back)

So anyway, I feel my hair move from her breath, and I turned around quickly, and started talking before I thought. I said, "uh, I can feel your breath on my head." But I mumbled it out, and I don't think she understood me. So I just said, "Can I help you with something?" And she handed me a fax. And STAYED there. After I sighed heavily a few times and looked at her oddly, she finally walked back up to the front.

I am not usually a bitch. But c'mon, here. There are just situations when people aren't reading body language and verbal language accurately. When I say, "sorry, can't talk right now, trying to type (by the way, she's doing it now, as I type, she's talking to me from the file cabinet. I'm just ignoring, staring and typing and she's just talking about some mexican lady who made hot sauce. My God, this is actually starting to get funny). oops, got distracted.

Oh, yes. Oblivious people bother me. Get in touch. Try to listen to people and read their signs. I'm not saying be a mind reader, and I don't expect you to know what someone's thinking if their actions say differently. But if someone is not being receptive for whatever reason, DON'T tap them until they pay attention to you. Realize that they're probably not going to and give up.

I've been on the other end of this, don't get me wrong. I've started to talk to someone who wasn't receptive, either busy or just seemed disinterested. I did NOT force it. I made a note of their disposition and countenance, and chose to give up at that moment. If you push it, they'll just resent you anyway, trust me.

So that's my vent for the day. Fuckin' people. Love 'em. Hate 'em.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Fuckin' people 2000-11-22 14:35:36 There should be no work the day before Thanksgiving. Everyone's gone, either physically or mentally. I'm actually getting paid to sit here at work and dick around. We're even going to watch a movie. Oh well, I guess it's not my loss, I AM getting paid for this. I take it back. This is great! I'm getting paid to sit at work and dick around! I'm EVEN going to watch a movie! Ah, much better.

Have you ever been simply unable to tolerate someone? What do you do, what do you say? There are a few people I know right now that I find it very difficult to tolerate. I can be polite, but it gets to a point where I just want to snap something out curtly and sharply, like "Go away!" Or "Shut the fuck up, you bother me!" But that's not very loving, is it.

There is a woman helping out with the phones in my office during this "busy" time when no one is calling. She was just standing at my computer, so close to me that I felt her exhalation on my head. She has been annoying me for days now, and my patience is wearing thin. She'll start talking to me while I'm typing... Hello, I'm typing! That means my attention is focused on Typing! (had to minimize for a moment, she came back)

So anyway, I feel my hair move from her breath, and I turned around quickly, and started talking before I thought. I said, "uh, I can feel your breath on my head." But I mumbled it out, and I don't think she understood me. So I just said, "Can I help you with something?" And she handed me a fax. And STAYED there. After I sighed heavily a few times and looked at her oddly, she finally walked back up to the front.

I am not usually a bitch. But c'mon, here. There are just situations when people aren't reading body language and verbal language accurately. When I say, "sorry, can't talk right now, trying to type (by the way, she's doing it now, as I type, she's talking to me from the file cabinet. I'm just ignoring, staring and typing and she's just talking about some mexican lady who made hot sauce. My God, this is actually starting to get funny). oops, got distracted.

Oh, yes. Oblivious people bother me. Get in touch. Try to listen to people and read their signs. I'm not saying be a mind reader, and I don't expect you to know what someone's thinking if their actions say differently. But if someone is not being receptive for whatever reason, DON'T tap them until they pay attention to you. Realize that they're probably not going to and give up.

I've been on the other end of this, don't get me wrong. I've started to talk to someone who wasn't receptive, either busy or just seemed disinterested. I did NOT force it. I made a note of their disposition and countenance, and chose to give up at that moment. If you push it, they'll just resent you anyway, trust me.

So that's my vent for the day. Fuckin' people. Love 'em. Hate 'em.