Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-01-16

Sister Shithead

Lesson learned this morning? Don�t use your office scissors to cut the little straws that hold the honey for your tea. Reason? Because honey will get all over the scissors, all over you, all over your papers, and almost all over your keyboard. Whew! And, a lesson I fail to learn, despite its repetitive appearance in my life? Wait for that shit to cool before you sip it. Ouch. The tongue is ouch.

On to other things. There�s a lot going on this week, I have friends who are going through tough times, I have work that is getting busier (which is actually a good thing), and I have subtle family drama. And a huge question about moral highgrounds, involving my little sister. (God, lemon biscotti is good, mmm, mmm, mmm)

Okay, here�s the scenario: Sister plans trip to go snowboarding with friends in Colorado. Now, I use the word, �plan,� very loosely here. She got a ticket in advance, but realized a two days before the flight that she had no way of getting to LA. Late in the evening, the night before her morning flight, my mother found a coworker who was driving up and could give her a ride. Whew, problem solved. But wait! There�s more! She has a blast, calls a few times, starts mentioning that she has no way of getting �back� from the airport upon her return. Hmm, the plot thickens.

She called my mother, who usually drops everything and rushes to help in any situation. But this time, she was fed up. My mother�s response was, �I work very early, I have things going on, you planned poorly, so deal with it. Take a bus.� Now, it may sound harsh, but at that point, my mother offered to call for bus times, pay for it, etc. Sis wasn�t having it. I got home around 10pm last night. I was in bed by 11pm. Sometime closer to midnight, the phone rings and me, light sleeper and phone whore, I rush to pick it up. Oh, surprise! It was my sister, and she asked me to go pick her up. Near LA. I said I was sleeping, that she�d have to call someone else, or that maybe I could get her the next day after work, but at this point, I had to wake up early and had too much going on in the office today (apparently, hee hee) to risk the lack of sleep and not to mention, I don�t want to strain my car.

She said I could have switched around my plans earlier that evening to go get her (I had a meeting/gathering with some friends). She said it was selfish of me to choose keeping my PLANS over dropping them and rushing to LA, late at night, to pick her ass up. Okay, am I missing something here? I told her sorry, but that was all I could offer, get her the next day, or she had to catch a bus. I told her that maybe one day when she had obligations and responsibilities, she would understand my decision. She called me an Asshole. I hung up the phone, turned off the ringer, and went back to sleep.

She left a lot of messages. When I got to work this morning, early, because I�m good like that, I gave her a call at her friend�s house. She informed me that she is taking a bus today, will be late for work, and could not believe that her own family left her stranded. Then she said she knew she had planned poorly, but didn�t know why she was being punished for it. Okay, back-up. Punished? I said that it had nothing to do with her or her planning, that I am a busy person, and was appalled that she had the audacity to ask me to miss work today to get her (which she did last night), and that she had to understand that sometimes, people make decisions that are not based around her and how she may plan, good or bad.

�Well, I have no friends in San Diego, and I thought that my family, who I would do it for in a second, would be able to help, but I guess I thought wrong. I�m not over it, I have a ride now, but I�m not over it.� So, she�s pissed, indignant, and stubborn as a fucking mule. And I am apathetic, and according to her, �selfish�. Whatever. I guess there�s really no question I have, I don�t feel bad about my decision. I�m just annoyed that she�s annoyed. She has no concept of imposition when it comes to her family. Family does not mean, �I am more important than you or your life.� It DOES mean understanding each other. It DOES mean listening, and appreciating.

This happens all the time, by the way. Any time I make a decision that is not to her advantage, she is upset and angry. I don�t know how to avoid that. I end up saying, �well, I don�t care,� and this just further incites her, because �sister�s should care.� I don�t know. What I do know, is that I�m not her fucking care-taker, and the last thing I want is to be responsible for her, especially when she has this self-righteous attitude. I have plenty of other things to think about and do than placate my pissed-off sister when I am unable to see why the hell she�s so pissed off. That�s all.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Sister Shithead 2001-01-16 14:45:30 Lesson learned this morning? Don�t use your office scissors to cut the little straws that hold the honey for your tea. Reason? Because honey will get all over the scissors, all over you, all over your papers, and almost all over your keyboard. Whew! And, a lesson I fail to learn, despite its repetitive appearance in my life? Wait for that shit to cool before you sip it. Ouch. The tongue is ouch.

