Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2000-12-02

Good times

Ah! A few days since I've had access to a computer, woe is me. Yesterday morning, we had a lovely bomb threat at work, evacuated for the hell of it, even though 98% of those are empty threats. I left for the day, given the circumstances of the rest of the week, I wasn't taking any chances. And I was just ready for the week to be over.

Last night was a blast. I went to some new club in San Diego, On Broadway. Swanky, pretentious people to watch, but the place was gorgeous. It's an old bank, converted to a multi-story club. Every room with a different motif, one was all white, with leather and vinyl furniture. The old vault was transformed into the billiards room, all dark reds. I just thought it was done very well, it all seemed well-thought out, nothing overlooked. It reminded me of my days in LA. Nice to have, every once in a while, but I could never live it. I fear I would lose myself to the world of pretention.

We sat VIP, a friend of mine (it was his birthday) just did the Madonna webcast and apparently has all these conncections because of it. I'd be lying if I said it didn't feel good to be "very important" for an evening. I talk all the shit I can about people who think they're better than others, people who lead their lives with their money. I don't get the mindset. But preferential treatment FEELS GOOD. If anyone is ever bitching about it, I ask them how they would feel if they were in that spot - people revering them and that whole just-feeling-special thing. To experience that once in a while is nice, and not often enough to let it go to your head.

N'Sync and Britanny were there, table next to ours. I know those boys must be gay. Didn't say anything, but I just know.

Anyway, enough of "ooh, look how cool I am". Onto, ooh, what's on my mind... My best friend is moving down here from LA. She moved from San Fran to LA, downstairs from me, and now she's coming back to San Diego, to live near me again. I've known her forever, and can say she has taught me a lot. I mean, A LOT. About everything. I like surrounding myself with people I can learn from. It's like playing tennis with someone better than you. It's the only way to improve. Ideally, this would be symbiotic, which it is in this case, to my surprise. I don't see what I have to teach this person, yet she likes my company, and we both are satisfied with the relationship.

I'm stoked, she'll be here within the month. It will be so nice to have her around again. Another single woman, instead of hanging out with all these guys. Maybe now I'll get some. Nothing like female power attacking the town. Together, we're dangerous. And she just broke up with her boyfriend. Good things are yet to come.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Good times 2000-12-02 20:49:34 Ah! A few days since I've had access to a computer, woe is me. Yesterday morning, we had a lovely bomb threat at work, evacuated for the hell of it, even though 98% of those are empty threats. I left for the day, given the circumstances of the rest of the week, I wasn't taking any chances. And I was just ready for the week to be over.

Last night was a blast. I went to some new club in San Diego, On Broadway. Swanky, pretentious people to watch, but the place was gorgeous. It's an old bank, converted to a multi-story club. Every room with a different motif, one was all white, with leather and vinyl furniture. The old vault was transformed into the billiards room, all dark reds. I just thought it was done very well, it all seemed well-thought out, nothing overlooked. It reminded me of my days in LA. Nice to have, every once in a while, but I could never live it. I fear I would lose myself to the world of pretention.

We sat VIP, a friend of mine (it was his birthday) just did the Madonna webcast and apparently has all these conncections because of it. I'd be lying if I said it didn't feel good to be "very important" for an evening. I talk all the shit I can about people who think they're better than others, people who lead their lives with their money. I don't get the mindset. But preferential treatment FEELS GOOD. If anyone is ever bitching about it, I ask them how they would feel if they were in that spot - people revering them and that whole just-feeling-special thing. To experience that once in a while is nice, and not often enough to let it go to your head.

N'Sync and Britanny were there, table next to ours. I know those boys must be gay. Didn't say anything, but I just know.

Anyway, enough of "ooh, look how cool I am". Onto, ooh, what's on my mind... My best friend is moving down here from LA. She moved from San Fran to LA, downstairs from me, and now she's coming back to San Diego, to live near me again. I've known her forever, and can say she has taught me a lot. I mean, A LOT. About everything. I like surrounding myself with people I can learn from. It's like playing tennis with someone better than you. It's the only way to improve. Ideally, this would be symbiotic, which it is in this case, to my surprise. I don't see what I have to teach this person, yet she likes my company, and we both are satisfied with the relationship.

I'm stoked, she'll be here within the month. It will be so nice to have her around again. Another single woman, instead of hanging out with all these guys. Maybe now I'll get some. Nothing like female power attacking the town. Together, we're dangerous. And she just broke up with her boyfriend. Good things are yet to come.