Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-06-11

Good Times

Good times, good times. My weekend (it�s mine, mine, everything�s MINE!) was chock full of events. I wasn�t able (or willing) to squeeze in time to go car-shopping between all of my little plans. C�est la vie. Soon, my dear. Soon. Friday night I had some friends over and we all headed downtown to Basile Gallery, where an acquaintance of mine (and roommate of a good friend), Kathleen, was having her work displayed. Her stuff looked great on the walls, and when I headed out of there, three pieces had already been sold. Bravo! After that, a handful of my freaks and I stopped by the wine bar en route to the gallery after-party, thrown by the artist of the evening and my good friend, who lives with her.

A fun gathering of bright, witty, lovely people. Drinking, partying, socializing, always fun, if you ask me. And by reading this, you ARE asking me (in case you didn�t know). I left at around 2:30am. Many of my friends stayed much later, some getting home at 4am, some not until 6am. As much fun as I was having, I�m happy I left when I did. I couldn�t have afforded the drama of a hangover with all I had planned for the rest of the weekend. Early Saturday morning, I had set the alarm to call and cancel my hair appointment. I know! I did not get my hair done! As disappointing as that is, I really didn�t want to drive all the way to Poway and spend the morning in the salon. I wanted some sleepy weepy. Bit of a nappy wappy. It was mine to take, and I took it.

I spent the day at my sister�s, helping her grade (she�s an English teacher, and it�s final�s week). The new house is coming along beautifully, she and Sean have so many plans for it! Just made me want to smile all day, smile for their happiness, seeing them achieve their goals, grow up, make that transition from young newlyweds in an apartment to married couple in a house and trying to start a family. I never realized there was such beauty in it all. To look at my sister�s face, you see the beauty of happiness reflected and absorbed, to see them look at each other, the warmth is tangible in the air. It�s a beautiful thing.

Saturday night, I headed back to the wine bar to attend the fundraiser party that my friends were throwing for their camp at Burning Man. Junebug party. Everyone was dressed as some kind of insect, and flowers and creatures glowed in the black lights. Oh, those creative kids. Hee hee. They looked great, all of them, wings here, antennae there, funky people dancing and drinking and laughing and lookin� damn good through it all. Good times, good times. I slept good that night (could have been the beer, what a lush!) Comfortable, cozy. Sunday, got up and headed to Balboa Park with my man. What a beautiful day! I was hardly outside in the sun for long, but have a sunburn, which by the end of today will have transformed into just a bit of a tan. The Irish in me burns, but that Italian-Greek side quickly takes over, thank goodness, else I'd always look like a cherry.

Except for a nagging blister (I knew I should have worn my other sandals), the excursion was wonderful. Sat by and smelled the gorgeous roses in the huge walk-through rose garden, caught the new release at the IMAX (Journey Into Amazing Caves � gotta love documentaries), played with displays in the science museum, watched people, breathed, relaxed, the way all Sunday�s should be spent. And yesterday evening, with my sister at work, I made some spinach tortellini and read my book peacefully with the occasional interruption of one or the other of my cats wanting a bit of attention. Good times, good times.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Good Times 2001-06-11 9:30 a.m. Good times, good times. My weekend (it�s mine, mine, everything�s MINE!) was chock full of events. I wasn�t able (or willing) to squeeze in time to go car-shopping between all of my little plans. C�est la vie. Soon, my dear. Soon. Friday night I had some friends over and we all headed downtown to Basile Gallery, where an acquaintance of mine (and roommate of a good friend), Kathleen, was having her work displayed. Her stuff looked great on the walls, and when I headed out of there, three pieces had already been sold. Bravo! After that, a handful of my freaks and I stopped by the wine bar en route to the gallery after-party, thrown by the artist of the evening and my good friend, who lives with her.

A fun gathering of bright, witty, lovely people. Drinking, partying, socializing, always fun, if you ask me. And by reading this, you ARE asking me (in case you didn�t know). I left at around 2:30am. Many of my friends stayed much later, some getting home at 4am, some not until 6am. As much fun as I was having, I�m happy I left when I did. I couldn�t have afforded the drama of a hangover with all I had planned for the rest of the weekend. Early Saturday morning, I had set the alarm to call and cancel my hair appointment. I know! I did not get my hair done! As disappointing as that is, I really didn�t want to drive all the way to Poway and spend the morning in the salon. I wanted some sleepy weepy. Bit of a nappy wappy. It was mine to take, and I took it.

I spent the day at my sister�s, helping her grade (she�s an English teacher, and it�s final�s week). The new house is coming along beautifully, she and Sean have so many plans for it! Just made me want to smile all day, smile for their happiness, seeing them achieve their goals, grow up, make that transition from young newlyweds in an apartment to married couple in a house and trying to start a family. I never realized there was such beauty in it all. To look at my sister�s face, you see the beauty of happiness reflected and absorbed, to see them look at each other, the warmth is tangible in the air. It�s a beautiful thing.

Saturday night, I headed back to the wine bar to attend the fundraiser party that my friends were throwing for their camp at Burning Man. Junebug party. Everyone was dressed as some kind of insect, and flowers and creatures glowed in the black lights. Oh, those creative kids. Hee hee. They looked great, all of them, wings here, antennae there, funky people dancing and drinking and laughing and lookin� damn good through it all. Good times, good times. I slept good that night (could have been the beer, what a lush!) Comfortable, cozy. Sunday, got up and headed to Balboa Park with my man. What a beautiful day! I was hardly outside in the sun for long, but have a sunburn, which by the end of today will have transformed into just a bit of a tan. The Irish in me burns, but that Italian-Greek side quickly takes over, thank goodness, else I'd always look like a cherry.

Except for a nagging blister (I knew I should have worn my other sandals), the excursion was wonderful. Sat by and smelled the gorgeous roses in the huge walk-through rose garden, caught the new release at the IMAX (Journey Into Amazing Caves � gotta love documentaries), played with displays in the science museum, watched people, breathed, relaxed, the way all Sunday�s should be spent. And yesterday evening, with my sister at work, I made some spinach tortellini and read my book peacefully with the occasional interruption of one or the other of my cats wanting a bit of attention. Good times, good times.