Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-04-02

Full weekend, full life

Wet pavement and a dark, cloudy sky proves true the old adage, �April showers bring May flowers.� I can�t wait to see the vibrant spring flowers. But I must admit, I don�t mind the dark cloudy sky. Actually, I can�t think of any weather that I do mind; it�s all nature to me. This weekend was packed with activity. It began on Thursday night, for me (as you can see, for I haven�t updated since Thursday morning). I went to my favorite club with some of my favorite people, and a crew from MTV taped the whole thing. I�m not going to pretend here and say that I was anything but ecstatic over the VIP treatment. It reminded me so much of LA, being on a list, being one of the few, not one of the many. It may seem a shallow success, but I�ve always thrived on it. Then again, I am a creature of attention, we never doubted that for a moment, did we?

So we got to the front of the line, were trailed by the camera crew, and just did our usual thing. John was in his element. I used to tease with him about who would be famous first, him or me, and dammit, he�s beat me by a long shot. He was glowing all weekend, it was awesome to see. He led the pack, wherever we went, and people stared on, envious of the crowd that got to hang with that guy, the guy with the hair, the guy with the fur, the guy with the VERVE. Not only will he go far, but he�ll have a fucking blast while doing it. I didn�t get home too late, but thanks to extreme caffeine substitutes, I couldn�t sleep at all, and ended up calling in sick Friday. Oh, Friday. That�s another story.

Might as well start it. Friday night I went to a live show put on by the Aesthetic Meat Foundation. Huh? What�s that? I�ll tell you. AMF, search for the web site, they�re a crew who perform with blood, animal meat and carcasses, fire, and drums. Interesting. The crowd was goth, fetish, cultish, an interesting crew. The show was loud (how old am I here?), artistic, disturbing, and definitely original. At one point, someone was beating the head of a pig (full head, nothing missing, man, full fucking head) with a giant sledgehammer, in sync with the beat of a drum. I couldn�t help thinking, �Lord of the flies, Piggy�s the beast!� Very primal. A woman wearing black vinyl shorts, boots, and a whole lot of blood, walked through the crowd, wiping blood on faces. She walked up to me, stopped for a brief moment to dip her hand in the jar she held, and slid her wet finger down my face, from forehead to nose. I left it there, felt my skin tighten as it began to dry.

Didn�t stay for the private after-party, there were hardly any people there, and the hosts kept going back and forth, there�s gonna be a party, there�s not gonna be a party. So we just left. I must interject here to mention that I am having a REALLY good hair day. That�s all. Anyway, rest of Friday night? Does a lady ever mention the naughty things? Well, this one usually does, but let�s leave it at this: I�m still feeling residuals, and trust me, that�s a good thing. Saturday. Saturday, I spent the day with my sisters and mother, shopping, lunch, movie, very nice. Mom got me some new shoes, a new purse, my goodness, she spoiled me. I didn�t question her motives, just accepted graciously (of course, I mean, free shit, hello!), like the lady I am.

Saturday night, another gathering at the house, this one also taped by MTV. Wonderful friends, beautiful fire-twirling, and oh my god, the chocolate cake. Fun night, overall, I don�t have any spectacular story to tell about it, though. Just your typical, jovial evening with friends. My internet detective found some wonderful tunes on Nabster that I haven�t heard in a long time, that was nice. But I left fairly early (for me, at least), and went home to finish a book and get some sleep.

Man, I needed it, I crashed hard and slept in on Sunday, to boot. Steph came over for a bit, for lunch, it was lovely to just sit and talk for awhile. Nice downtime, catch up sesh. I was feeling funky all day, in quite an odd mood and head-space. But last night, things came together, after a few pages in the personal journal, of course. How therapeutic it is to write out what you don�t realize you�re thinking until it�s on paper. When I am done for the moment, I realize that there was perhaps no other way to come to my conclusions but for the blank page to casually and unexpectedly extract them from me. You cannot plan an epiphany. I�m not saying that I have them often, but I do know, you can�t plan them. Else, it�s not a true epiphany, more like a solved calculus equation. And there�s nothing supernatural or self-exploratory about calculus, is there? Exactly.

