Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-06-05

Cuckoo!

I never thought I�d see the day. That I�d actually be doing this, eating this �thing�. A carrot-zucchini MUFFIN? That�s insane! You can�t mix pastry and vegetable! It�s just not natural! But, it is quite tasty, I must admit. I think I just got a raisin in there. Oh yeah, definitely a raisin. And I�m picking out the nuts. But still tasty, somehow.

Okay, so I just set someone up on an interview with one of my clients (if you haven�t guessed by now, I�m in the employment industry, Miss Executive Recruiter here, but these ain�t executives right now, baby, we�re talkin� fresh out of college kids. Take it where you can get it. Anyway, I call this guy and I�m giving him all the information, be there at yadda yadda, bring this, blah blah, and then I give him the name of the woman whom he�s to meet with. A woman I talk to all the time, but until now, did not realize the juvenile implications her surname contained. Can I write this here? There�s no law against publishing someone�s last name, is there? Fuck it. The name is Moore-Lay. Never thought much of it.

But here I was, with my carrot-zucchini muffin, coffee in hand and just looking at the business card on my desk, ready to say it out loud, he�s waiting with a pen in hand, and I started to laugh. I said her first name, and then I laughed out �Moore-Lay!� like a 12-year-old boy might say �boobie!� I think he got it. There was a slight giggle at the other end of the line, whether it was at my uncontrollable laughter or the way I stressed each syllable of that name, slowing down as I said it, enunciating much more than necessary. Catching myself immediately after this inappropriate �incident�, I reeled my tone back to professional and rattled off the rest of the information, instructing him to call me when he was done in my most authoritative voice.

I really need to get out more. I just find too much humor in the silliest things. At least my mood is back. My instead-of-dealing-with-drama-and-stress-just-laugh-at-everything mood. Is this what it is to be manic? I went grocery shopping yesterday. Spent almost $200. I know, I know, what did you get, all shampoo? I told you, it�s been a LONG time since I�ve been �shopping� for kitchen stuff. I went crazy. Reminiscent of my days of making mucho mula in LA, I had to get the best of everything. The expensive cheese, the nicer face wash, one of every flavor of juice. Okay, I didn�t get THAT much juice, but let me give you a word of advice: do NOT shop when you are thirsty. I have enough liquid to drown a COW.

Okay, that�s enough for me. Time to do some work and make the best of my situation. Had some CRAZY fuckin� dreams, by the way. Don�t drink root beer before falling asleep. I�m okay. Baby step to the files, baby step to the phone, baby step through the day, through my maniacal giggles, because let�s face it, y'all � I�m crazy.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Cuckoo! 2001-06-05 9:07 a.m. I never thought I�d see the day. That I�d actually be doing this, eating this �thing�. A carrot-zucchini MUFFIN? That�s insane! You can�t mix pastry and vegetable! It�s just not natural! But, it is quite tasty, I must admit. I think I just got a raisin in there. Oh yeah, definitely a raisin. And I�m picking out the nuts. But still tasty, somehow.

Okay, so I just set someone up on an interview with one of my clients (if you haven�t guessed by now, I�m in the employment industry, Miss Executive Recruiter here, but these ain�t executives right now, baby, we�re talkin� fresh out of college kids. Take it where you can get it. Anyway, I call this guy and I�m giving him all the information, be there at yadda yadda, bring this, blah blah, and then I give him the name of the woman whom he�s to meet with. A woman I talk to all the time, but until now, did not realize the juvenile implications her surname contained. Can I write this here? There�s no law against publishing someone�s last name, is there? Fuck it. The name is Moore-Lay. Never thought much of it.

But here I was, with my carrot-zucchini muffin, coffee in hand and just looking at the business card on my desk, ready to say it out loud, he�s waiting with a pen in hand, and I started to laugh. I said her first name, and then I laughed out �Moore-Lay!� like a 12-year-old boy might say �boobie!� I think he got it. There was a slight giggle at the other end of the line, whether it was at my uncontrollable laughter or the way I stressed each syllable of that name, slowing down as I said it, enunciating much more than necessary. Catching myself immediately after this inappropriate �incident�, I reeled my tone back to professional and rattled off the rest of the information, instructing him to call me when he was done in my most authoritative voice.

I really need to get out more. I just find too much humor in the silliest things. At least my mood is back. My instead-of-dealing-with-drama-and-stress-just-laugh-at-everything mood. Is this what it is to be manic? I went grocery shopping yesterday. Spent almost $200. I know, I know, what did you get, all shampoo? I told you, it�s been a LONG time since I�ve been �shopping� for kitchen stuff. I went crazy. Reminiscent of my days of making mucho mula in LA, I had to get the best of everything. The expensive cheese, the nicer face wash, one of every flavor of juice. Okay, I didn�t get THAT much juice, but let me give you a word of advice: do NOT shop when you are thirsty. I have enough liquid to drown a COW.

Okay, that�s enough for me. Time to do some work and make the best of my situation. Had some CRAZY fuckin� dreams, by the way. Don�t drink root beer before falling asleep. I�m okay. Baby step to the files, baby step to the phone, baby step through the day, through my maniacal giggles, because let�s face it, y'all � I�m crazy.