Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-05-09

Work. Ha.

My horoscope basically told me to play instead of work today. Not good advice for the likes of this one, Yahoo, not good at all. And yet, I find myself with this ingrained urge to follow any advice that pushes me in the direction of play over anything else. Alright, you win this round. But I�m still fighting on some level, don�t you forget it! The time has come, the Walrus said, to talk of other things!

What�s on my mind this morning? Oh, so much. So much. Friends, obligations, relationships, work, wanting to go into detail about each, but not wanting to face the repercussions of honesty in a public format such as this. Or any other format, for that matter. Not that I�m being dishonest, no. We can be honest people and still withhold many of our thoughts. That�s not being dishonest, that�s called keeping it to yourself. Occasionally, I try that all-out honesty thing. I find that most people can�t handle the truth of my thoughts, anyone�s thoughts. They forget to take it with the proverbial grain of salt. They forget that a thought is just that, a passing fancy in the mind, a temporary opinion, a different perspective than their own, perhaps. I�ve had things pointed out to me that I didn�t agree with, at least not at first. Some, I still don�t. I�m stubborn, we all like to believe that we don�t possess the flaws we see in everyone else. Which is interesting, because truth be told, it is those same flaws we see in everyone else that we ourselves possess. How else do you think we recognize them so clearly?

My point is, I could go off about various thoughts, observations, perceptions, but what is the point. Someone will get offended, someone might get hurt, people will become pensive and wonder how someone could possibly think that of �them�, when in the end, the thought is done as soon as I type it and life goes on, without giving that thought another thought. And all those minds fucked for nothing. It�s amazing how much conflict can be created simply with two people who have a difference of opinion; a different way of doing things; a different perspective � note the key word, here. Differences cause conflict. One day, I�ll dedicate an entire entry to that topic. But for now, I will stop all this pointless rhetoric and get down to some nitty gritty. I had a good time last night.

Catching up with some friends, a little gathering for a birthday girl, a woman I haven�t hung with in a while, it was nice to get and give our life�s updates. But as much as I�d like to elaborate on a nice evening, I am compelled to write about the morning. I am astonished at my working environment. Astonished. Everyone has something to say about everyone else, emails are being passed around mocking management, the two managers of the two offices in this area are BOTH on vacation for a week. Yes, on vacation, and that is AFTER all the time they�ve missed for personal, medical, whatever reasons. I can honestly say that as of this day, my manager has missed as many (if not more) days than she�s been present in the time I�ve worked here. Crazy. People on the verge of walking out, the only thing keeping them is a steady paycheck until they find something better, �we have families for Christ�s sake, which means we don�t have the luxury to just leave right now.�

This is sad. I don�t understand how management can be so oblivious to such a majority of disgruntled workers. We�re talking "Post Office", people. I�m hearing the passion of anger, the vibrating force behind the voice of an indignant worker. I�d be lying if I said that I wasn�t concerned about the future of this place, moreso the future of the people who supposedly "work" here.

Everyone has something to say. I�m sick of hearing it. Managers have been notified with every grievance, every complaint, every suggestion. And nothing has ever happened as a result. And the people feel ignored. God, this is like the French Revolution. I wouldn�t be surprised if doors were kicked down, people dragged to a makeshift guillotine. Not surprised at all. I finally have orders, finally have a lot of work to do. And now, I just can�t get it done. Can you taste the frustration? It�s bitter like burnt coffee. It�s sour like bad milk. This is not a company. It�s a fucking joke. More and more, I�m feeling like the punch line.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Work. Ha. 2001-05-09 9:20 a.m. My horoscope basically told me to play instead of work today. Not good advice for the likes of this one, Yahoo, not good at all. And yet, I find myself with this ingrained urge to follow any advice that pushes me in the direction of play over anything else. Alright, you win this round. But I�m still fighting on some level, don�t you forget it! The time has come, the Walrus said, to talk of other things!

What�s on my mind this morning? Oh, so much. So much. Friends, obligations, relationships, work, wanting to go into detail about each, but not wanting to face the repercussions of honesty in a public format such as this. Or any other format, for that matter. Not that I�m being dishonest, no. We can be honest people and still withhold many of our thoughts. That�s not being dishonest, that�s called keeping it to yourself. Occasionally, I try that all-out honesty thing. I find that most people can�t handle the truth of my thoughts, anyone�s thoughts. They forget to take it with the proverbial grain of salt. They forget that a thought is just that, a passing fancy in the mind, a temporary opinion, a different perspective than their own, perhaps. I�ve had things pointed out to me that I didn�t agree with, at least not at first. Some, I still don�t. I�m stubborn, we all like to believe that we don�t possess the flaws we see in everyone else. Which is interesting, because truth be told, it is those same flaws we see in everyone else that we ourselves possess. How else do you think we recognize them so clearly?

My point is, I could go off about various thoughts, observations, perceptions, but what is the point. Someone will get offended, someone might get hurt, people will become pensive and wonder how someone could possibly think that of �them�, when in the end, the thought is done as soon as I type it and life goes on, without giving that thought another thought. And all those minds fucked for nothing. It�s amazing how much conflict can be created simply with two people who have a difference of opinion; a different way of doing things; a different perspective � note the key word, here. Differences cause conflict. One day, I�ll dedicate an entire entry to that topic. But for now, I will stop all this pointless rhetoric and get down to some nitty gritty. I had a good time last night.

Catching up with some friends, a little gathering for a birthday girl, a woman I haven�t hung with in a while, it was nice to get and give our life�s updates. But as much as I�d like to elaborate on a nice evening, I am compelled to write about the morning. I am astonished at my working environment. Astonished. Everyone has something to say about everyone else, emails are being passed around mocking management, the two managers of the two offices in this area are BOTH on vacation for a week. Yes, on vacation, and that is AFTER all the time they�ve missed for personal, medical, whatever reasons. I can honestly say that as of this day, my manager has missed as many (if not more) days than she�s been present in the time I�ve worked here. Crazy. People on the verge of walking out, the only thing keeping them is a steady paycheck until they find something better, �we have families for Christ�s sake, which means we don�t have the luxury to just leave right now.�

This is sad. I don�t understand how management can be so oblivious to such a majority of disgruntled workers. We�re talking "Post Office", people. I�m hearing the passion of anger, the vibrating force behind the voice of an indignant worker. I�d be lying if I said that I wasn�t concerned about the future of this place, moreso the future of the people who supposedly "work" here.

Everyone has something to say. I�m sick of hearing it. Managers have been notified with every grievance, every complaint, every suggestion. And nothing has ever happened as a result. And the people feel ignored. God, this is like the French Revolution. I wouldn�t be surprised if doors were kicked down, people dragged to a makeshift guillotine. Not surprised at all. I finally have orders, finally have a lot of work to do. And now, I just can�t get it done. Can you taste the frustration? It�s bitter like burnt coffee. It�s sour like bad milk. This is not a company. It�s a fucking joke. More and more, I�m feeling like the punch line.