So, good, busy weekend, and now it�s Monday again. Crazy how that happens

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Full weekend, full life 2001-04-02 9:24 a.m. Wet pavement and a dark, cloudy sky proves true the old adage, �April showers bring May flowers.� I can�t wait to see the vibrant spring flowers. But I must admit, I don�t mind the dark cloudy sky. Actually, I can�t think of any weather that I do mind; it�s all nature to me. This weekend was packed with activity. It began on Thursday night, for me (as you can see, for I haven�t updated since Thursday morning). I went to my favorite club with some of my favorite people, and a crew from MTV taped the whole thing. I�m not going to pretend here and say that I was anything but ecstatic over the VIP treatment. It reminded me so much of LA, being on a list, being one of the few, not one of the many. It may seem a shallow success, but I�ve always thrived on it. Then again, I am a creature of attention, we never doubted that for a moment, did we?

So we got to the front of the line, were trailed by the camera crew, and just did our usual thing. John was in his element. I used to tease with him about who would be famous first, him or me, and dammit, he�s beat me by a long shot. He was glowing all weekend, it was awesome to see. He led the pack, wherever we went, and people stared on, envious of the crowd that got to hang with that guy, the guy with the hair, the guy with the fur, the guy with the VERVE. Not only will he go far, but he�ll have a fucking blast while doing it. I didn�t get home too late, but thanks to extreme caffeine substitutes, I couldn�t sleep at all, and ended up calling in sick Friday. Oh, Friday. That�s another story.

Might as well start it. Friday night I went to a live show put on by the Aesthetic Meat Foundation. Huh? What�s that? I�ll tell you. AMF, search for the web site, they�re a crew who perform with blood, animal meat and carcasses, fire, and drums. Interesting. The crowd was goth, fetish, cultish, an interesting crew. The show was loud (how old am I here?), artistic, disturbing, and definitely original. At one point, someone was beating the head of a pig (full head, nothing missing, man, full fucking head) with a giant sledgehammer, in sync with the beat of a drum. I couldn�t help thinking, �Lord of the flies, Piggy�s the beast!� Very primal. A woman wearing black vinyl shorts, boots, and a whole lot of blood, walked through the crowd, wiping blood on faces. She walked up to me, stopped for a brief moment to dip her hand in the jar she held, and slid her wet finger down my face, from forehead to nose. I left it there, felt my skin tighten as it began to dry.

Didn�t stay for the private after-party, there were hardly any people there, and the hosts kept going back and forth, there�s gonna be a party, there�s not gonna be a party. So we just left. I must interject here to mention that I am having a REALLY good hair day. That�s all. Anyway, rest of Friday night? Does a lady ever mention the naughty things? Well, this one usually does, but let�s leave it at this: I�m still feeling residuals, and trust me, that�s a good thing. Saturday. Saturday, I spent the day with my sisters and mother, shopping, lunch, movie, very nice. Mom got me some new shoes, a new purse, my goodness, she spoiled me. I didn�t question her motives, just accepted graciously (of course, I mean, free shit, hello!), like the lady I am.

Saturday night, another gathering at the house, this one also taped by MTV. Wonderful friends, beautiful fire-twirling, and oh my god, the chocolate cake. Fun night, overall, I don�t have any spectacular story to tell about it, though. Just your typical, jovial evening with friends. My internet detective found some wonderful tunes on Nabster that I haven�t heard in a long time, that was nice. But I left fairly early (for me, at least), and went home to finish a book and get some sleep.

Man, I needed it, I crashed hard and slept in on Sunday, to boot. Steph came over for a bit, for lunch, it was lovely to just sit and talk for awhile. Nice downtime, catch up sesh. I was feeling funky all day, in quite an odd mood and head-space. But last night, things came together, after a few pages in the personal journal, of course. How therapeutic it is to write out what you don�t realize you�re thinking until it�s on paper. When I am done for the moment, I realize that there was perhaps no other way to come to my conclusions but for the blank page to casually and unexpectedly extract them from me. You cannot plan an epiphany. I�m not saying that I have them often, but I do know, you can�t plan them. Else, it�s not a true epiphany, more like a solved calculus equation. And there�s nothing supernatural or self-exploratory about calculus, is there? Exactly.

So, good, busy weekend, and now it�s Monday again. Crazy how that happens