On to other things. There�s a lot going on this week, I have friends who are going through tough times, I have work that is getting busier (which is actually a good thing), and I have subtle family drama. And a huge question about moral highgrounds, involving my little sister. (God, lemon biscotti is good, mmm, mmm, mmm)

Okay, here�s the scenario: Sister plans trip to go snowboarding with friends in Colorado. Now, I use the word, �plan,� very loosely here. She got a ticket in advance, but realized a two days before the flight that she had no way of getting to LA. Late in the evening, the night before her morning flight, my mother found a coworker who was driving up and could give her a ride. Whew, problem solved. But wait! There�s more! She has a blast, calls a few times, starts mentioning that she has no way of getting �back� from the airport upon her return. Hmm, the plot thickens.

She called my mother, who usually drops everything and rushes to help in any situation. But this time, she was fed up. My mother�s response was, �I work very early, I have things going on, you planned poorly, so deal with it. Take a bus.� Now, it may sound harsh, but at that point, my mother offered to call for bus times, pay for it, etc. Sis wasn�t having it. I got home around 10pm last night. I was in bed by 11pm. Sometime closer to midnight, the phone rings and me, light sleeper and phone whore, I rush to pick it up. Oh, surprise! It was my sister, and she asked me to go pick her up. Near LA. I said I was sleeping, that she�d have to call someone else, or that maybe I could get her the next day after work, but at this point, I had to wake up early and had too much going on in the office today (apparently, hee hee) to risk the lack of sleep and not to mention, I don�t want to strain my car.

She said I could have switched around my plans earlier that evening to go get her (I had a meeting/gathering with some friends). She said it was selfish of me to choose keeping my PLANS over dropping them and rushing to LA, late at night, to pick her ass up. Okay, am I missing something here? I told her sorry, but that was all I could offer, get her the next day, or she had to catch a bus. I told her that maybe one day when she had obligations and responsibilities, she would understand my decision. She called me an Asshole. I hung up the phone, turned off the ringer, and went back to sleep.

She left a lot of messages. When I got to work this morning, early, because I�m good like that, I gave her a call at her friend�s house. She informed me that she is taking a bus today, will be late for work, and could not believe that her own family left her stranded. Then she said she knew she had planned poorly, but didn�t know why she was being punished for it. Okay, back-up. Punished? I said that it had nothing to do with her or her planning, that I am a busy person, and was appalled that she had the audacity to ask me to miss work today to get her (which she did last night), and that she had to understand that sometimes, people make decisions that are not based around her and how she may plan, good or bad.

�Well, I have no friends in San Diego, and I thought that my family, who I would do it for in a second, would be able to help, but I guess I thought wrong. I�m not over it, I have a ride now, but I�m not over it.� So, she�s pissed, indignant, and stubborn as a fucking mule. And I am apathetic, and according to her, �selfish�. Whatever. I guess there�s really no question I have, I don�t feel bad about my decision. I�m just annoyed that she�s annoyed. She has no concept of imposition when it comes to her family. Family does not mean, �I am more important than you or your life.� It DOES mean understanding each other. It DOES mean listening, and appreciating.

This happens all the time, by the way. Any time I make a decision that is not to her advantage, she is upset and angry. I don�t know how to avoid that. I end up saying, �well, I don�t care,� and this just further incites her, because �sister�s should care.� I don�t know. What I do know, is that I�m not her fucking care-taker, and the last thing I want is to be responsible for her, especially when she has this self-righteous attitude. I have plenty of other things to think about and do than placate my pissed-off sister when I am unable to see why the hell she�s so pissed off. That�s all.