Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-03-06

Good movie

Okay, just getting to my diary at the end of the day here. I was in Orange County all day, some meeting for work. Judging people, as always. Just kidding about that last part. The point remains, I was in Orange County all day. And now I am home early and updating my journal. Whew!

I saw an amazing movie last night. Sometimes I wish I had more adjectives in my vocabulary, "amazing" or "spectacular" or "poignant" or "thought-provoking", they just seem so hackneyed. I don't know if I spelled that right, but I digress again. The point is, I saw Before Night Falls. The movie based on a posthumously published autobiography by Reinaldo Arenas, a homosexual poet and author from Cuba. The movie covered the Castro regime, the discrimination of homosexuals, war, love, betrayal, punishment, freedom and so much more, this is such a pitiful excuse for a summary. Just go see the movie. Or read the book, my friend Eddie said the book was amazing, an intriguing page-turner.

I like movies that say their "somethings" subtley. Life itself is so many things: funny, sad, touching, relieving, difficult, conflicting, surprising and disappointing. It's nice when a movie can capture all of that without pushing, without making it obnoxiously clear what you're "supposed" to be feeling at any given time. It just presents what it has to present, accurately, and so be it. I have so much more to say, but wouldn't know the words to use to describe certain things, I never did take any film classes.

Anyway. Life? My life? I'll get to that tomorrow.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Good movie 2001-03-06 20:59:29 Okay, just getting to my diary at the end of the day here. I was in Orange County all day, some meeting for work. Judging people, as always. Just kidding about that last part. The point remains, I was in Orange County all day. And now I am home early and updating my journal. Whew!

I saw an amazing movie last night. Sometimes I wish I had more adjectives in my vocabulary, "amazing" or "spectacular" or "poignant" or "thought-provoking", they just seem so hackneyed. I don't know if I spelled that right, but I digress again. The point is, I saw Before Night Falls. The movie based on a posthumously published autobiography by Reinaldo Arenas, a homosexual poet and author from Cuba. The movie covered the Castro regime, the discrimination of homosexuals, war, love, betrayal, punishment, freedom and so much more, this is such a pitiful excuse for a summary. Just go see the movie. Or read the book, my friend Eddie said the book was amazing, an intriguing page-turner.

I like movies that say their "somethings" subtley. Life itself is so many things: funny, sad, touching, relieving, difficult, conflicting, surprising and disappointing. It's nice when a movie can capture all of that without pushing, without making it obnoxiously clear what you're "supposed" to be feeling at any given time. It just presents what it has to present, accurately, and so be it. I have so much more to say, but wouldn't know the words to use to describe certain things, I never did take any film classes.

Anyway. Life? My life? I'll get to that tomorrow.