Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-02-15

Relationships

Funny, I don't even remember forgetting to update my diary yesterday. Huh. Anyhoo, the week's been long so far. Fun, eventful, but still long. Tuesday night I went on a date. Japanese Restaurant, cutesie movie, great conversation and many, many laughs. I was given flowers and a kiss on the cheek. The guy? Well, my father, of course. Who else would take me to dinner AND a movie AND bring flowers? The man is old-school, he knows his shit. He loves telling coworkers that he's going on a date with a 24 year-old woman. They're onto him now, though, and just ask which one of his 4 daughters it is this time.

I feel bad for my father sometimes, though I know he'd be loathe to hear it. My sisters are all so caught up in their lives that they rarely (if ever) call him. I'm number 3 daughter, chronologically, so sometimes, if I'm thinking about him, I'll beep him on his pager with a row of 33333's. Kind of like a "hey, just thinking about you and how much I love you" sort of thing. Occasionally, he'll call me right back after such a beep and say, "You're the only person in this world who remembers I exist."

Of course, every word is dripping with New York sarcastic melodrama, but beneath that, I know, lies a hint of truth. He does feel forgotten about because no one ever calls. And it's not that I'm the "favorite" daughter. I'm just the most attentive. We teach each other a lot about life and that's something that's good for me to be around. He's the one who introduced me to meditation, to language (he speaks several, but I just remember insults in about 7 of them), to literature, and to the concept of seeking to learn, all things, all the time. I teach him (remind him) to have an open mind and to accept me (and others), and my decisions in life, whether or not they fit into his idea of the perfect process. Symbiotic relationships are ideal. That way, each are fed constantly and the fear of withering from one or outgrowing the other is held at bay.

Speaking of relationships, yesterday was the big Heart Day. I went to the Real House (not sure if I've mentioned this or not, but therealhouse.com is a internetized cam-household that my friends live in) and partied down with some friends. Everything you could want on the day of love and lust: good-looking people and broad smiles on each face. Tittilating flirtations and shared... moments.

Today? My hair smells like flowers and I'm drinking my caramel cafe. Life ain't half bad.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Relationships 2001-02-15 13:08:07 Funny, I don't even remember forgetting to update my diary yesterday. Huh. Anyhoo, the week's been long so far. Fun, eventful, but still long. Tuesday night I went on a date. Japanese Restaurant, cutesie movie, great conversation and many, many laughs. I was given flowers and a kiss on the cheek. The guy? Well, my father, of course. Who else would take me to dinner AND a movie AND bring flowers? The man is old-school, he knows his shit. He loves telling coworkers that he's going on a date with a 24 year-old woman. They're onto him now, though, and just ask which one of his 4 daughters it is this time.

I feel bad for my father sometimes, though I know he'd be loathe to hear it. My sisters are all so caught up in their lives that they rarely (if ever) call him. I'm number 3 daughter, chronologically, so sometimes, if I'm thinking about him, I'll beep him on his pager with a row of 33333's. Kind of like a "hey, just thinking about you and how much I love you" sort of thing. Occasionally, he'll call me right back after such a beep and say, "You're the only person in this world who remembers I exist."

Of course, every word is dripping with New York sarcastic melodrama, but beneath that, I know, lies a hint of truth. He does feel forgotten about because no one ever calls. And it's not that I'm the "favorite" daughter. I'm just the most attentive. We teach each other a lot about life and that's something that's good for me to be around. He's the one who introduced me to meditation, to language (he speaks several, but I just remember insults in about 7 of them), to literature, and to the concept of seeking to learn, all things, all the time. I teach him (remind him) to have an open mind and to accept me (and others), and my decisions in life, whether or not they fit into his idea of the perfect process. Symbiotic relationships are ideal. That way, each are fed constantly and the fear of withering from one or outgrowing the other is held at bay.

Speaking of relationships, yesterday was the big Heart Day. I went to the Real House (not sure if I've mentioned this or not, but therealhouse.com is a internetized cam-household that my friends live in) and partied down with some friends. Everything you could want on the day of love and lust: good-looking people and broad smiles on each face. Tittilating flirtations and shared... moments.

Today? My hair smells like flowers and I'm drinking my caramel cafe. Life ain't half bad.