Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-05-06

Insomnia!

How can I begin to describe the amazing time I had this weekend? Well, last night and this morning, to be specific. Sigh. Just like old times. Let me back up here for a bit. Friday night wasn't anything crazy, dinner with the family for my sister's birthday (this time, Jenny), after which I hung with a good friend or two. But this is not what we want to hear about! Tell us about LA! Tell us about the raging rock star time you had there! Buckle your seat-belts and let me take you on a ride, into the past, or at least that's what it seemed like to ME last night. You will not be disappointed. When I party in LA, I forget what the word "sleep" means. I must be EVERYWHERE there is to be. And I believe I pulled it off to my satisfaction yet again this time.

Okay, we got up there too early, no big deal, time to get ready and catch up with old friends. It was Eddie, Jenny and me. Off to club Insomnia we went, after meeting up with several people around midnight (the club's hours are 11:30pm to 7:00am). Not a lot had changed in the year I was absent from my old hangout. I walked in, through to the back (that's where they all used to hang out, that's where it all begins) and there they were. First, I heard an "OH MY GOD! No fucking shit! It's Barbarella!!!!" Followed by echos of very similar statements in very many different voices. How nice it is to be known. One year, and these people that I've partied with on occasion remember me like it was yesterday.

The music sucked. It didn't matter. This club is different. You can dance anywhere, but nowhere I have been, aside from Insomnia, has the community that this place has. I ran into so many familiar faces! So many different phases of my brief life in LA came flooding back to me, I was overwhelmed with memories, and here they were, in the flesh. We met some people, chatted with old friends, and suddenly, it was 6:00am. I know, tell me about it. I had met some very cool people (one couple in particular), who enticed me with an invite to an after-party in the Palisades. Eddie and I exchanged a knowing glance: of COURSE we're going to go.

We dropped off Jen at a friend's house, so she could sleep, of course (girl doesn't have the disease I have, which symptoms show in situations such as this one). We headed to the party. Beautiful house, gorgeous yard, beautiful smiling people. We walked in, and I realized immediately where I was at, as I noticed the two men sitting in the living room. I KNOW these guys! Chris and Josh, friends of friends in San Diego, they've visited here a few times. Turns out everyone there knew a good friend of mine and ex-lover, who wasn't able to meet up that night. What are the chances?

We partied. We laughed, we crawled in the grass, I was pampered by massages and foot rubs and face rubs and, and, and (like an over-excited child), so much more! Flattered beyond belief by the compliments being thrown my way from every direction, I was a glowing orb of a fucked-up girl. And loving every minute of it. Propositioned by the man of the married couple that had so intrigued me, with the woman's consent, actual request to "allow him to ravish" me. Alrighty. Didn't do it, though it was tempting. I was just too comfortable, sleepy, and heavenly euphoric to take anything beyond sensual and into the sexual realm. He accepted my rejection gracefully, after several more attempts to try and "have" me. Ha ha. Aaaaahhh. God, I had fun. Eddie and I left at 11:00am.

We went to get Jenny, and met up with some friends for brunch at Roscoe's Chicken and Waffle, then right on the road back down here. I got in about an hour ago. See why I moved back to San Diego? I can't handle all-nighter parties every weekend. And with so much going on, and so many people down to "get down and boogie till the break of dusk the next day", I'm better off not having the option. Because I know what I would choose. But a visit, on occasion, with all these phone numbers in my purse of old friends and new, people to check with, party with, stay with - you can bet your bippy I'll be heading back up before too long.

Fuck yeah! Now I just need to wind down, have some tea and get some friggin' sleep. I have to work tomorrow morning. But oh, how worth it. The reason I went in the first place was to celebrate Jen's birthday with her. So for the record, we did have several hours of true, bonding sister time, and she is still glowing from the fun of it all (even though she missed a great part of it!) Next time, my girl. Next time.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Insomnia! 2001-05-06 6:53 p.m. How can I begin to describe the amazing time I had this weekend? Well, last night and this morning, to be specific. Sigh. Just like old times. Let me back up here for a bit. Friday night wasn't anything crazy, dinner with the family for my sister's birthday (this time, Jenny), after which I hung with a good friend or two. But this is not what we want to hear about! Tell us about LA! Tell us about the raging rock star time you had there! Buckle your seat-belts and let me take you on a ride, into the past, or at least that's what it seemed like to ME last night. You will not be disappointed. When I party in LA, I forget what the word "sleep" means. I must be EVERYWHERE there is to be. And I believe I pulled it off to my satisfaction yet again this time.

Okay, we got up there too early, no big deal, time to get ready and catch up with old friends. It was Eddie, Jenny and me. Off to club Insomnia we went, after meeting up with several people around midnight (the club's hours are 11:30pm to 7:00am). Not a lot had changed in the year I was absent from my old hangout. I walked in, through to the back (that's where they all used to hang out, that's where it all begins) and there they were. First, I heard an "OH MY GOD! No fucking shit! It's Barbarella!!!!" Followed by echos of very similar statements in very many different voices. How nice it is to be known. One year, and these people that I've partied with on occasion remember me like it was yesterday.

The music sucked. It didn't matter. This club is different. You can dance anywhere, but nowhere I have been, aside from Insomnia, has the community that this place has. I ran into so many familiar faces! So many different phases of my brief life in LA came flooding back to me, I was overwhelmed with memories, and here they were, in the flesh. We met some people, chatted with old friends, and suddenly, it was 6:00am. I know, tell me about it. I had met some very cool people (one couple in particular), who enticed me with an invite to an after-party in the Palisades. Eddie and I exchanged a knowing glance: of COURSE we're going to go.

We dropped off Jen at a friend's house, so she could sleep, of course (girl doesn't have the disease I have, which symptoms show in situations such as this one). We headed to the party. Beautiful house, gorgeous yard, beautiful smiling people. We walked in, and I realized immediately where I was at, as I noticed the two men sitting in the living room. I KNOW these guys! Chris and Josh, friends of friends in San Diego, they've visited here a few times. Turns out everyone there knew a good friend of mine and ex-lover, who wasn't able to meet up that night. What are the chances?

We partied. We laughed, we crawled in the grass, I was pampered by massages and foot rubs and face rubs and, and, and (like an over-excited child), so much more! Flattered beyond belief by the compliments being thrown my way from every direction, I was a glowing orb of a fucked-up girl. And loving every minute of it. Propositioned by the man of the married couple that had so intrigued me, with the woman's consent, actual request to "allow him to ravish" me. Alrighty. Didn't do it, though it was tempting. I was just too comfortable, sleepy, and heavenly euphoric to take anything beyond sensual and into the sexual realm. He accepted my rejection gracefully, after several more attempts to try and "have" me. Ha ha. Aaaaahhh. God, I had fun. Eddie and I left at 11:00am.

We went to get Jenny, and met up with some friends for brunch at Roscoe's Chicken and Waffle, then right on the road back down here. I got in about an hour ago. See why I moved back to San Diego? I can't handle all-nighter parties every weekend. And with so much going on, and so many people down to "get down and boogie till the break of dusk the next day", I'm better off not having the option. Because I know what I would choose. But a visit, on occasion, with all these phone numbers in my purse of old friends and new, people to check with, party with, stay with - you can bet your bippy I'll be heading back up before too long.

Fuck yeah! Now I just need to wind down, have some tea and get some friggin' sleep. I have to work tomorrow morning. But oh, how worth it. The reason I went in the first place was to celebrate Jen's birthday with her. So for the record, we did have several hours of true, bonding sister time, and she is still glowing from the fun of it all (even though she missed a great part of it!) Next time, my girl. Next time.