Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-02-12

Parties and Work Blunders

My oh my, I�m surprised I was able to get up this morning. I partied three nights in a row, thank God I�m still young, though I�m sure a schedule like that could age anyone before their time. It started Thursday night, I went to my weekly �meeting�, my dance palace, my favorite club, Hedonism. My sister came with me and we had a wonderful time. The more she hangs out with me socially, the less she is angry and frustrated with me for being social when she�s not in the mood. Friday at work, I was exhausted, of course.

Actually, I have an unrelated work story I just have to slip in here before I get back to the party update: On Friday, I had a new coworker in my office, shadowing me, learning about the day to day job duties by watching me work. I took a call from a client that turned into 45 minutes of negotiating, in which I hardly got a word in edgewise (during the long periods of silence on my end, I amused my trainee by making faces and licking the phone). When I did speak, which was only a tiny percentage of the time, my words were �right on the mark� and �eloquent, without hesitation� (no, I�m not tooting my own horn, that�s what SHE said). Anyway, I finally hang up the phone, turn to my prot�g�, and say, �Now I know why that man was so long-winded, he revealed something to me towards the end of that conversation.�

She looked at me, wide-open eyes of someone who is waiting for zen-like advice in their new career of choice, and I said, �He�s a born-again Christian. He talked about business ethics and the Lord, crap like that. I fucking HATE born-agains. All preaching, no listening, narrow-minded idiots.� Her face changed drastically. I got a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. �Don�t tell me, YOU�RE a born-again?� She started fumbling an explanation, said she was very open-minded, and never considered herself any one religion. Here comes my next mistake � as she�s beginning to explain to me that she is, in fact, a born-again Christian, I begin laughing� hard. I thought she was kidding. Earlier, we had talked about sex and drugs and I had already discovered her quick wit, so I assumed she was fucking with me. Well, she wasn�t. �If you mean have I recently accepted the Lord Jesus Christ into my heart, then yes, I guess I do consider myself to be �born-again�, but I�m still open-minded.� Barbarella-faux pas-in-the-workplace, number� hmm, I do believe I�ve lost count.

Anyway, because of my embarrassment, and the fact that the computers were down, I just HAD to leave work early. Had to. So, back to the update. Friday night was fun, went to club Xanth, danced for a bit, went to a bar across the street and happened upon a friend AND a great band, then back to the club for more dancing. Saturday, nails (oh, sweet manicure) naps, and party. The party was fabulous. Friend spinning great music to dance to, another friend twirling fire, people I love at every turn, laughter and good vibes (I swear, it had NOTHING to do with the drugs, hee hee), exciting and lovely in every sense of the word.

The rest of my weekend was wonderful for other reasons. Sometimes, you taste a new dish, and it has just the right amount of sugar and spice, and always leaves you with that not-too full, but definitely sated feeling when you�re done eating. Suffice it to say, you can never go wrong when eating your favorite food, and I�ve recently made an addition to my menu.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Parties and Work Blunders 2001-02-12 14:31:13 My oh my, I�m surprised I was able to get up this morning. I partied three nights in a row, thank God I�m still young, though I�m sure a schedule like that could age anyone before their time. It started Thursday night, I went to my weekly �meeting�, my dance palace, my favorite club, Hedonism. My sister came with me and we had a wonderful time. The more she hangs out with me socially, the less she is angry and frustrated with me for being social when she�s not in the mood. Friday at work, I was exhausted, of course.

Actually, I have an unrelated work story I just have to slip in here before I get back to the party update: On Friday, I had a new coworker in my office, shadowing me, learning about the day to day job duties by watching me work. I took a call from a client that turned into 45 minutes of negotiating, in which I hardly got a word in edgewise (during the long periods of silence on my end, I amused my trainee by making faces and licking the phone). When I did speak, which was only a tiny percentage of the time, my words were �right on the mark� and �eloquent, without hesitation� (no, I�m not tooting my own horn, that�s what SHE said). Anyway, I finally hang up the phone, turn to my prot�g�, and say, �Now I know why that man was so long-winded, he revealed something to me towards the end of that conversation.�

She looked at me, wide-open eyes of someone who is waiting for zen-like advice in their new career of choice, and I said, �He�s a born-again Christian. He talked about business ethics and the Lord, crap like that. I fucking HATE born-agains. All preaching, no listening, narrow-minded idiots.� Her face changed drastically. I got a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. �Don�t tell me, YOU�RE a born-again?� She started fumbling an explanation, said she was very open-minded, and never considered herself any one religion. Here comes my next mistake � as she�s beginning to explain to me that she is, in fact, a born-again Christian, I begin laughing� hard. I thought she was kidding. Earlier, we had talked about sex and drugs and I had already discovered her quick wit, so I assumed she was fucking with me. Well, she wasn�t. �If you mean have I recently accepted the Lord Jesus Christ into my heart, then yes, I guess I do consider myself to be �born-again�, but I�m still open-minded.� Barbarella-faux pas-in-the-workplace, number� hmm, I do believe I�ve lost count.

Anyway, because of my embarrassment, and the fact that the computers were down, I just HAD to leave work early. Had to. So, back to the update. Friday night was fun, went to club Xanth, danced for a bit, went to a bar across the street and happened upon a friend AND a great band, then back to the club for more dancing. Saturday, nails (oh, sweet manicure) naps, and party. The party was fabulous. Friend spinning great music to dance to, another friend twirling fire, people I love at every turn, laughter and good vibes (I swear, it had NOTHING to do with the drugs, hee hee), exciting and lovely in every sense of the word.

The rest of my weekend was wonderful for other reasons. Sometimes, you taste a new dish, and it has just the right amount of sugar and spice, and always leaves you with that not-too full, but definitely sated feeling when you�re done eating. Suffice it to say, you can never go wrong when eating your favorite food, and I�ve recently made an addition to my menu.