Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-04-27

The Coming of Coachella (and stuff)

There are so many things, so many places, so close to where I live, that I�ve never noticed before. Yesterday evening, I went for a walk with my sister and a good friend all around my neighborhood. From Mission Hills to Balboa Park, down into Banker�s Hill, and we took 5th Avenue on the return trip. I discovered so many things that have been right beneath my nose this entire time. I can�t believe I haven�t been taking advantage of my wonderful location. After yesterday, though, my sister and I agreed that that�s gonna change. We happened upon a piano bar, opened the door, peeking in to see a woman in an evening gown, at the piano, singing away. When she saw us, laughing and looking, having a great time, she smiled and waved, not missing a note, and we waved right back. Steph and I can�t wait to go back there for a drink.

Anyway, back to today. My boss is in this morning, but only staying for a bit, then heading home to the kids. She says she�ll be back on Monday, when our new salesgirl is scheduled to start. I haven�t met this new girl, I wonder what kind of dynamic she�ll bring to this already crazed office. I want my coffee. I was waiting for a coworker to get in, now she�s here, but she�s on the phone. And the feeling that I may not be able to get my coffee when I want my coffee is making me twitch. Breathe. Okay, better. I�ll be fine.

Just got back from the coffee shop. I got tea. I know, What?! Tea?? Have you gone mad, Barb? Truth is, I�ve always preferred tea to coffee. I honestly don�t know why I�ve been drinking coffee all this time. So, Apricot Tea is the new deal. Actually, it was the old deal that I�ve just returned to. And to think, all this time I was following a trend! See how easy it is to lie to yourself? Hmm? I know. It�s okay. We�re going to be fine.

I�m excited about this weekend. Tonight, I leave for the Coachella Festival. The festival is tomorrow, but I�m going out a night early. I have this time-punctuality-no-stress-thing. It�s a �thing�, alright? Let it be! (note: there are many translations of the word �thing� when used in this journal. In this case, thing refers to obsessive-compulsive neurotic behavior. But others were in on this, so I�m not the only freak). Tonight, we go out there, get to the hotel, start the weekend off the right way: with an orgy. Just kidding. Ever hear of the Coachella Festival? This year, the lineup includes Janes Addiction, Iggy Pop, Weezer, Dandy Warhols, Paul Oakenfold, FatBoy Slim, Chemical Brothers, just to name a few. It�s an all-day concert in the desert. Uh, yeah, I know, FUN.

Today is my Special friend�s birthday, so a part of my mind sees this as not only an awesome weekend to party with friends and see a cool concert, but it�s also like a crazy, weekend-long birthday party. I like to celebrate things, it�s always nice to have an occasion. I like MY birthday parties to last for a month or so. But this will do. I mean, it�s not MY birthday, now is it. Because we ALL know that when it�s MY birthday, there�s no such thing as an event aside from celebrating my existence on this great earth. Hee hee. The funny thing is, some people I know who read this diary will not be able to tell if I am joking about that or not. Come to think of it, some CLOSE friends of mine who read this diary will not know if I am joking or not. So I�ll clear the air. Yes, I am that self-centered and addicted to attention. When it is my birthday, I milk it for all it�s worth until that bitch is DRY. Just kidding. Or AM I? HAHAAAAAA! Ha.

Back to straight-shooting. I AM excited about this weekend, I AM excited to get away, see a cool concert, party with my friends, and yes, even to celebrate my Special friend�s birthday. AND I get to see an old friend from LA, who will probably be meeting up with us tomorrow night. Guy I used to date, but now we�re just good friends, and I haven�t seen him since, well, since my birthday! That was September. Been a while. So I�ll get to see him this weekend, AND next weekend, because I�ll be heading up to LA for a visit. Very cool. Good times are in store, and I am the epitome of effervescence because of it. Woo hoo!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
The Coming of Coachella (and stuff) 2001-04-27 9:45 a.m. There are so many things, so many places, so close to where I live, that I�ve never noticed before. Yesterday evening, I went for a walk with my sister and a good friend all around my neighborhood. From Mission Hills to Balboa Park, down into Banker�s Hill, and we took 5th Avenue on the return trip. I discovered so many things that have been right beneath my nose this entire time. I can�t believe I haven�t been taking advantage of my wonderful location. After yesterday, though, my sister and I agreed that that�s gonna change. We happened upon a piano bar, opened the door, peeking in to see a woman in an evening gown, at the piano, singing away. When she saw us, laughing and looking, having a great time, she smiled and waved, not missing a note, and we waved right back. Steph and I can�t wait to go back there for a drink.

Anyway, back to today. My boss is in this morning, but only staying for a bit, then heading home to the kids. She says she�ll be back on Monday, when our new salesgirl is scheduled to start. I haven�t met this new girl, I wonder what kind of dynamic she�ll bring to this already crazed office. I want my coffee. I was waiting for a coworker to get in, now she�s here, but she�s on the phone. And the feeling that I may not be able to get my coffee when I want my coffee is making me twitch. Breathe. Okay, better. I�ll be fine.

Just got back from the coffee shop. I got tea. I know, What?! Tea?? Have you gone mad, Barb? Truth is, I�ve always preferred tea to coffee. I honestly don�t know why I�ve been drinking coffee all this time. So, Apricot Tea is the new deal. Actually, it was the old deal that I�ve just returned to. And to think, all this time I was following a trend! See how easy it is to lie to yourself? Hmm? I know. It�s okay. We�re going to be fine.

I�m excited about this weekend. Tonight, I leave for the Coachella Festival. The festival is tomorrow, but I�m going out a night early. I have this time-punctuality-no-stress-thing. It�s a �thing�, alright? Let it be! (note: there are many translations of the word �thing� when used in this journal. In this case, thing refers to obsessive-compulsive neurotic behavior. But others were in on this, so I�m not the only freak). Tonight, we go out there, get to the hotel, start the weekend off the right way: with an orgy. Just kidding. Ever hear of the Coachella Festival? This year, the lineup includes Janes Addiction, Iggy Pop, Weezer, Dandy Warhols, Paul Oakenfold, FatBoy Slim, Chemical Brothers, just to name a few. It�s an all-day concert in the desert. Uh, yeah, I know, FUN.

Today is my Special friend�s birthday, so a part of my mind sees this as not only an awesome weekend to party with friends and see a cool concert, but it�s also like a crazy, weekend-long birthday party. I like to celebrate things, it�s always nice to have an occasion. I like MY birthday parties to last for a month or so. But this will do. I mean, it�s not MY birthday, now is it. Because we ALL know that when it�s MY birthday, there�s no such thing as an event aside from celebrating my existence on this great earth. Hee hee. The funny thing is, some people I know who read this diary will not be able to tell if I am joking about that or not. Come to think of it, some CLOSE friends of mine who read this diary will not know if I am joking or not. So I�ll clear the air. Yes, I am that self-centered and addicted to attention. When it is my birthday, I milk it for all it�s worth until that bitch is DRY. Just kidding. Or AM I? HAHAAAAAA! Ha.

Back to straight-shooting. I AM excited about this weekend, I AM excited to get away, see a cool concert, party with my friends, and yes, even to celebrate my Special friend�s birthday. AND I get to see an old friend from LA, who will probably be meeting up with us tomorrow night. Guy I used to date, but now we�re just good friends, and I haven�t seen him since, well, since my birthday! That was September. Been a while. So I�ll get to see him this weekend, AND next weekend, because I�ll be heading up to LA for a visit. Very cool. Good times are in store, and I am the epitome of effervescence because of it. Woo hoo!